We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice location but little annoyances” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn by the Bandstand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn by the Bandstand
Ranked #1 of 3 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice location but little annoyances”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We recently stayed at this place. It is situated very nicely and is well appointed. Has most of the charm of a New England Bed and Breakfast but little annoyances took away from the "best" experience. For example, breakfast is served at the "exact" time and if you are not there on time (8:30am), you would get served "warmed over" breakfast. Since we were on vacation, the first night we didn't set alarm clock and had to be rushed. It would be nice, if they can ask the guest for their preference for the breakfast time and plan accordingly. Although, hosts were knowledgeable and helpful about the area, it would be nice to have some printed material including local maps available.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDinAvonCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Kate L, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments. We explain to our guests at check-in, when we do a tour of our inn and show them our dining room, that we are a 200 year old residential building. Unfortunately, we do not have a commercial kitchen and do not have the facilities to keep items hot. Due to this we indicate that breakfast can only be served hot at one seating. We could put out a cold buffet, but our guest seem to prefer a hot, fresh from the oven breakfast.
Oh gosh, I wish you had asked for information and/or maps of the area and of your interests. We have many pamphlets, guide books and maps available right in our entry area. There are a lot of great things to do in Exeter and in the surrounding area. From the Independence Museum and Philips Exeter Academy right here in Exeter, or antique shops & small local vineyards, the ocean and coastal route or the shopping outlets in nearby Maine and quaint shops & restaurants in Portsmouth, NH, there is PLENTY for EVERYONE! We hope you visit us again if your travels bring you back to Southern NH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    13
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
135
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

The room was beautiful. The food was delicious. The Innkeepers were informative and very personable. Would highly recommend this Inn and plan to return in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana11Durand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thank you for your review. We look forward to your return visit. Please check out our facebook page and our website for new specials and packages. ~ Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Jim and Kate were excellent hosts during our 5 night stay. They helped us plan each day based on our interests, whether it be historical sights, antiquing, shopping, a day at the beach, etc. They will advise you of the best locations and give excellent directions. They also serve an excellent breakfast. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay in their beautiful victorian inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Devonshire Room, it was very cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
You are so kind! We are very pleased that you chose to stay with us here at the Inn by the Bandstand. It was very nice to chat with you each morning about your adventures the day before and to give you tips on were to head on the new days adventures. There is so much to do and see here in this area (Maine / NH / MA), we are glad you got to stay with us for 5 days. You were the 'ideal' guest to our home/inn. We hope that you visit us again. ~ Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrimack
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We recently enjoyed a wonderful weekend at this lovely B& B in nearby Exeter,N.H..The innkeepers were friendly and helpful in planning our time.The downtown is full of fun shops and restaurants.We're outdoor enthusiasts and loved that we could kayak the Exeter river from the marina across the street and bike along the riverside.Plus, being only minutes from Hampton we were able to take in a concert at the Casino Ballroom. Our room was over- the- top gorgeous! We had a wonderful night sleep on a huge high bed full of luxurious pillows! Even though we had a rainy morning it was so relaxing to lounge in the sitting area of our room....then down to the cozy dining room for a yummy breakfast served by our gracious hosts. We're N.H. natives and can't believe we missed this place. We'll definitely return.We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you! You are such a wonderful couple! We are so glad you had such a fun visit. We look forward to you return visit. We would love for you to experience our Inn in the winter.......snuggled next to the fire with a glass of port after a day of snowshoeing at one of our local vineyards! ~ Thank you again, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

My daughter and I enjoyed a great overnight getaway at the inn. The innkeepers recommended the cute downtown shops for us to explore. A great spot for much needed mother-daughter time! We hope to come back soon...loved the special touch of the home baked cookies!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you for your review. We enjoyed meeting you and your daughter and are very glad that you had a nice visit to Exeter and our Inn. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

This was a Groupon for a 1 night stay in one of their Jr. Suites which expired on Aug 31. I had a Jr. Suite booked for Aug 28, but asked to reschedule due to Hurricane Irene. They told me that the only rooms they had available were the Edinburgh or the Kensington, which were less expensive and smaller rooms, but the Groupon would still be the same price.
We should have known when we saw the paint peeling off the front of the building when we arrived. The innkeeper and owner was all business and never introduced himself or welcomed us. We were shown to our room, informed of the rules, (which included "Breakfast at 8:30am Sharp!") The room was very small, rather gaudy, and the bed very hard and uncomfortable. There was a tiny TV mounted on the wall which was difficult to see from the bed. The next morning before breakfast we walked around a bit and saw that at least 2 Jr suites were completely unoccupied, including the one we originally asked to be booked in! At breakfast the innkeeper's wife told us from the doorway that there was juice available on the table and then went back into the kitchen. We had to get our own coffee. The only other person in the dining room the whole time we were there was a woman who talked loudly on her cell phone the entire time! The wife came out with French toast, bacon, and fruit and placed it in front of us, never speaking a word to us. The French toast and fruit were good, but the bacon was obviously the precooked kind you buy in a box. There were no fresh baked muffins or cinnamon rolls as advertised. No one ever appeared in the dining room again to check with us or ask how things were, nor did any other guests ever come in and breakfast was only served at 8:30.
When we checked out, I said, "I thought you were full last night." They tried to lie about it and say other guests don't come for breakfast and the rooms were full. I then told them that I had checked and saw that they weren't. They were then rude and blamed it on me for rescheduling for the Hurricane and said that no one else had canceled. Well I don't care what the others did, it was not safe to be away during a Hurricane. They never asked how our stay was or even said thank you or good bye.
They are an extremely poor example of innkeepers, never mind business owners! We felt like intruders rather than guests!

Room Tip: Jr Suites are much nicer than Regular rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Foxden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
I am sorry you did not find your stay to your expectations. I would like to take this opportunity to comment on some of your accounting of your stay. We do have scheduled capital improvement projects planned for the inn (exterior painting as one of them) that will be taking place over the next few weeks due to our contractors schedule. Our groupon offer was published and purchased by you in March 2011 with an expiration date of Aug, 31, 2011. Upon review, we see that your reservation to stay with us using your groupon voucher was made on 8/13/11. Unfortunately, at that late date, the room that you were requesting (the Windsor Room) was already reserved, so you chose the Devonshire room to stay on 8/28/11. Hurricane Irene was predicted to hit the New England area during that weekend, but luckily as it made it's way up the coast, we here in eastern NH were spared. On 8/26/11 you called to reschedule your reservation. We did make an exception, to accommodate your situation, to extend the groupon offer past 8/31/11 and advised that we had the Kensington room available on 9/5/11. We were never asked about other room availability. You seemed to be pleased that you were offered a room past the expiration date. (To note, neither the Windsor Room, nor the Devonshire Room, were available on 9/5/11 so that is why neither of those rooms were offered). Our breakfast that morning was cinnamon raisin french toast with a side of fresh cooked bacon. We do offer a buffet bar with fresh cut fruit salad, 3 types of juices and coffee for guest to help themselves to. Unfortunately, we did have a guest in the dining room that was inconsiderate and did speak on her cell phone during her meal. I am sorry that that guest was not more courteous. We find that there is a fine line at any inn to keep the engagement with our guest to an informative/professional level while respecting their space and private time. When approached by our guests we are more then happy to give recommendations and history of the inn and town but do not like to impose ourselves. Over the years we find that to work best for our guests. Lastly, at your time of checkout, you did state some of your concerns, but it did not seem that you were receptive to any explanation that were being offered so unfortunately your checkout did not go as smoothly as it could have. I hope that this response can clear up any misunderstandings that you may have. Sincerely, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here in July when we took advantage of a LivingSocial deal to celebrate our one year anniversary with a road trip to New England. We arrived in the late afternoon after driving through several cities (Mystic, CT, Bristol, RI, and Boston, MA). We were graciously greeted by Kate and Jim. Our room was great! We had a queen bed, a sofa chair and a desk. The room was kept very clean. Upon entering the room we spotted a decanter filled with port wine and two small glasses--what a nice touch! We also received a voucher for the Cornucopia Wine and Cheese shop next door (which we promptly used and bought 2 bottles of wine after indulging in a wine tasting!) We went out to dinner and walked around the town a bit, which is quaint and full of historic sites. We both slept so well, it was very quiet. Both mornings we went to breakfast, which Jim cooks himself and he does an amazing job. I like the way it's set up because you don't have to sit awkwardly around a big table and talk to strangers; it's more like a restaurant with separate tables. Jim knows so much about the area and can direct you to any place you want to go or activities you want to do. After checking out we had the opportunity to talk to Jim and Kate for a bit, they really are lovely people and they do a great job with the Inn. They really put their all into it and their effort definitely shows. We would absolutely visit here again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ev4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you SO VERY much. I don't know how to express how much your heartfelt words mean to us. We take pride in our home and enjoy welcoming guests to stay with us. We both work very hard to make every guests' stay with us a memorable experience. We are blessed that our inn is located in such a great area. Exeter is a quaint, charming New England town with great little shops and interesting history. We are just 8 miles from the NH coast, just minutes away from the outlet malls and coast of Maine, as well as some great little port towns in Massachusetts. There is tons of extra things to do and see here. (Kayaking, whale watching, golf, vineyard tours and SO much more....), Thank you again for your review. ~~ Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.8 km away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
1.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
11.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
19.9 km away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Bandstand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Bandstand

Property: Inn by the Bandstand
Address: 6 Front Street, Exeter, NH 03833
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Bandstand 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Inn by the Bandstand is the premier lodging establishment in Exeter, New Hampshire. This wonderful inn is an 1809 historic home located in the heart of downtown Exeter. Only two blocks from the prestigious Phillips Exeter Academy, eight miles to the seacoast and beaches, and 20 minutes from Portsmouth, this charming inn offers nine antique furnished guest rooms, all with private baths and a delicious full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Inn by the Bandstand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Bandstand Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing