We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time at the Rio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino
Ranked #101 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent time at the Rio”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week at the Rio and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. As with any hotel in Las Vegas, you immediately have concerns about the check-in wait time, but for us it was a scant 10 minutes (great for Vegas).

We had a Strip view room on the 31st floor and the view was terrific and the room was well-kept and clean.

Whenever I go to Vegas, I prefer to have a rental car with me. When you are at the Rio, you will probably want one so you don't have to wait on the shuttle to and from the Strip.

While the Rio is not one of the glitzy hotels like Cosmo, new like Aria or decadent like the Bellagio, it has a great feel to it and it's a good value. (I think too often, people visiting Vegas have unrealistically high expectations and hold hotels to higher standards than they pay for or that the hotel advertises as.)

Room Tip #1: If you like coffee, bring your K-Cups with you. They charge $3 per K-Cup. We brought ours with us in our carry-on bag.

Room Tip #2: The Rio is known for its wall-to-wall floor-to-ceiling windows. Bring to laundry pins for the drape to prevent the sun from creeping through in the morning through the massive windows.

Parking Tip: If you are self-parking (valet and self are about equidistance from the Ipanema Tower) then drive straight to the roof of the parking garage. The sky walk to the hotel is on the roof. It will save you the elevator ride. Also, you can park within 100 feet of the sky walk virtually 24 hours a day.

Location Tip: take advantage of the back way out of the Rio to get to and from the Strip quickly.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor available...and a Strip view. At night, it's great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HeathSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,560
    4,658
    3,006
    1,332
    1,110
See reviews for
2,880
4,632
1,399
2,173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,010)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I remember a time when the Rio, off the strip, trendy, shiny and new, was a great antidote to the then family friendly strip. This was the mid 90's when Excalibur was attempting to make Vegas "fun for the whole family". The Rio was, well, Rio, grown up, risque and fun for grown ups. What happened there was definitely meant to stay there. Well fast forward 15+ years and the Rio has gentrified. I don't think I've seen that many personal scooters outside of Leisure World. I understand that the rooms are being renovated, but ours was Clinton era all the way, clean, but well worn, more Glitter Gulch than Mansion.

In short, the Rio is too expensive for it's off strip locale and neither elite enough or trendy enough to justify it as a destination. As a conference facility it was very good, but for a vacation getaway, choose a newer hotel on the strip to impress, or a classic downtown venue to economize.

Room Tip: While a strip view is nice, the smart money requests a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhstoneca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband stayed one night in one of their larger suites. It was very surprisingly LARGE, had a dining room, large wet bar, an entryway and second guest bathroom. The bedroom and main bathroom was very large as well. The hotel is older, but the room was still nicely decorated and very clean. We did have a problem with one of the Tvs not working. The technician quickly showed up and solved the issue promptly. the room service food was typical, but tasty nonetheless.


All in all, the our stay was pleasant. The service at the front desk was very accommodating (We got a free upgrade because we had just gotten married. :-)) The hotel/casino is rather outdated, but the room was spacious, and we got a bargain for the upgraded suite!

Room Tip: If you mention that you're on your honeymoon, you might get a room upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cookiez101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patterson, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have been coming to Vegas for 11 years now and have stayed @ a different hotel every time now. We have stayed @ a variety of places from the Venetian and the mirage to Excalibur and even Imperial Place.

We made this our home base for four days as we were coming to las Vegas to get married. We had family from both sides stay at the Rio as we had got a great rate via an email from the hotel. We had booked our stay at first @ NYNY but canceled after getting the email. We were going to pay more in resort fees A NYNY then we would for our 4 night stay at the Rio just did not make sense.

We stayed in a standard room in the Impanema tower as I read somewhere these were recently remolded. The room was clean. Bed and sheets were clean no bugs to speak of and trust me we check. Also no bathroom issues and while I am in Vegas what else can I ask for. Also had a view of the pool it was warm not hot but there were people out in the pool so the view was nice most days.

Most of the family was in the other tower the masquerade tower. These rooms had a different lay out and some had a nicer view of the strip. No one had any problems with the rooms. We even talked about how nice house keeping was with the extra coffee cups and towels.

The last thing I heard a lot about was the smoke. When we walked in the door you do notice the smell of smoke but no more than most casinos. Some of the newest casinos pump in the vanilla smell our what not so you notice this a little less but I would say this is average for hotels that have been open this amount of time

I spent a lot of time before reading reviews and trying to get all the info I could in regards to what the Rio was all about. We were not disappointed if anything we were pleasantly surprised. The Rio is off the strip but we knew that as we always drive in from northern California this is not an issue for us but I could see if you don’t have a car it could be an issue. I know there is a shuttle that runs people to the strip we never used it so I can’t give it an honest review

The Best advice I can give is just know what you’re getting when you book this hotel and if you understand that you should have a great time. We did

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raiderdad1345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I received a comped room for the Rio on 4/16/12. We stayed for 5 days. We always stay on the strip so I was a bit concerned about the location. I read the reviews on TA and I had mixed feelings about the choice. The Rio is a good hotel. The rooms are oversized and the beds are very comfortabler. The bathroom is fine with an additional sink outside for primping. The hotel is dated and the decor is purple and gold in a 1980'1 fashion but it was clean and comfortable. We stayed in the Ipanema Tower. The hotel itself is smokey but the rooms were not smelly. The maid service was good and one day when they did not clean the room they came within 10 minutes of calling and cleaned the room very thoroughly. The shuttle to the strip was a plus but it was often times full and you had to wait for another. The people who work at the Rio are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marilyn2354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Totally enjoyed the accomadations at the Rio. The suites in the new tower were grand, spacious and stylish. Did not fully understand why a Kruig coffee machine was in the room and you had to pay for the filter....next time, I know to bring my own! Other than that, the stay was very enjoyable. Highly recommend you use your total reward cards for additional savings.
If you are there longer than 2 days, highly recommend you take advantage of the 24 hour buffet pass.

Room Tip: Ask for the new towers.....I was advised not to stay in the masquerade towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevsensualparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed at Rio in Las Vegas April 16 - 21, 2012. My room was comped. This is the first time I've stayed in this tower - The Ipanema. What a dump! Upon walking into the suite area it was obvious that the room was never cleaned as there was .12 cent thrown around the room. Maybe more, I didn't look. Made me wonder if the other areas were cleaned. Dead bolt did not work. Carpet was stained and had two spots where it looked like 'poop' was on the carpet - totally disgusting. I went downstairs and requested a different room - this was a Monday - the guy at the desk said they were full and I would have to wait until Wednesday. Yuck! was the bedding changed?
The bathroom in this suite was so small in comparision to the other towers at Rio. I've stayed there several times in the past but this was the first time in the Ipanema tower - from this experience I will not return to the Rio - it is an inconvenience to stay there to start with. I was shocked that the front desk wasn't more cooperative to my request. When I booked the room it was on a promotion that you received a $50 Macy card - another gimmick - My flight left at 6:55 am Saturday morning. When I booked the room the woman said I qualified for the gift card and could get it Friday - the promotion didn't start until Saturday - Just a horrible experience all the way around - stay somewhere else - it isn't worth the trouble or safety.
I spent as little time as possible at the Rio - I will not go back there.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Palms Casino Resort
#62 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,268 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#79 of 263 in Las Vegas
8,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,538 reviews
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#102 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino

Property: Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino
Address: 3700 West Flamingo Rd., Las Vegas, NV 89103-4043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#65 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#79 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#81 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites and luxurious amenities complement the gaming thrills, sumptuous dining and hot entertainment found at Rio. The excitement of Carnival radiates throughout the casino floor and out to the pools of VooDoo Beach where guests can soak up the sun in both family-friendly and adults-only areas. Inside, guests can dine at celebrity chef Guy Fieri's restaurant El Burro Borracho, feast on over 300 dishes prepared daily at the Carnival World & Seafood Buffet or experience the city's finest panoramic views at VooDoo Steak. Enjoy the KISS by Monster Mini Golf 18-Hole miniature golf course filled with state-of-the-art video, special effects and unique KISS props. See Las Vegas in the most thrilling and spectacular way when you ride the Voodoo Zipline and soar more than 400 feet above the ground at exhilarating speeds. Back on the ground, entertainers Penn & Teller and the Chippendales keep audiences enraptured nightly or rock out to the great rock songs of the 80's when you watch the worldwide smash hit musical, Rock of Ages. Of course, you may prefer to dance above the lights and under the stars at VooDoo Rooftop Nightclub located 51 floors about the excitement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Nozio Netplan srl, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio All- Hotel Las Vegas
Rio All-Suite Hotel And Casino
Rio Suite Hotel
Rio Hotel Las Vegas
Rio Suite Resort
Rio Casino
Rio Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing