We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$129
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$110
View deal
Priceline
US$129
View deal
Hotels.comUS$110
TravelocityUS$110
CheapTicketsUS$110
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
223
70
21
11
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
223
70
21
11
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white mountains the cottages north conway bed and breakfast new england bretton woods cabin accommodations crawford winter fireplace nh
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 359 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2020

The new owner of this place does not take pride in running a business. He is a scam artist who has no problem making false promises and keeping people's money. The so called "Manager"(who does not live on the premises) only works part time and does not maintain the property. The rooms were disgustingly filthy, the heat doesn't work, the front door knob was falling off and rigged with a piece of scotch tape! Stay away......far far away from this establishment.

Date of stay: February 2020
4  Thank tablefiveseatfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy R, Owner at Bartlett Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2020

(Since this review was written by a guest from the same party who wrote one almost simultaneously, the response is largely the same). We were in contact with you and the others from your group and informed you that our manager was caught in a snow storm and therefore unable to drive to the inn until that Sunday (late morning). Without questioning your concerns, we did offer to move many folks from your party to new rooms that were clean. One room was given a new blanket and bedspread that she never took. Room 5 was given another room and kept Room 5 too. Your party did enter a locked area with a sign posted that said 'employees only'. We did also find the lobby area in disarray from your guest.
Nonetheless, we wanted to be as accommodating as possible so did offer future stay and refund considerations which you chose not to accept in lieu of posting your feelings on social media--which is your prerogative. We are sorry for your disappointment and want readers to know we tried to be as responsive and fair as we could under the circumstances. Yours, Bartlett Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2020

To call this place a dump is insulting to dumps.
We arrived in a snowstorm, and yes, we understand the roads were bad- we just drove 6 hours to arrive, but we had to shovel our own paths to our rooms, since the owner or manager couldn’t bother to ensure that 10-12 guests arrived safely. Since they neglected to have salt or sand (come on, this is northern New Hampshire), several of us fell on the ice.

The big issue however is the complete disregard for cleanliness. I couldn’t tell you the last time any of the rooms were cleaned, as dust, mold, hair, old food, and even blood were found in our rooms. I spent the entire weekend coughing (dust and mold allergies!). We thought we were going to have a cozy quaint New England weekend. Being outdated is one thing, and part of the charm of a B&B, but this place is simply filthy. It is shocking that it hasn’t been shut down. One of us called to say that there was no heat- yes, she was offered an “upgrade” but I’m not sure what you can upgrade to when all rooms are cringeworthy, It’s a good thing no one showed up to cook us breakfast (despite this being a bed and breakfast!) because you couldn’t pay me to eat there. When we called the owner to share our concerns, after being defensive and condescending towards several members of our group, he offered us a free future night. I would be crazy- and you should too- to step foot on that property. The health department and building inspector would have a field day.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Laceypita
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy R, Owner at Bartlett Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2020

Dear Guest,

(Since this review was written by a guest from the same party who wrote one almost simultaneously, the response is largely the same). We were in contact with you and the others from your group and informed you that our manager was caught in a snow storm and therefore unable to drive to the inn until that Sunday (late morning). Without questioning your concerns, we did offer to move many folks from your party to new rooms that were clean. One room was given a new blanket and bedspread that she never took. Room 5 was given another room and kept Room 5 too. Your party did enter a locked area with a sign posted that said 'employees only'. We did also find the lobby area in disarray from your guest.
Nonetheless, we wanted to be as accommodating as possible so did offer future stay and refund considerations which you chose not to accept in lieu of posting your feelings on social media--which is your prerogative. We are sorry for your disappointment and want readers to know we tried to be as responsive and fair as we could under the circumstances. Yours, Bartlett Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2020 via mobile

I arrived at the Bartlett Inn on a Friday afternoon to stay at one of the cottages for two nights. We arrived during a time when it was snowing and nothing was shoveled or salted. My friend and myself fell on the property as there was nobody there to help us. The keys were left for us to just get for ourselves. The owner Jeremy of the Bartlett Inn/AHM Properties, LLC spoke time several of my friends and let us know the manager could not get there and he doesn’t live on the property. He hasn’t been to the property in a while as we found out. The manager Mary said she had car problems.

Our cottage and our friends cottages and room at the Inn were filthy. We had one roll of toilet paper and not enough towels. Cords for the appliances were hung on the wall by an extension cord, floors covered in dust and dirt, cob webs everywhere, a fireplace that was never cleaned, blood on the floor in one room, black mold on ceilings and more.

The next morning no breakfast was served and the manager never even showed up until around 11am. What we saw was horrific when we met her. She brought trash bags of linens out of her car that she was smoking in and gave them to us. I have horrible allergies and could barely breathe in the cabin to begin with. She had a small dog that she allowed in the kitchen area and when we were in the inn and she left the door open there was trash everywhere. There are health hazards, fire hazards and building issues everywhere. The owner responds only to some people and very sarcastically. He is a lawyer that treats people horrible and tries to intimidate others to not say anything.

We had brought in donuts that Saturday since there was no breakfast and guess what the manager put out the next day??!!! Do not eat there. We hope by sharing our experience that others do not have to experience what we did. There was a local person living there in a cabin who kept asking for things. It’s not safe and nobody should ever stay there.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy R, Owner at Bartlett Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2020

Dear Guest,

We were in contact with you and the others from your group and informed you that our manager was caught in a snow storm and therefore unable to drive to the inn until that Sunday (late morning). Without questioning your concerns, we did offer to move many folks from your party to new rooms that were clean. One room was given a new blanket and bedspread that she never took. Room 5 was given another room and kept Room 5 too. Your party did enter a locked area with a sign posted that said 'employees only'. We did also find the lobby area in disarray from your guest.
Nonetheless, we wanted to be as accommodating as possible so did offer future stay and refund considerations which you chose not to accept in lieu of posting your feelings on social media--which is your prerogative. We are sorry for your disappointment and want readers to know we tried to be as responsive and fair as we could under the circumstances. Yours, Bartlett Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2020

I had 2 rooms booked at the Bartlett Inn and Cottages, and after checking in discovered one of the rooms did not have running water. When we informed the front desk, they said they would investigate. I later called to check in, and the owner informed me that the pipes were frozen, could not be remedied that night, and that they were completely full and could not relocate us to a functioning room. Instead of offering a refund for a room we could not use, he offered us a discount on a future stay and access to a common (and very unsanitary) bathroom in a different building 200 feet away in a snow storm. I was told I had until 8PM to speak with someone if we did not want to stay the night, and when we returned at 7:30PM there was no staff remaining and no one answering the phones. No one has returned my phone calls or emails since. I have waited to post this review in hopes of resolving these issues, but management has put in no effort to rectify the situation. While weather is out of our control, this particular cold snap was neither unseasonable or unforeseen and there was no acceptable reason that a room be offered without running water. I would not recommend this establishment any time during the winter, and would not expect good communication during your stay.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank T6048OIhannahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy R, Owner at Bartlett Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2020

Dear Guest,

When we spoke with you, prior to your email demanding recompense, I indicated we would give you credit for a future stay and apologized for a situation that had just occurred that evening. We were unable to secure a plumber on a holiday weekend. You had indicated a level of understanding and appreciation for our offer--before sending your (what we believe to be) inappropriate email. We again apologize for the situation.

Yours, Bartlett Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2020

We booked two rooms for one night at the Bartlett inn in Bartlett NH. One room had no running water, when we contacted the owner about the problem he informed us that the issue would be resolved, that some one would be at the front desk until 8:00pm, and in the meantime we could use the “common” restroom (which had no soap, was unsanitary and was about a 200 foot walk outside during a snowstorm). When we checked on the issue at 7:30pm there was no one at the front desk, the water still didn’t work, and the owner would not answer his phone. No apology, refund, or meaningful attempt to resolve the issue was made. On top of all of this they were bypassing the GFI for the air conditioner in the room as pictured below.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5  Thank andrewsA2697IQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy R, Owner at Bartlett Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the frozen water pipes that affected two of the cottage rooms. Though it was a problem out of our control and not one we could remedy after hours on a holiday weekend, we attempted to accommodate you as best we could. Since every room was occupied, we could not move you, so we offered you use of the inn house bathroom. I also offered you credit on a future stay. Respectfully, you are incorrect in stating we made no apology. I did then and do now. As for the attempt to resolve and refund, we tried those too. Since we are a small operation and the timing here of the arctic temps on a packed holiday weekend were unfortunate, we did the best we could and made reasonable offers. I'm sincerely sorry you feel otherwise. Yours, Bartlett Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews