We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We were very comfortable in our clean, quiet room. The owners were very friendly and accommodating-eager to please. We came across this motel on our trip tp New England and were very pleased. It was just what we needed!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pwhizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    53
    49
    16
    15
See reviews for
72
76
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed at this place for 1 night, during our trip. At first sight it looks much better than it actually is. The bears on the beds irritated me too and I found it bit groce to touch them to throw them from the bed. The worse part was that the room was full of dead flies, and we killed some ourselves during the evening.
When we woke up there were like
15 flies in the bathroom flying
around my head while I was
brushing my teeth.
The breakfast was an unexpected surprise though the game(!)room we had to take it was really small and dark, the bigger room next to it with fireplace was far from cosy, really big with few tables and cold.

2 of 3 staffmembers that we met did not understand english, as if the owner had them imported illegally and put them to work in this depressing place.

As a bonus I discovered too late that they did not give me 10% discount as promised but just 10 dollars.

I think this place would be an excellent location to shoot a horrormovie.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2010

My wife and I traveled to Franconia to visit the Flume Gorge and had the pleasure of staying at Stonybrook. The innkeeper was friendly and accommodating, and we were very pleased with the size and quality of our room. We stayed in the Lodge building, which is outfitted with an indoor pool and game room, which includes a billiards table (75 cents a game) and a few arcade games.

Our room was very large, and contained not only two good-sized double beds but also a nice pull-out couch. We didn't need all the bed space, but the couch was great for lounging around and the room was big enough that we didn't feel cramped. Through our window we looked out on a very picturesque field with a lake and little decorative bridge. Stonybrook is definitely New Hampshire rustic, with lots of dark wood and cabin-like elements, but you won't be roughing it. It's a very well maintained establishment.

There was also reliable, free Wi-Fi. It came in handy with cell reception being spotty in the area.

It's close to everything you'd want to see in the area. Franconia Notch State Park is nearby, as is the little town center of Franconia, which has a few eateries. We had dinner at the Mount Washington Hotel in Bretton Woods (highly recommended if you're looking for super-fine dining), which was about 30 minutes away from Stonybrook. Though the hotel offers breakfast, and it smelled great, we opted for Polly's Pancake Parlor just up the road in Sugar Hill, which is as locally colorful as you can get.

I highly recommend Stonybrook for travelers interested in a comfortable, low-cost option in the Franconia area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bechtelsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2010

stayed on sept.4th with friends on motorcycles very nice owner and a very nice place to stay after a long day on the bikes.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldwingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Harbor Islands, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The rooms were clean and spacious. The grounds were very nicely maintained with an indoor and an outdoor swimming pool. There are beautiful mountian views and a creek running through the property. The location is conveniently located near some of the White Mountains' best attractions. Just a short drive to the Flume Gorge, Echo Lake, and the Mt. Cannon tramway. This was a great place for the entire family (my wife, two young children) to use as a base for exploring the area. The make your own waffles was a pleasant way to get a quick bite to eat before a day of hiking. The staff was courteous and helpful from the moment I called to make a reservation, through check-in, and check out. I would recommend this motel to anyone wanting to explore the White Mountains area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Clipper City Corvette Club annual weekend at Stonybrook is always a flawless event,
Mike and his staff cater to any of our needs, and the lodge is a great meeting place for any large group.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferraro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
547 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

While the hotel room is a little dated as far as looks, this is still a comfortable place to stay. It is in a good location. The staff is very friendly. Nice view of Cannon Mountain.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acedaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
2.4 km away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
11.0 km away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
241 reviews
15.8 km away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#13 of 20 in Lincoln
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
146 reviews
1.5 km away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
168 reviews
2.7 km away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonybrook Motel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonybrook Motel & Lodge

Property: Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Address: 1098 Profile Rd, Franconia, NH 03580
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stonybrook Motel & Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted #1 "Best Base For Touring Franconia Notch" New England Travel Guide. Stonybrook is a four season motel nestled in the heart of the White Mountains in the quaint village of Franconia with breathtaking views bordered by a sparkling alpine stream. You'll enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools for year-round swimming,trout pond,game room and a cozy fireplace in our hand-timbered Lodge plus streamside picnic area with grills and winter iceskating. Only 2 miles to Cannon Mountain,Echo Lake and the Franconia Notch! Closest AAA motel to Cannon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Stonybrook Motel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonybrook Motel And Lodge
Stonybrook Hotel Franconia
Stonybrook Motel Franconia
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing