We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic place, highest score possible.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Glen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, highest score possible.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Staff is so friendly, the accommodations are lovely and the location is fantastic. We saw the other places to stay in the area and I think this is the best,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rottard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    73
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
545
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
north granby ct.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We just returned from our 1st of hopefully many visits to The Bernerhof Inn. Wonderfully inviting - the innkeepers are available at all times but give you your privacy as well - lovely attention to detail - our room was immaculate and very comfortable - breakfast was superb - great location too! - Thanks again - Karen and Jeff

Room Tip: Rooms are spaced apart nicely - If you are a light sleeper I would suggest staying upstairs only due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We rec'd a warm welcome by the owner's daughter on our arrival, but never had a chance to meet/see the owners during our overnight stay - a first for me at a B&B. The renovation of the guest rooms was very nicely done, still keeping the charm of a B&B. This was my third time staying here & the 1st time since it had been renovated. I must say that I prefer the former lobby & bar area with the more open, yet cozy places to simply lounge with a glass of wine. Breakfast was not really to our liking. The bacon and small fruit plate was good, but that was about it. No options were given, plates were simply placed in front of us. The woman who was serving did a good job of being pleasant and getting everyone their dishes, but this is the first B&B that I've stayed at where there was no real warmth, with the exception of our check-in. The Inn appeared to be about half full, based on the amount of people at breakfast. We more than likely won't return since there are numerous lodging options in this general area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneOlympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaLeonard, Manager at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Sorry it has taken us a so long to respond to your review June, first I would like to start by saying thank you for choosing to stay at The Bernerhof Inn and thank you for your review. We always welcome your honest and sincere feedback....we feel it helps us to do better at what we do.....having said that, I would like to apologize for not being present at the time of your stay. Our daughter Lauren was home for Christmas break, thankfully, when I became suddenly ill and was hospitalized. The Innkeeper is a very important part of your stay at a bed and breakfast.Inn and take our "job" seriously... we sincerely hope that you will give us another chance so that this time I get a chance to meet you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Returned to the Bernerhof for a holiday shopping trip and it was great. Most B&B's will open up a box of Enteman's and call it good, but not Len & and his daughter Missy. French toast, maple bacon, hand made scones, muffins and donuts! They make you feel right at home. Very convenient to shopping. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathanfarley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I have stayed several times at the Bernerhof and have not been back since the new owners took over. (My last stay was about 2007-ish.)

Let's start with the pros: Unique Inn, good location (a bit off the beaten path but within 10-15 mins of North Conway Ctr, good restaurants around), breakfast was lovely, the hotel staff and owners were very nice, cool to have Mac computers available for use. Nice to have coffee and tea available throughout the day too.

Cons: Cleanliness of bathrooms - the wall behind the bathroom door was covered in this huge, brown, dripping stain -- looked like coffee maybe? Beer? Eeeek, who knows. Pretty gross. Also, the bathrooms should also have been wiped down as part of the daily cleaning - they weren't. (For $183/night, I expect a clean bathroom and a refill of empty shampoo/bathsoap containers.)

Also, in a place with a jacuzzi tub in the room, I'd expect to get more than one towel per person available. If you used the jacuzzi at night, you'd be using your wet towel to dry off with for your morning shower. I'm sure if I asked for more, I would have been given them, but it seems like a no-brainer to have that in the room already.

Some other reviewers who mentioned how loud the heaters were are correct...and you cannot control the heat in the room. But, that comes with any old house, so I wouldn't see that as a con per se -- I just felt bad for the owners' heating bills as we had the windows open all night.

All in all, not a bad stay, but for almost $400 for two nights, I wonder if I'd be more impressed elsewhere. Hard for me to give much of an endorsement -- BUT, you could do a lot worse I guess!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BostonMeg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We just recently stayed again at the Bernerhof Inn, and once again it was fabulous. This time we stayed in The Madison Boulder room, very charming room with a very romantic two person jacuzzi tub. Must mention my husband and I are very early risers, and we were happy to see the complimentary coffee, being put out early. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcsweeney02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

This inn is a fantastic base for exploring the White Mountains. The innkeepers are amazingly welcoming and friendly, going out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful stay. The rooms are well-appointed, modern, clean, and comfortable. The location is ideal for exploring the area-- easy access to hiking trails, North Conway, etc.-- and the breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. Delicious! We absolutely loved this place and could not have been happier with our visit.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank getaway28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen
5.7 km away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
9.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
5.2 km away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
25.9 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 3 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
7.9 km away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 23 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 342 US Route 302, PO Box 240, Glen, Bartlett, NH 03838-6315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett > Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New - Electric Car Charging! Free dual station at our Bernherhof Inn Bed and Breakfast. 12 Rooms with all the modern amenities to include Wi-Fi, Apple Computers and Printers for Guests on each floor. Free use of IPADs. English style pub for guests. Excellent full hearty morning breakfast. Spa, walking/fitness trail and more! We now have electric car charging station! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernerhof Hotel Glen
Bernerhof Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing