We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
67
44
18
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
44
18
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding chapelthe ownerin towndoor knobmy fiancesteep staircasestreet parkingred dog saloontook picturesno elevatorrooms are smallopera househistoric hotelbar downstairselvis impersonatorhear everythingthursday night
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 159 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2017

The mattresses were as old as the hotel, which made us think that the silver miners must have brought them in on their wagons. Stayed during a hot late summer night in 2016, with no A/C, no air circulation and no sleep. Not upset about the paper thin walls as it was expected due to the age of the hotel. One more item; rooms are small. Had to move the bed in order to fully open the door.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stokesjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2017

Not kidding when they say best Bloody Mary in town. Cool little spot with historic feel. Fun time. Would recommend for the historic value alone. The silver dollar dress is awesome. Had a great time learning the history of this place and the town.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank richbend70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile

If you are traveling to Virginia City for a touch of historic charm and authenticity - this could be your place. We loved it. Historic hotel with a historic saloon.

The Silver Queen is quoted in a book referencing a newspaper article in 1875.... "Gobey and Keely's Saloon, on the main floor of the Molinelli Hotel, boasted the “finest billiard room in the state” and a “Barber Shop … attached to the saloon.” It featured brandies, wines, liquors, and cigars."

The saloon is still great. Fantastic folk (many local, at least in November) and a great tender. The hotel is a little less authentic (thank goodness - the bathrooms are in the room now), but clearly not a comfort stay by any means. While considered haunted, we were mostly haunted by guests arriving back after 2 AM and very loudly continuing their party in various rooms. If not for the sign on the hotel door asking guests to take their party outside after 10 PM, I would have skipped this comment as an unlucky night for sleep.

If you want to take a trip back in time and can chill out over slightly less than modern expectations, I think this place is worth your time. We hope to return!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2016

Having seen the photos online, I was fully prepared for an "old school" hotel experience. I was not prepared for a total flophouse. If we hadn't arrived at 10pm, I wouldn't have stayed the night. We stayed in room 12, the "bridal room" with the claw foot tub. The tub had no faucet, only a wonky shower head attachment, which made it nearly impossible to use. (There was no shower.) The carpet was dirty and stained. The furniture was mostly chipped, beat-up 1970s and 1980s trash. All of the lighting fixtures had blue-hued, industrial fluorescent bulbs, which made it feel like the world's dirtiest operating room (not romantic at all). The transom windows were covered up with construction paper. The wallpaper was flaking off. Worst of all, the heater was no match for the 16' ceilings, making it a very cold night (under a comforter that looked like it came out of a K-mart bag in 1995 and hadn't been washed since). As for it being haunted, I think the ghosts were like "this place is depressing, I'm going to a saloon down the street." My boyfriend and I lamented that even minor fixes would make the place doable: 1) swap out bulbs, add some lamps for ambiance 2) replace carpeting 3) replace furniture with period-appropriate antiques 4) add bedside outlets because even travelers wanting an old school experience need to charge their phones 5) put plexi over the old wallpaper so people can enjoy it but not deal with the flakes 6) fix tub 7) new bedding and 8) paint. Good bones but what a waste. All in all, I recommend checking out Virginia City (although the racist products in some of the shop windows are shocking) as a day trip. Stay in a "real" hotel in Reno. That's what we did for our second night and in comparison, it was HEAVEN.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2016

We went over Halloween to hunt for ghosts, stayed in room 15. The owner is AWESOME one of the coolest people we have met. The maid for our room was very nice met her during check in did a great job, The room is old, but it is a historical building and should be old, everything worked. There are lots of narrow, steep stairs but we only went up to sleep. If you are looking to go back in time and have an adventure this place is great, and Halloween is a blast.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the first two floors do it
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews