We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of multitasking ”

VJ’s BBQ Sports Bar
Ranked #35 of 67 Restaurants in Mesquite
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

There were several issues during our visit. It started with a party of about 15 that was starting to clear as we arrived. The owner of this establishment routinely under staffs and or under trains in his locations. Another party of 8 arrived after our party of 8. At any rate drinks took 25 minutes. We ordered before our drinks arrived to try to expedite. That didn’t work. We didn’t get our food for over an hour. There was also a temperature control issue. We asked for fans to be turned down and then the other table asked for them on. That’s a tough situation but looking around the restaurant others were chilly as well. They finally adjusted the fans and AC for all. Server admitted she was new. Bartender was absolutely trying to assist. A bad situation all around but you need to be able to handle service when you are only at 30% if that capacity for dinner. We will not be returning. Side note the beef ribs were very tender. Corn bread dry and old tasting. Currently no Tap beer only bottled. Mixed reviews on salmon. Some in our party said ok. My friends was raw inside.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2018 via mobile

We had a server named Melody that provided the best service we have ever witnessed. She was the best of the best wow!!! Pulled pork that 5 out of six of us ordered was delicious. Definitely going back! Thank you Melody for making it great!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 543kristih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2018

This occupies the premises of the much loved but now defunct Playoffs. We were hesitant to try this on our last golfing visit to Mesquite because the reviews seemed mediocre. But we are very glad we did. Four of us chowed through a large pizza, baby back ribs, and wings. Everything was excellent. We will surely be back.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank KnotheadPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

one waitress, kept up on drinks, orders, followup. Important for me is that she refilled my Diet Coke without me having to ask. The cornbread is dense and sweet with honey butter. Yum!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Wyswmn1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2018

Four of us went down to check this out. We were greeted and seated given menues and told what specials were. Took drink orders came back and took our order... We had an awesome time. Food was hot and cooked finger tender.

We had two racks of ribs to share then fried green tomatoes and then an appetizer that was chicken tenders and all sorts of other things smothered in cheese.

It was a great time and they kept track of our water and drinks along with napkins and wet wipes... We will be back ...

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed VJ’s BBQ Sports Bar also viewed

 

Been to VJ’s BBQ Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing