We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn by the Bandstand
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Exeter Inn(Exeter)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slumber Manor Motel(North Hampton)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabrook Inn(Seabrook)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
225
13
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
13
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bnew englandport winebreakfast was deliciouscomplimentary portmodern convenienceshistoric townvisiting exeterfreshly baked cookiesa wonderful stayperfect place to stayphillips exeter academyliving roomthis past weekendthe entire staffjamiejaime
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here in July when we took advantage of a LivingSocial deal to celebrate our one year anniversary with a road trip to New England. We arrived in the late afternoon after driving through several cities (Mystic, CT, Bristol, RI, and Boston, MA). We were graciously greeted by Kate and Jim. Our room was great! We had a queen bed, a sofa chair and a desk. The room was kept very clean. Upon entering the room we spotted a decanter filled with port wine and two small glasses--what a nice touch! We also received a voucher for the Cornucopia Wine and Cheese shop next door (which we promptly used and bought 2 bottles of wine after indulging in a wine tasting!) We went out to dinner and walked around the town a bit, which is quaint and full of historic sites. We both slept so well, it was very quiet. Both mornings we went to breakfast, which Jim cooks himself and he does an amazing job. I like the way it's set up because you don't have to sit awkwardly around a big table and talk to strangers; it's more like a restaurant with separate tables. Jim knows so much about the area and can direct you to any place you want to go or activities you want to do. After checking out we had the opportunity to talk to Jim and Kate for a bit, they really are lovely people and they do a great job with the Inn. They really put their all into it and their effort definitely shows. We would absolutely visit here again!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ev4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thank you SO VERY much. I don't know how to express how much your heartfelt words mean to us. We take pride in our home and enjoy welcoming guests to stay with us. We both work very hard to make every guests' stay with us a memorable experience. We are blessed that our inn is located in such a great area. Exeter is a quaint, charming New England town with great little shops and interesting history. We are just 8 miles from the NH coast, just minutes away from the outlet malls and coast of Maine, as well as some great little port towns in Massachusetts. There is tons of extra things to do and see here. (Kayaking, whale watching, golf, vineyard tours and SO much more....), Thank you again for your review. ~~ Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The innkeepers were kind and the home itself was beautiful, and well-located in the middle of Exeter. The room was quite large and very cozy, if a bit ‘busy’. The breakfast was underwhelming (nothing we couldn’t have made better at home), though, and unlike most B&Bs at which we’ve stayed, it was served at precisely (or ‘sharp’, as we were warned by the owner) at 8:30, which seemed designed more for the keepers’ convenience than the guests’. Still, in the unlikely event we had some reason to return to Exeter, we’d likely return to the Inn as it certainly had its charm and nothing else in the area would seem to compare.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tennesseine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thank you for your kind words about us, as innkeepers, and of our inn. We take extreme pride in the management of our inn (home). I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in our breakfast and breakfast serving time. We want to always give our guest the finest quality breakfast and have found the best way to serve a hot, fresh from the oven, breakfast, is to do so with one breakfast seating. We are equipped with only a residential kitchen and unfortunately we do not have the means that a restaurant would have to prepare and keep things fresh and warm for extended periods of time. Again, we so appreciate your review and do so look forward to you staying with us again. ~~ Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The Bandstand was a getaway my girlfriend and I got through living social. 2 nights, 3 days. This place is TRULY terrific. Quiet rooms, throwback designs, lovely historic town, and a sense of living in the past.

It's PERFECT for those who want to get away with no distractions. Jim and Kate were very welcoming and did a TERRIFIC job with everything!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gags1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

The town, the shops and the restaurants, needless to say our accommodations, make Exeter one of the TOP getaway secrets in New England! We are fortunate to have partnered with MANY businesses to provide our guests with a relaxing and fun experience while getting away from it all!

We are pleased you had such a nice time with us and look forward to your return soon! --Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

What a great escape indeed! My wife and I are celebrating our 9th wedding anniversary this weekend and we are so glad we came here!! A very historic town with a very historic inn. We love having this time away to rest and relax, and enjoy each other again. It's neat being in the center of town and watch the Memorial Day Parade without leaving the bedroom. Great hospitality from Jim and Kate. I definitely recommend coming here. We stayed in the Lakeheath Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slwolfe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

You guys were an absolute joy to have here! Kate and I thoroughly enjoyed our chat with you in the morning. You gave us such great marketing ideas and really help us focus our efforts.

There's always something going on downtown and since we are located in the heart of everything, we get to see it all. In fact, most the presidential candidates make a stop and hold rallies just right outside our door... we've already had three! On weekends, there's always someone holding an event in town. Never a dull moment! Glad you got to see small town America on Memorial Day!! --Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We went to the Inn by the Bandstand to celebrate our engagement. I thought we needed to just get away from our daily life and just focus on 'us'. I am SO glad we picked the Inn by the Bandstand. We live south of Boston and Exeter, NH is only 1.5 hours away. We stayed two nights in the Windsor Suite which has a king size bed and a jaccuzi. My fiance surprised me by ordering breakfast delivered up to our room on our second morning (at the suggestion of the Innkeeper Jim). It was so nice not to have to get dressed and go down to the dining room for breakfast. The first night we went out to 11 Water Street (a restaurant, again, at the suggestion of the innkeeper) and we had a great meal and we also got 20% off because the inn has a program that if you show your room key at certain stores/restaurants you get discounts. The second night we ate at the chinese food restaruant (I cant remember the name) which is right behind the inn. It was nice to walk to the resaurants and not have to worry about driving. The inn also had cookies in the main hallway each evening which was nice to have that little sweet after coming in from dinner. We will definately go back to this inn. Possibly in the fall when the leaves change.

Room Tip: check the website as each room is different
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuckyLady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

I'm so pleased you had such a wonderful time with us. We, indeed, have so much to offer those looking to get away and celebrate their love. We're some old romantics here so be sure and let us know that you are coming to celebrate romance. Be sure to check out our great romantic packages. I'm sure there's one to please every heart.

And to make everyone's stay here an even better value, we do offer numerous discounts at local merchants and restaurants that the big-box hotel chains don't. Just show your room key!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews