We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summertime Hike”

Mt. Rose Ski Resort
Ranked #5 of 100 things to do in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Moderate hike with great views, including Lake Tahoe, meadow and waterfall. Easy, plentiful parking. We hiked in August, yet still found snow for photo op. This is a section of the Tahoe Rim Trail.

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank GottaRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"lift tickets"
in 22 reviews
"season pass"
in 12 reviews
"great snow"
in 9 reviews
"beginner runs"
in 8 reviews
"fresh snow"
in 5 reviews
"local mountain"
in 5 reviews
"tahoe area"
in 9 reviews
"varied terrain"
in 5 reviews
"black diamond"
in 4 reviews
"chutes"
in 41 reviews
"beginners"
in 60 reviews
"lesson"
in 43 reviews
"instructor"
in 34 reviews
"elevation"
in 20 reviews
"snowboarders"
in 12 reviews
"snowboarding"
in 14 reviews
"squaw"
in 10 reviews
Filter

37 - 41 of 325 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2017

The closest ski resort to the city of Reno, easy to get to. And relatively affordable in an area of extreme prices. Good slopes. Popular.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017

Highest resort in the Tahoe area. Small but challenging runs. The Chutes are some of the most challenging skiing in the area. Good food at both Rose and Slide Restaurants. Avoid on windy days.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank davidhV8108PG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017

I visited with my mom and husband on a day we couldn't get across the mountains to get to our normal place, Squaw. The road was closed, so we stopped at Mt Rose to wait for the plows to clear the highways. We were just going to stay for a hot chocolate, but decided to buy a lift ticket, and it was so worth it. This was one of our favorite days out, definitely due to the fresh snow, but also because of how simple and navigable the trails were. Staff was friendly, and there weren't too many crowds. Definitely want to go back next year!

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2017

You can't beat the special weekday offers, so affordable and less crowded! Check out the website. Runs for all skills.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mt. Rose Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing