We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #97 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Spent the week at the Tropicana with the girlfriend. Very well-designed rooms. Spacious, extremely comfortable beds. We were in the far tower (ask to stay in Paradise) and had a bit of a trek back to the hotel at the end of the night. But otherwise, excellent hotel for what you pay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RyanP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,018 - 8,024 of 11,960 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

So much improved, cleaner rooms, better restaurants, better pools, a much nicer stay

Room Tip: look at the Vegas skyline side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We chose this hotel due to recent reviews and we were not dissapointed. The hotel and casino have a bright and clean feel to it and has a lovely coconut fragrance being pumped throughout. The room was large and bed so comfortable. Pool area was nice. Customer service excellent. Having stayed at other hotels on the strip on previous vacations we much prefer the Tropicana and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jock25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We spent a week at the Tropicana in Las Vegas and found it to be adequate. We stayed in the front tower in a room on the 20th floor with a king bed. The room was clean, the furnishings comfortable and the bathroom functional, although small. As it was very hot ( high 90s F to over 100 F) when we were in Vegas, we tended to go out in the mornings and come back to the room during the hot afternoons for a nap. Unfortunately this resulted in our room not being made up for several days in a row, even though we told the housekeeper when the room would be available for cleaning. Three days before our vacation was over the toilet in our room broke. We told housekeeping who sent a plumber wihin an hour to check it out. As it turned out, it would need to be replaced, so the hotel relocated us to the Club Tower located in a much quieter location at the back of the property. They also upgraded us to a suite free of charge to compensate us for our trouble. The manager took us there herself and was exceptionally courteous throughout the entire process. The Tropicana is close to one end of the strip so I wouid suggest that if you want to visit other hotels, you purchase a bus pass for the Deuce (the double decker busses that travel up and down the strip). Its a long walk from the other end of the strip back to the Tropicana, especially in the heat. A bus pass can be purchased at the bus stop and you can buy a 24 hour pass for $7.00 or a 3 day pass for $20.00
The check-in and check-out process at the Tropicana is quick except that the line-ups can be long. When we arrived there were more than 10 people in line in front of us. We waited a half hour before we could check in. The staff were courteous and very helpfull. We did not eat in the hotel restaurants as we thought the prices were quite high, even for breakfast.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable room without all the frills and extras at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Club Tower if you want peace and quite and a great view of the Strip from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DianeGreen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed at Tropicana with 2 others in March 2012 for 3 nights. March is a pretty chilly time to visit Vegas! We stayed in one of the tower buildings on the 14th floor. Elevators were quick and gave you a scenic view on the way up/down. We were also able to enjoy a small sitting area with comfy chairs and a table for a nice talk near big windows on our floor.

The room was as shown/described. We had a club deluxe room with 2 double beds. I found the beds to be comfy and i was able to fall asleep pretty soundly. The room had a large closet, desk, tv and safe. The bathroom was pretty large and had a jacuzzi looking tub in a triangular shape. One thing that I think needs to be changed it the fact that the shades/blinds do not completely block out the light so at night, the florescent lights from the outside shone in. Luckily with the time difference from NY, my body didn't care about the light and i was able to fall asleep. The water pressure in the shower was on the lower side and on the second night, the water was beginning to pool. Not the biggest deal.

It is located right across from Excalibur and MGM Grand, which has the Monorail, so it was easy to get around. They have a smaller casino located in the main building area. If you are staying in the towers, you will have a decent walk to the elevators to your room, however, it is more quiet and you pass by a few stands and restaurants. They also have conference halls in that section. This casino was great for me when i didn't really want to go anywhere far or too noisy.

Tropicana is good for what you pay (especially if you get it with a package with air) and pictures are accurate in describing the room. It is a little further from the other hotels on the strip, but is connected to all the other ones and paths that can take you where you want to go. Overall a good experience with Tropicana :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sleepiebabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

First i will say , i dont normally write these reviews , but this place is amazing , we went down to get married last month and i cant say enough about this hotel , ppl were very nice / helpful hotel was beautiful and smelled amazing even though you could smoke .i would definatly reccomend this hotel , the only one down side is its at the south of the strip and involves alot of walking to get around , but still all in all amazing !

Room Tip: i had the tower rooms and they were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Great service at this hotel. From check in to check out service was top knotch. Also our room was a fair price. All employees we encountered were polite, offered suggestions when we needed them, and when our shuttle didn't arrive on time the man working the pickup lanes in front of the hotel was all about helping us get to the airport in time for our flight. We really appreciated his concern.
Our room was spacious, quiet, and clean. It was on the 16th floor of the club tower. Yes it is a bit of a walk to the club tower, and no I didn't feel as though it was too far. If anything the extra exercise did us good. I did use the gym while I was there, and although it is small it is more than adaquate for getting in a run. The gym faces the pool, so the scenery was a plus. The casino is small, modern, and had everything we would look for in a casino. We didn't eat at the 2 fancier restaurants in the hotel, but did enjoy mutiple meals at the beach cafe.
I must say I also like the location of this hotel. It was farther down the strip, but I like that. Also being so close to the MGM Grand was a plus since 2 of the Vegas shows we wanted to see took place there, which meant we could walk over in no time at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaskTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#105 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,811 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,776 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#44 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,748 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $87 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. The hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants; including Robert Irvine's Public House which opened in 2017, Oakville Steakhouse a Napa Inspired Steakhouse, and Bacio Italian Cuisine. Other amenities include an award winning pool surrounded by palm trees, lush landscaping and flowing waterfalls, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes David Goldrake Imaginarium, Rich Little, our Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing