We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, Old West Charm, ”
Review of Silver Queen Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Virginia City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Queen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Virginia City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Built in 1876 and located in the center of Main Street, this hotel, and saloon provides an unmatched authentic Old Wild West experience.
Meaning, don't expect super comfort or posh accomodation but that all adds to its charm and history. The rooms are small but each room has its merits so highly recommend you research your preferences. While the renovations are dated, the rooms themselves are lovingly preserved. Not the best place to stay for those with mobility issues, or who are bothered by noise, but definitely a must do if you are into experiencing authentic Wild West history.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank Ettadallas1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

I wanted to stay here, as it is supposed to be haunted (room 11 is, anyway). We were in room 14, just down the hall, but nothing happened. Unfortunately, this hotel has no air conditioning, which was a little problematic for late August. The transom in this room is nailed shut for some reason, making airflow limited. Still, the room itself was gorgeous, and you really got a sense of what it might have been like to ' travel in style' at the turn of the last century. The linens were clean and fresh, and the ceiling fan worked.

One tip: use the back door to haul in your suitcases; it's a full floor higher than the front door, and lots fewer stairs!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LKJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Silver Queen is a great location. If you're in town to see Hot August Nights or attend a wedding at the Opera House (as we were), then there's no better choice. It's a funky hotel that does feel out of time, but the charm stops there. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable--lumpy, soft--so we didn't get good sleep. There is zero counter space on the sink so if you try to use hair tools there's no place to set them down (which, if they're hot, is a fire hazard). The stairs are also VERY steep, so this isn't a good hotel for older people or those who have difficulty tackling stairs.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mithra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

First of all, this place is over 100 years old so don't expect five star accommodations. Yes, the rooms are tired but clean. Bring your luggage in from the back of the hotel; it is much easier than hauling it up the steep stairs. This place is supposed to be haunted and we had a few experiences. The ambiance is pleasant as is the staff. We were very happy with our stay. We talked to the owner about the mattress and she had new mattresses on their way.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retiredranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

No AC. Think Walls. Bunk Bed (#16). Stairs from He'll. Had four rooms and many in our group abandoned ship and went to Reno. Rooms were so hot they couldn't sleep. Historical building located in historical town expectations should adjust accordingly. Staff were very friendly & welcoming. The Bar had Elvis and other entrainment nightly. Weddings preformed. Bar has the "Silver Queen" made entirely of Silver Dollars (and a few gold coins too). Enjoyed my stay BUT be mindful your not staying at the Hilton. Go back in time and enjoy the ride.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank baaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this "haunted" hotel for the adventure and it was. The hotel is old, run down and a little dingy --but still fun. We were told our room was next door to the most haunted room in the hotel, separated from ours only by a wall with a painted over window near the ceiling. But we didn't see any ghosts-- only ghost hunters on their nightly tour in the hallway. The bar downstairs had live entertainment but everything was quiet after about 10 pm so we got a good night's sleep. Our shower was tiny but the towels were new and fluffy. Our 2nd story room was small but we didn't have to climb the steep steps because there was direct access to the second floor from the rear of the hotel. All in all, it was a fun way to experience Virginia City. However, we're sure it was a "once in a lifetime" thing!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Florida-IaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

We walked into the bar area and wow a real step back in time but that's where it ends. The room was tired, shabby and falls well short of authenticity, more like a 70's time warp. We opted for the room with the 100 mile view which as it turns out was the same as the car park over the road ! We could count the springs in the mattress as each one dug into various parts of our bodies. Blood stains on the carpet were a bit off putting. The housekeeper had the cheek to leave an envelope for her tip, that remained empty !Also lack of places to put stuff, the room was minimal, a lamp would have been a good idea. Very dissappointed.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia City
1.1 km away
Virginia City Inn
Virginia City Inn
#1 of 5 in Virginia City
68 reviews
26.2 km away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.7 km away
Sugarloaf Mountain Motel & Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Edith Palmer's Country Inn
Edith Palmer's Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Virginia City
49 reviews
23.4 km away
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
2.2 km away
Gold Hill Hotel
Gold Hill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Virginia City
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Queen Hotel

Address: 28 North C Street, Virginia City, NV 89440
Region: United States > Nevada > Virginia City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Virginia City
Price Range: $58 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Silver Queen Virginia City
Hotel Silver Queen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing