We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed this visit”

Horse and Hounds Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Franconia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed February 21, 2018

This was our second visit to the Horse and Hounds and although we had a nice evening, it was a little disappointing. We made our reservations in November for our February visit so that we were sure to get a table (last year we were unable to get a reservation 2 days before our visit). Upon arrival, to our chagrin, they were seating us (there were 5 of us) in the tavern side area at two round tables they pulled side-by-side. We were fully expecting to sit in the dining room not the tavern with such advanced reservations. We asked to please be seated in the dining room and they did accommodate us but we felt that the dining room is where we should have been seated anyway.
The food was very good but the Chicken Stew had almost no chicken at all and for the price, there should have been much more chicken. It was almost entirely gravy and some mushrooms. That was disappointing. They ran out of desert so the only desert they offered was Red Velvet cake. Unfortunately, it was disappointing. It was dry and seemed as though it was previously frozen and thawed because they had run out of other deserts.
Enough of the things that didn't go right. Overall, we love the H&H and will certainly go back. The appetizers were all excellent and other than the Chicken Stew lacking chicken, all of the meals were very good. We found the prices to be reasonable and our server ( Jo) was excellent! Hopefully, the owner/manager sees this review and makes some subtle changes. We will certainly be back.

Paul
Hudson, NH

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 97 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2018 via mobile

Another fine meal at this warm and inviting country inn restaurant. Service was excellent. The innkeeper, Doug, was friendly and helpful as usual. So happy the Schnitzel (our go-to entree) is back on the menu.

Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2017

I discovered this place through someone who had been here a decade ago. Since then, the place has been beautifully restored, and both dining and lodging are maintained at an admirably high standard. We've been back on multiple occasions and always enjoyed ourselves. The food is excellent. I particularly like the various ways they prepare chicken, which I learned (by asking the innkeeper) is sous vide, a French technique that produces especially tender and flavorful results. The ambiance throughout is warm and charming, with generous public spaces including fireplaces in both the dining room and bar room. For those spending the night, a hearty hot breakfast awaits.

Thank GeorgeWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2017

We love this place, it's so beautiful and we were looking forward to the schnitzel. We were there early at 5pm when they opened. They asked if we had a reservation, we said no but were hoping since it was early we would be able to be seated. The place was totally empty, which made that question seem ludicrous! We were seated but told that the kitchen wasn't quite ready to serve, if that was ok. We said fine and the lovely young waitress brought us water and menus. Shock, the schnitzel was missing from the menu, so we asked about it and she said, sadly it had been replaced with the duck and a lot of people were disappointed. We left, the menu was pretty pricey compared to the last time we were there and didn't have what we came for. I'm sure if we had stayed the food would have been great, although be aware that they only have one starch and one veggie per day, so if you don't like the choice, you are just out of luck!

    • Service
1  Thank Hollyreubens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamvcruxton, Owner at Horse and Hounds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

This is response to a review by a visitor who had dined with us on one prior occasion. In the review, the visitor noted that she and her dining partner "love this place." They did not dine with us a second
time, however. because a menu item that they enjoyed in the past, the schweineschnitzel (pork) was replaced during the Fall 2017 season with a chicken schnitzel. Yet, the reviewer states, "I'm sure if we
had stayed the food would have been great " However, she also noted that the "menu was pretty pricey compared to the last time," that it "seemed ludicrous" to be asked if they had a reservation since the
dining room was empty at 5 p.m., and "be aware that they only have one starch and one veggie per day." Despite, the accolades, the reviewer decidedly gave us a TERRIBLE rating (one star).

First, the Inn is proud of its reputation for providing consistently fine dining to its customers. To that end, we believe it would be helpful to share with TripAdvisor readers information about the
workings of a small country inn. We are not in the business of running a restaurant, per se.
The Horse & Hound is a country inn with a dining room which serves as an amenity to our inn guests. Yet, we do enjoy our local residents and folks visiting the area to join us in the dining room. Reservations please!

Since high volume is not our goal, we simply take reservations for the number of tables in the dining room. In other words, the table is yours for the night. So if one notices that a dining room is empty upon arrival, it could very well be that the within the next hour reserved guests will be arriving looking to be seated at their table. So one walking in off the street should not expect to receive a table without a reservation simply because the dining room is empty. Additionally, small dining rooms don't have the turnover experienced by larger restaurants. Therefore, it is imperative that food be prepared as fresh as possible and used that same evening. Allowing for one starch and one vegetable assures the diner that they are made that day, and have not been held over from the night before. To offer several choices would undermine the freshness of the menu items and create waste at the end of the night if an item is not used. Finally, with respect to the reviewer's comment that the prices being high, we note that the readers of Tripadvisor's reviews (and responses) are easily able to compare our prices with our local competitors. We invite them, as we have done in the past, to do so.

They will find that our prices are competitive and that experiences at the Horse & Hound Inn are - and will continue to be- an excellent value. We at the Horse & Hound can't imagine that this reviewer intended to leave one star. It seems more likely that she intended to take off one star because the desired menu item was not available. The title to her review is telling - "Should have been a 5 star."

We reached out to both TripAdvisor and the reviewer to no avail. We suggest all reviewers
carefully examine a review before posting. A one star review significantly alters an establishments rating which is concerning and frustrating especially when the rating is unwarranted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

A few friends and I enjoyed a night out at this beautiful place. We started with cocktails and appetizers. We then had a delightful dinner. The food, atmosphere and service were excellent!

Thank Passport706150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse and Hounds Inn also viewed

Sugar Hill, White Mountains
Sugar Hill, White Mountains
 
Sugar Hill, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 
Franconia, White Mountains
Bethlehem, White Mountains
 

Been to Horse and Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing