We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabrook Inn(Seabrook)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern(Hampton)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$194
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Falls Inn(Hampton Falls)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
53
21
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
21
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrading postpancake breakfastcamp storeseasonal sitesdog parkhampton beachseasonal campersplanned activitiesthe east coastquiet at nightgeneral storelabor day weekendfull hookupsoff seasonnew hampshirewoodspaved
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 82 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2017

This is a really nice place in the woods. It's pretty large, and the map is a little confusing, but like anything else, after a day you kind of figured it out.

Lots of seasonal spots here, which I haven't had too much exposure to. Everything was really clean, and the general store was well stocked with things to do and had essentials if you needed them.

Located in a really cool area, and it's nice and close to Hampton Beach, which we took advantage of.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjkeefe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Dear Ben,
This is great to hear! We appreciate the positive feedback and hope you'll visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017

Our stay was for a week in early August 2017. First the pros: This campground is very clean, conveniently located, the sites are well laid out and properly equipped with full hook-ups and the staff are friendly and engaging. And now for the cons: No WiFi (save for a weak signal in the camp store), no cable (and only OTA stations are a few public TV channels - verified with other campers) and NO ACTIVITIES. No BINGO, no hay rides, no pot luck dinners - nothing to bring folks together. And one more MAJOR negative that the campground should inform campers of - upon returning from our trip we spent three hours removing tree sap from our SUV. It was properly not totally avoidable without a car cover (which a number of cars of seasonal campers were using) as the campground is HEAVILY wooded, but if we were aware of the problem we could have been more selective with where we parked. All in all - not bad enough to want a refund but certainly not a place we will visit again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Dear David,
Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness and upkeep of our property and the quality of our staff, so we're thrilled to hear your experience with all of the above was positive. With regard to the activities, you're correct we do not schedule a lot during the week. Due to our proximity to Hampton Beach and the vast array of events taking place in the area, like the weekly fireworks, Children's Festival, Sand Sculpture Contest, American Independence Festival, music and theater events at Prescott Park, etc., we find that a lot of our campers spend a significant amount of time off property exploring the area. We do have ice cream socials every Saturday night and a pancake breakfast on Sunday mornings. We also host a monthly pot luck and music event, as well as special themed weekends - 4th of July, Christmas in July and Halloween. We're sorry to hear about your frustration with the tree sap, we know that can be challenging (hand sanitizer works wonders)! As we say in our advertising and on our website, our moto is "Family camping in the pines", so we do our best to get the word out! We do have a few sites located in more open areas, so if you do decide to try us again sometime in the future you can always request those! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I camp alot and have been to every state on the east coast camping. This campground was very nice. The lot we got was on the small side. But it was well kept. Proximity to the beach was great but like a reviewer said it's ice cold. The campground had alot of cool features like a mini golf course and a coffee shop. The staff was very friendly and corrected the issues we had with our reservation (someone spelled my last name wrong on there end) but all in all it was a great time. My wife and I have no complaints the other campers were very nice as well including the seasonals. One thing I'd suggest is a pool. My wife and I never would of left the campground all weekend. And as far as another review stating nobody was manning the gate to enter and exit, we seen an older man there every day.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank ChrisSmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Dear Chris,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and received a friendly welcome from the other campers staying here. Yes, the ocean is quite "brisk"! ;-) If you're back in the area in September give it another try - it's had the entire summer to warm up a bit! Thanks again for your feedback and for pointing out our security staff! Have a great rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2017

The friendliest campground we have ever been to! I've never met more welcoming people! There are not too many place that you can take your 140lb. dog and be greeted by many workers throughout your stay with treats in tow for him:-) Our site E14 was beyond perfect. I definitely think it's the best tenting site they have to offer. Everything is within walking distance around the campground so you don't have to drive. The little coffee stand in the morning is a great plus. The trading post has all the essentials you may need if you forgot to buy something. They have ice cream socials and pancake breakfast on certain days. Our friend dropped her purse by the garbage station and somebody was even kind enough to bring it to the trading post hoping for her return! The location is on point. Short distance to Hampton, Smuttynose and Throwback Brewery, cute town of Essex to name a few. There is a wonderful little farm stand on the same road that also offers ice cream with some being made from their crops. This was our second time back and we enjoyed it so much we booked another extended stay for this August and next July! Thank you for the wonderful experience Wakeda!

Room Tip: Tent site E14
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SamanthaB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campground, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

Dear Samantha,
This is so fantastic to hear, thank you very much!! We couldn't have asked for a better or more thorough review! Thanks for pointing out so many of the highlights and we couldn't be happier to hear that you've already made reservations for later this summer and 2018! We look forward to seeing you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Wakeda 7/12-7/16. It's a wonderfully maintained park with friendly staff. The sites are decent sized for the most part. They have a camp store that carries most basic items you might have forgotten to pack. They have an ice cream social on Saturdays. $5 for a large make your own sundae! There are a lot of seasonal sites so the campground is fairly quiet. This was our second trip there and we'll definitely be back

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Becky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campground, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Dear Becky,
Thank you very much! We appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your return trip (and that you satisfied your sweet tooth)! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews