We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Inn
Ranked #50 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Wondenberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel was great.The bed was comfortble and the fridge and microwave was quite nice to have. A great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    14
    41
    52
    107
See reviews for
86
43
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This Motel is comfy,clean and quite. Close to downtown, great location and great service and reasonable rate. I reccommend to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Absolutely gross and they refused a refund or any resolution, expedia was no help either!

Room Tip: Dont ever stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reno hotels

Sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Checked in on 10/8/11 for the UNR vs. UNLV game. Showed up at 10:30 am...no early check. "Come back at 2:00pm". Asked if there was any way we could check in early. By the way, the place was practically empty. They said come back at noon. Fine. Came back at noon and parked in the "registration only parking spot" and an older gentleman began yelling at us for parking in the wrong spot. We explained we were checking in and he finally settled down and let us check in. He was a real piece of work, to put it mildly. Apparently, he sells parking spots during UNR home games so he was protecting his cash. They began to bill my credit card and I said no, I wanted to pay cash. The daughter of the man who harassed about the parking said that would be fine, and a deposit of $40 would be applied to the debit card. Entering the room, don't get excited. Non-smoking room was smelly, bathroom and shower needed updating, carpet was stained. Meanwhile, older gentleman was roaming the parking lot, berating guests, and monitoring the parking lot so no one was parking without checking into a room or paying him to park. Finally, as expected, they screwed up the billing and dinged my credit card instead of allowing me to pay cash. Totally worst hotel experience ever. Would have paid more just for the piece of mind.

Will NEVER, NEVER, NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I am 26 yo helping her 83 yo grandpa drive to Phoenix, AZ for a convention. We started our trip in north centeral Oregon. We stopped at this super 8 for the night ( grandpa is an advid fan of motel 6, but being as this is the first motel we saw he got a room). Charged extra for wifi, bathroom especially the shower was dirty. Towels had on them ( gross!) and I was tempted not to sleep on the bed just out of paranoia, yet I broke down and did anyways. Lamps barely worked, no electrical outlets available for my laptop. I had to unplug a few things to get one. Would I ever stay here again? No!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingExploder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Folks, I have never written a review though I have read and rely on them. I am a truck driver and typically try to stay in a hotel once per week. I called this facility on Sunday 7/10/11 and asked if they had truck parking. The India accent employee said they do have parking in the rear of the hotel. I asked a second time and explained my rig is 75 ft long and was she sure I could park the truck. The employee reasured the truck would fit. I arrived at the site around 6 15 PM.. My truck would never fit in the parking area, quite frankly I am not sure a standard pickup with a horse trailer would fit. I called from across the street and asked to cancel. The same employee said she would need to ask her manager and call me back. Never thinking she would, about 15 minutes later the employee called to state her manager would not refind the reservation. I am now calling my credit card to deal with these bandits. This facility should never be used.. If you read these reviews including my story these owners should be put out of business.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tsdgtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Banos, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2011

The room was comfortable. The room was not luxurious, but it was sufficient. The real plus is the staff. They are very accomodating and friendly. They are among the nicest I've been around. The price is very good and in good location. Again, the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redandwhitemarkets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.3 km away
Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino
4.6 km away
Econo Lodge Near Reno-Sparks Convention Center
4.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#41 of 64 in Reno
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reno West
6.1 km away
Vagabond Inn Reno
Vagabond Inn Reno
#38 of 64 in Reno
51 reviews
2.0 km away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Property: University Inn
Address: 1651 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89503-1739 (Formerly Super 8 Reno/University Area)
Region: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Reno
University Inn Reno, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing