We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
55
23
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
23
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrading postpancake breakfastseasonal sitesdog parkwifi hotspothampton beachseasonal campersplanned activitiesthe east coastquiet at nightlabor day weekendnice storeoff seasonnew hampshirewoodspavedhalloween
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 86 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2017

The friendliest campground we have ever been to! I've never met more welcoming people! There are not too many place that you can take your 140lb. dog and be greeted by many workers throughout your stay with treats in tow for him:-) Our site E14 was beyond perfect. I definitely think it's the best tenting site they have to offer. Everything is within walking distance around the campground so you don't have to drive. The little coffee stand in the morning is a great plus. The trading post has all the essentials you may need if you forgot to buy something. They have ice cream socials and pancake breakfast on certain days. Our friend dropped her purse by the garbage station and somebody was even kind enough to bring it to the trading post hoping for her return! The location is on point. Short distance to Hampton, Smuttynose and Throwback Brewery, cute town of Essex to name a few. There is a wonderful little farm stand on the same road that also offers ice cream with some being made from their crops. This was our second time back and we enjoyed it so much we booked another extended stay for this August and next July! Thank you for the wonderful experience Wakeda!

Room Tip: Tent site E14
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SamanthaB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campground, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

Dear Samantha,
This is so fantastic to hear, thank you very much!! We couldn't have asked for a better or more thorough review! Thanks for pointing out so many of the highlights and we couldn't be happier to hear that you've already made reservations for later this summer and 2018! We look forward to seeing you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Wakeda 7/12-7/16. It's a wonderfully maintained park with friendly staff. The sites are decent sized for the most part. They have a camp store that carries most basic items you might have forgotten to pack. They have an ice cream social on Saturdays. $5 for a large make your own sundae! There are a lot of seasonal sites so the campground is fairly quiet. This was our second trip there and we'll definitely be back

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BeckyE572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campground, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Dear Becky,
Thank you very much! We appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your return trip (and that you satisfied your sweet tooth)! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2017

Staff is great! Seasonal campers are nice and friendly. Everyone says "hello" when you walk by. Great for taking walks or bike rides. Pancake breakfast on Sundays. Close to the beach and not too far from Maine. Lots to do in the area. Playground for kids. Clean and quiet environment!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Roberta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campground, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Dear Roberta,
Thank you! We’re happy you enjoyed your time at Wakeda and appreciate this positive feedback! We hope you’ll visit us again the next time you’re camping in the area! Have a great rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2017

We just spent a week at Wakeda Campground and couldn't have been happier. We had noticed a large number of seasonals on the online map and had some concern due to the fact that at some campgrounds seasonals may look at transients as "invading their territory ". This was not the case at Wakeda! We met our neighbors and they were helpful and friendly. As you walk around the campground everyone says hello, and the staff are great. This is not the campground for those that want nonstop planned activities, but it is perfect for those that want a quiet, friendly, and clean place to return to after a day of enjoying the sites in the Portsmouth, Portland areas. We will be back!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campground, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Dear Bob,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us and that we’ll get to see you again in the future! We are very lucky to have fantastic staff and terrific seasonals – we’re glad that was your experience while you were here! We hope you have a wonderful summer and hope we’ll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2017

Ok I have to start with saying the campground "grounds" are very clean! The bathrooms not so much. I know the staff cleaned them on a daily basis, but more then one time most of the toilets were smeared with feces. There were a TON of children there running around, riding bikes, playing in the roads and not paying attention to people or cars. They have a 5MPH speed limit for cars, but nothing for the children zipping on the bikes up and down the road. My boyfriend got run into by a kid who was not paying attention, luckily no one was hurt, but if they had hit me it could have been detrimental. Unfortunately this is all bad parenting letting your children do anything they want and the park not making parents accountable for their kids. Kids in the bathroom playing with the water in the sinks making a mess, when an adult walks in they run, so they know it is wrong. There were no paper towels to clean the mess after they left. It is very quiet at night so sleeping was great! The roads in and out are confusing make sure to take a map. There is no swimming pool, although some things kinda indicate there is!

Room Tip: Site E18 is a great spot - bring a rake for pine needles.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campground, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Dear Jessica,
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. As you mentioned, our bathrooms are cleaned every day and are checked routinely throughout the day, so we’re very disappointed to hear that you found them in the state you describe. In the future, we encourage you to alert any member of our staff about any issues, including children acting inappropriately, and we will address them immediately! We pride ourselves on the cleanliness and peacefulness of our entire property and endeavor for that to be the experience that all our campers enjoy. We hope you’ll visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews