We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”

Hungry Bear Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 61 Restaurants in Stateline
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

Always on the dinner lists when we visit the Ridge Tahoe

The opening times are limited but with the new Bistro available can understand

Always good to meet up with some of the staff who have been working for over 25 years

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 617collinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 38 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2018

The food was delicious and service great! The piano player was an added bonus to a delightful meal! Thanks

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank ruthieb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2017

The head chef really knows his stuff. The menu is great and the food great. It's a very cozy place, especially in the winter. Give it a try. You'll enjoy it!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2017

Been here many times, whenever we are in the area. Located at teh top of Kingsbury Grade, right on the ridge that separates the Carson Valley and the Lake Tahoe basin, and with spectacular views of both, The Hungry Bear is hidden inside the Ridge Tahoe and is only open a couple nights a week. Availability is hit and miss as is the schedule, so book early and do get a reservation. I just had teh surf and turf which was quite a bit more affordable than the same fare in other highly rated regular haunts that I also frequent. I nicely flavored petite rib eye and a petite lobster tail, both of which were perfect! Nice razzleberry lemonade cocktail to start. Very nice, very affordable, very nice staff. We really enjoyed it. Bring oxygen as it is above 8,000 feet elevation!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveller-X24-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2017

It's the Wandering Yank here. I stayed with a couple of friends at the Ridge for a long weekend, and since the weather was awful one night, reservations at The Hungry Bear were a good idea.

It's a very nice, quiet place. There was a guitarist providing mood music - it really added to the atmosphere. The wine list is nice but not overwhelming. The food was pretty good, but I wouldn't call it outstanding. I had a caesar salad - a bit bland, and no anchovies, my pet peeve. Where is the tradition? :) The ribeye steak was very tender and delicious, but the flavor was a little bland too. The berry-based demi-glace didn't add anything to it. The flourless chocolate cake was the best part of the meal. Excellent!!!

It's not a cheap place, but prices are in line with the location and quality. Service was very engaging and efficient, but not overly fast, which was fine for the kind of place it was.

2 thumbs up!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hungry Bear Restaurant also viewed

Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to Hungry Bear Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing