We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best week”

Review of SHELL SEEKER 46

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hatteras, Hatteras Island, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GraceFall...
Frederick, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, house is so so”
Reviewed July 23, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The location is great, a short walk or golf cart ride to the beach. The house is in serious need of a remodel, the flooring is the only upgrade made in 40+ yrs. Everything is from the 70's.
Master bedroom: Large room with comfy bed. Master bath: nice size but old. Ladies the lighting in this bathroom is awful and so is the mirror. It felt a little icky to hang towels on the towel bars knowing that the walls probably never get wiped down since there is mold in places on the wallpaper. There is a reason there aren't any pictures of the bathrooms in the advertising for this house.
Bedrm #2: Nice size, mattress pad had black spots on it and the bed is noisy. If you are a lite sleeper you won't get much rest.
Bedrm #3: Normal size. Bed is super noisy also.
Hall Bath: Has shower stall, slightly cramped sink area. The toilet was leaking while we were there.
Kitchen: Tons of cabinet space. Lots of counter space. Large island that seats 8. If the island is fully seated it's impossible to move around the kitchen since the kitchen is not very big.
Living rm: Nice space with uncomfortable furniture. Some of the throw pillows on the couches have mold spots.
Front porch: Nice space. Loved that there's a gate to keep kids and pets contained. Some of the spindles on the railing are loose so don't leave your kiddos unsupervised.
Under the house: Large open garage area. Has interior steps which is nice if its raining. Laundry is located in garage. There is also a weird kind of bathroom in the garage, it only has 2 walls so its an open air toilet and shower.
There is a ground level deck on the side of the house. The outdoor shower is just plain gross!

Overall the house is in a great location and has a decent setup but the owners really need to invest. Most of the paneling walls need cleaning and painting as there is a moldy green look to them.
Dolphin Realty was awesome. We were able to check-in early. We did a drive by of the house. Noticed the cleaning ppl leaving. Drove to the realty office. Explained that we saw the cleaners leaving and were able to check-in. Excellent!

And yes, I would recommend this house to friends but only after explaining the pros and cons so they can make an informed decision.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Thank you for the feedback. Have A Great Day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Morrisville, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best week”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Shell Seeker with four children and our dog. The house is not modern, but very clean and comfortable. Everything is provided that you may need (except linens - I would highly recommend linen rentals)! The location was the best - a very short walk to the beach, which was never busy. We enjoyed Hatteras Village, as it was very quaint and quiet. It was one of our most relaxing and enjoyable vacations!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Hi Jennifer,

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Shell Seeker. We hope to see you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jameschap...
2 reviews
“Such a awesome vacation.”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Other than the a c not working the house location and service was top notch. Dolphin reality was amazing and I recommend them highly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2015
Good Morning,

Thank you so much! I am sorry that the a/c was not working. If we had known we would have send a repairman while you were here. We had to go to the cottage and I realize it was not working well. We did have it repaired and it is working fine now. Have a great day.
Thank you,
Nancy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry C
Candler, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ode de Fish”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here for 10 wonderful days last summer and made some wonderful family memories, the house is well equipped with everything you need neat and tidy on a nice quiet street and a short walk to the beach, and a short drive to ramp 55 if you have a 4x4, close enough to the ferry docks that you can hear the ferry whistles, kids loved this. kids loved riding their bikes all over the quiet neighborhood. Don't pass this p, it's a great little hose, neat as a pin and comfy as can be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, it was clean
Liked least: all was good
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and also hope that you come back and stay with us again. Nothing like a Hatteras Island Vacation!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable house”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had been planning our trip since we left Hatteras last summer. We found this house in the village at a great price. Dolphin Realty made everything easy even with a late change of dates. The house was well equipped with good quality appliances and kitchen ware.Everything was in good repair. The walk to the beach was very short and traffic almost non existent. Absolutely best deal on the island.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
So glad you and the family had a great time and enjoyed the house. Look forward to seeing you again next summer. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing