We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
Ranked #66 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I have been visiting Las Vegas annually since the early 90's and for much of that staying in Strip Casino's. As the years have progressed, the Strip has become more crowded, Latino's standing on every corner not associated with a Hotel passing out escort service cards to men, women and in some cases children and driving it has become a nightmare. Casino's that were staples have gone the way of the dinosaur. New ones taller and featuring more glitter have replaced them. We used to love going up on the Stratosphere Tower for a romantic dinner and breathtaking views of the valley and strip. No more. The unfinished new Casinos and Wynn, Encore, Aria, among others have reduced the view to something the cost of making the climb is no longer worth. Like the universe the only constant in Vagas is change. Unfortunately in my eyes, This is change Vegas could do without. We stopped staying on the strip because of the headaches associated getting there much less driving it.
We started staying on the Boulder Highway at Sam's Town and re-discovered what we loved about Vegas all this time. To be honest I hope all you visitors will hate it stay on the strip and allow me to revel in this gem. The food is good and the Mystic Falls park is a great place to sit and relax, We make time to enjoy this park along with the pool every time we come to Vegas.
Access to the strip, downtown and LVMS are the best you can ask for and if you choose to stay here and do not rent a car they have the most complete bus schedule to get you where you want to go anywhere there is a Casino in this town.
Did I mention how much you will be amazed by the room prices vs. the strip? We all make choices when we choose to spend time in Vegas. Most of us make them on what we have been told about the attractions associated with the Casino/Hotels we are planning on staying at. This is a bad call. Those attractions are available to you no matter where you stay. Off strip is cheaper and will remind you of the Vegas that is slipping into the sunset to be no more. That is why it is so popular with local's. Sam's is a self contained city that has something for families, singles, and the rest of us. The next time you book think outside of the box and rediscover why you started coming to Vegas in the first place.
We have become loyal patrons of Sam's and see no reason to change that anytime in the near future. Give them a shot and you will be suprised at the hospitality and friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: 2 room suites are incredible but any room is worth your time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dr_Chuckie-n-CarCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,274 - 1,280 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed based on a friends' recommendation but didn't enjoy as much as we hoped. The service was great but the room was lacking. The mattress was sunken on both sides like a 'W' and very uncomfortable. The sink was very slow to drain and we found out the next morning the tub barely drained at all. The A/C wouldn't go any lower than 68 degrees though it was obviously much warmer than that and would turn on and off about every minute and was very loud. The connecting door that went to the other room also had a large space under the door and when the people next door checked in at midnight and stayed awake for the next three hours, we heard every word they said. We had a rough time with one of the servers at TGIF one night who seemed to be oblivious to everything we said after we told him we don't like seafood and we had just eaten steak the night before, he continued to try and up-sell us on steak and seafood specials. Then, when our little toddler started to get fussy and sleepy we asked if we could just get a dessert to go and get out in a hurry, our waiter disappeared for at least 10 minutes. A manager finally came out to give us our dessert and we just told him we couldn't find our waiter and needed the check so we could go.

I don't want to sound pessimistic. The front desk staff was very polite as well as the reservations staff when we called. We also had a great young waitress at TGIF one morning and the rest of the staff was great in the restaurant. I was also impressed by the friendly housekeepers that greeted us in the hall every time we walked past. We got a good rate for the room or else I would have been more disappointed, but I think we will try a different hotel next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrianMac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Corporate Digital Marketing Manager at Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write in detail about your recent experience. I am very glad to hear all of the positive comments about Sam's Town team members and your general praise of the service your received.

I am, of course, very concerned with the few things you mention which marred your overall experience. I assure you that I will share your comments with the management at T.G.I. Fridays as well as the Sam's Town departments where we fell behind our own standards in your case.

I very much apologize for the instances where you were disappointed with your stay and sincerely hope that you will decide to visit us again and offer us another opportunity to better meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I have been coming to Las Vegas for years. We tried a number of Hotel and Casino's both on the Strip and in the downtown areas. My husband had visited Sam's Town years earlier and suggested we stay there. Since then we only go to Sam's. They have great employees, always friendly, and happy to help. We feel you get treated better because of their location (away from the Strip). They cater to the locals and want them to return. The rooms are great, The Casino areas are large and we don't get that crowded feeling. Their Player Comps build up fast. The restaurants are fantastic and offer a variety of menu's. Billy Bob's Steak House is our favorite, followed by Willy & Jose's Cantina, and the ever present buffet, The Firelight Buffet, TGIFridays and numerous other food services spread around the Casino. A Great Place to Stay and Play!

Room Tip: Ask for an "inside room". These rooms overlook the atrium and Water Show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Sam's Town is perfect for those who don't mind staying off-strip from the glitz and glam but still get an awesome place to stay and play at a much lower price tag.

The rooms were really nice, I was surprised the first time we went there. They were clean, modern and many overlook the huge scenic atrium. The atrium is filled with trees, bridges and life-like animals that are animated. It also has restaurants, bars and a cool laser show on the waterfalls.

Some have said the casino is smokey, but I've never noticed it and I've been there a few times in the past couple of years. I do like the casino, they have loads of slots spread out so you never get that stuffy feeling you do in some other casinos.

The buffet is good, and so are the other restaurants. If you want quick food, they also have McDonald's, Friday's, Subway, Panda Express, Sbarro and Dunkin Donuts, etc.

For other-than-gambling fun they have a bowling alley, movie theater, outdoor pool and salon. They have shuttles to/from the strip and airport and for those who forgot their toothbrush there's a Walmart Super Center across the street that you can walk to. A really fun place to stay for a lot cheaper than the strip!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReflectionsByErika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed here for couple days for the first time when I turned 21! It was just a really relaxed hotel and not to busy which was nice and they even have a dunken donuts..would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coco2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was not one of my best hotel experiences in Las Vegas. The casino is one of the smokiest that I have experienced. I had a ungraded room, which was nice, but the bed was too soft and had the low areas from years being slept on. The food choices are very mainstream (TGIF, McDonalds) and uninteresting. The laser show and animated wildlife was interesting for a few minutes. As for value, the weekday room prices are amazing, and may overcome the other faults of the property during the week, but the weekend room prices were high and then this hotel does not compete well against many other casino hotels in Las Vegas. I was at the hotel for a conference and the hotel did a great job supporting the meeting. Parking is convenient and there is a good running area nearby. But all in all, I could not recommend this casino to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virga017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times and love it! The rooms are nice looking and clean. the overall hotel is great!! We love walking throught the big garden and the lazer watershow is not to be missed. We also loved that there is lots to do, movie theater, swimming, bowling and the buffet is good. We have stayed at a few other 3 star hotels in Las vegas and overall this is our favorite. I also liked that there is a free shuttle to the strip!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fern S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
#76 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#38 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,010 reviews
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#56 of 263 in Las Vegas
5,995 reviews
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#46 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall

Address: 5111 Boulder Hwy, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range: $76 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam’s Town Hotel and Gambling Hall is owned by Boyd Gaming Corporation. Sam’s Town features 12 restaurants, an 18-screen movie theater, 56-lane bowling center, a 12,000 square foot entertainment center and 25,000-square-foot Mystic Falls Park with waterfalls, footpaths, mountain & nightly laser shows Mystic Falls Indoor Park. The property has a 133,000-square foot casino with 40 table games, 3,000 slot and video poker machines, a bingo parlor, keno lounge and newly renovated poker room and race and sports book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing