We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasently Surprised” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino
Ranked #99 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasently Surprised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I had a one night stay at the Rio after a 3 day stay on the strip. I would give 3.5 if I could as I was pleasantly surprised with our short stay. The room was very large, clean, and comfortable. All of the dealers and service people were exceptionally nice. The pool was pretty big and a good atmosphere.

I could see this the perfect Vegas resort for families (the pool was kid friendly) or those just looking for a get away. While I prefer the on-strip resorts that are a little more "trendy" this was a great off-strip option and should not be overlooked. Oh also, its not that far away - a $8 or $10 cab will get you to Caesers and a short walk will get you to The Palms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,139
    4,287
    2,772
    1,206
    976
See reviews for
2,577
4,213
1,263
2,026
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Rio and it was great. Our room was very spacious with a great view towards the west and Red Rock Canyon, and the staff friendly and helpful. There was one particular woman on the Concierge desk who was very good (sorry I can't remember the name - dark hair with glasses!).

I was glad we were off the over-stimulation of the Strip although waiting for the shuttle was a bit of a pain sometimes. The pools were lovely. The casino was always busy but for that reason, there was a lively atmosphere.

Angela

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Rio in April this year. Myself and my husband visit Vegas around once a year and have been many times and we try and stay at different hotels. My review is somewhat coloured by the fact that I visited the Rio as the second hotel on the trip, after having 7 nights at the Palazzo. The Palazzo is around 3 times the price of the Rio (unless you get a promotional offer) but is more than 3 times better.

The Rio describes itself as the only all suite hotel...I don't think that this is an execeptional claim. We had a standard strip view room which essentially had a small sofa and a chair in it ...ta dah ...that's a suite....not that impressive. The decor is really tired too, the bathrooms very small, with a cramped dressing area..all the space is in the bedroom. It is quite an old hotel, but it is starting to really look it too.

Generally though, we knew we were coming to a cheaper option than the Palazzo, so it wasn't going to be as good, but the room smelt slightly of smoke and we had a strip view room which faced onto a skid pan race track. So from early in the morning, until after sunset you could hear the roaring of exhausts and tyres really loudly. I don't think the windows are double glazed as it was really annoying. The TV remote didn't work and the air conditioning kept switching itself off meaning I would wake up in the night dreaming I was in the desert, sweating away and dying of thirst.

The casino itself is ok, pretty tired too, but friendly and has a nice atmosphere...but it's pretty smoky and therefore smelly. The pool area was nice, but whereas you get comfy loungers at other hotels, these were just basic plastic ones, but the pools were nice, one was heated too..a blessing in April - the pool waitresses were a little aloof, but other than that ok.

The Rio's position means that you do need to catch the shuttle to the strip - so if you wanted a hotel where you can avoid getting taxis and just wander up and down the strip....this isn't for you. But due to its off strip position, it does offer one of the best views in Vegas from its bar the Voodoo lounge on the 51st floor. Also a little tired as a venue ..but the view never gets tiring....it's a must see in Vegas whether you stay here or not.

My summary is...would I stay here again. Nope. You can get better than this for the money. There are newer hotels on the strip that offer better levels of comfort and downtown hotels have had a bit of a refurb lately making places like the Golden Nugget really good alternatives.

But if you like the lived in look. the noise of skid pans and a slightly smoky smell ...this one's for you.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the skid pan ...it does mean you don't get the view..but you'll be gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

arrived Thursday eve. 19th april. Waited 45 min. in line at registration and told the woman at the desk that my wife had a broken leg and was on crutches. she put us on the 14th floor in the impanema tower. We were in the last room at the end of a very long hallway. I paced it off to over 120 yards. We asked to be moved to another room. It was closer to the elevator but was dirty, the furniture was worn, the bathroom door was broken and the sink leaked. Stayed two nights and will not be back ever. Only the valets did anything to accomadate my wifes broken leg.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week at the Rio and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. As with any hotel in Las Vegas, you immediately have concerns about the check-in wait time, but for us it was a scant 10 minutes (great for Vegas).

We had a Strip view room on the 31st floor and the view was terrific and the room was well-kept and clean.

Whenever I go to Vegas, I prefer to have a rental car with me. When you are at the Rio, you will probably want one so you don't have to wait on the shuttle to and from the Strip.

While the Rio is not one of the glitzy hotels like Cosmo, new like Aria or decadent like the Bellagio, it has a great feel to it and it's a good value. (I think too often, people visiting Vegas have unrealistically high expectations and hold hotels to higher standards than they pay for or that the hotel advertises as.)

Room Tip #1: If you like coffee, bring your K-Cups with you. They charge $3 per K-Cup. We brought ours with us in our carry-on bag.

Room Tip #2: The Rio is known for its wall-to-wall floor-to-ceiling windows. Bring to laundry pins for the drape to prevent the sun from creeping through in the morning through the massive windows.

Parking Tip: If you are self-parking (valet and self are about equidistance from the Ipanema Tower) then drive straight to the roof of the parking garage. The sky walk to the hotel is on the roof. It will save you the elevator ride. Also, you can park within 100 feet of the sky walk virtually 24 hours a day.

Location Tip: take advantage of the back way out of the Rio to get to and from the Strip quickly.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor available...and a Strip view. At night, it's great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HeathSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I remember a time when the Rio, off the strip, trendy, shiny and new, was a great antidote to the then family friendly strip. This was the mid 90's when Excalibur was attempting to make Vegas "fun for the whole family". The Rio was, well, Rio, grown up, risque and fun for grown ups. What happened there was definitely meant to stay there. Well fast forward 15+ years and the Rio has gentrified. I don't think I've seen that many personal scooters outside of Leisure World. I understand that the rooms are being renovated, but ours was Clinton era all the way, clean, but well worn, more Glitter Gulch than Mansion.

In short, the Rio is too expensive for it's off strip locale and neither elite enough or trendy enough to justify it as a destination. As a conference facility it was very good, but for a vacation getaway, choose a newer hotel on the strip to impress, or a classic downtown venue to economize.

Room Tip: While a strip view is nice, the smart money requests a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhstoneca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband stayed one night in one of their larger suites. It was very surprisingly LARGE, had a dining room, large wet bar, an entryway and second guest bathroom. The bedroom and main bathroom was very large as well. The hotel is older, but the room was still nicely decorated and very clean. We did have a problem with one of the Tvs not working. The technician quickly showed up and solved the issue promptly. the room service food was typical, but tasty nonetheless.


All in all, the our stay was pleasant. The service at the front desk was very accommodating (We got a free upgrade because we had just gotten married. :-)) The hotel/casino is rather outdated, but the room was spacious, and we got a bargain for the upgraded suite!

Room Tip: If you mention that you're on your honeymoon, you might get a room upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cookiez101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Palms Casino Resort
#57 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#41 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,357 reviews
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#77 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bally's
#76 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,504 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#93 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino

Property: Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino
Address: 3700 West Flamingo Rd., Las Vegas, NV 89103-4043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#50 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#65 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#79 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#81 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites and luxurious amenities complement the gaming thrills, sumptuous dining and hot entertainment found at Rio. The excitement of Carnival radiates throughout the casino floor and out to the pools of VooDoo Beach where guests can soak up the sun in both family-friendly and adults-only areas. Inside, guests can dine at celebrity chef Guy Fieri's restaurant El Burro Borracho, feast on over 300 dishes prepared daily at the Carnival World & Seafood Buffet or experience the city's finest panoramic views at VooDoo Steak. Enjoy the KISS by Monster Mini Golf 18-Hole miniature golf course filled with state-of-the-art video, special effects and unique KISS props. See Las Vegas in the most thrilling and spectacular way when you ride the Voodoo Zipline and soar more than 400 feet above the ground at exhilarating speeds. Back on the ground, entertainers Penn & Teller and the Chippendales keep audiences enraptured nightly or rock out to the great rock songs of the 80's when you watch the worldwide smash hit musical, Rock of Ages. Of course, you may prefer to dance above the lights and under the stars at VooDoo Rooftop Nightclub located 51 floors about the excitement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio All- Hotel Las Vegas
Rio All-Suite Hotel And Casino
Rio Suite Hotel
Rio Hotel Las Vegas
Rio Suite Resort
Rio Casino
Rio Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing