We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great side trip from the Lake or when driving in the area

This is a local farm stand type business in the area for many years. It was ahead of its time and... read more

Reviewed May 28, 2014
Jane M
,
Lexington, Texas, United States
must visit the farm when at the lake

My teen son and daughter love to drive up and choose goodies from the farm store. We have even... read more

Reviewed October 14, 2013
beachgirlybm
,
York, Maine
Read all 13 reviews
  
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
9
2
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
2
0
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2016

The nicest couple ever tried to make a unique camping like dining experience in their farm. Food was good ol' down home BBQ but they struggled with lack of emenities up at the dining location plus lots of flying insects, etc typical to NH woods but not enjoyed when out for dinner.

Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2015

Have visited every year when in the area, and bought fresh seasonal produce, cheese and dairy products, as well as baked goods. Great local, small and fresh shopping spot, reasonable prices.

Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2014

Sadly the Longhaul has closed and the property is for sale. Its too bad, as it was a great place, but the economy has caused many good businesses to close- no specific knowledge of what happened in this case.

1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a local farm stand type business in the area for many years. It was ahead of its time and continues to be a real asset to the local area offering good organic foods and various social gatherings. They grow a lot of crops there as well as the retail operation. Holderness is fortunate to have it. Really good pies (try the Rhubarb) and other specialty foods. Help is friendly and its a good country experience if you hail form the busy city life. Best thing to do when you're at the Lakes on a rainy day and you don't fish !

1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My teen son and daughter love to drive up and choose goodies from the farm store. We have
even taken the time, in the past, for a relaxing sit on the porch or a game of checkers. Love the fresh produce, corn is a splurge due to price, but very good. It can be a bit pricey, which is to bad considering many things are being brought in right on the premises. You do pay for the experience.

1  Thank beachgirlybm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Imagine driving up a dirt road and seeing the welcoming smoke from a wood stove atop a cozy little pavillion nestled amongst the trees. Then, your quest for a comfort-food Saturday lunch reveals homemade shepherd's pie and a tasty salad - all made with locally sourced ingredients and perfectly seasoned with fresh herbs....

Welcome to Longhaul Farm! This was our exact experience when we stopped here in the midst of a relaxing weekend getaway to Squam Lake. Not only was the food and atmosphere absolutely delightful, we thoroughly enjoyed hanging out and chatting with our hosts, Lorri and Lenny. It is the kind of place where as soon as you leave, you can't wait to come back. We're looking forward to taking in some live music and a Sunday summer barbecue, or maybe returning for some snowshoeing in the trails out back. Longhaul is just a perfect place to kick back and escape the usual. And Tucker the sheepdog is a sweetheart!

2  Thank roadtrippin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lorri and H.O. really thought they pulled a fast one on us. We planned on having our wedding there and they totally took advantage of us. They led us to believe that they could meet any budget and that it would be cheaper to have our wedding on their farm than other places because they grow a lot of our their food and do the catering. YEAH RIGHT. We gave them a deposit and then they started cancelling meetings with us, not responding to emails or phone calls, and not providing a detailed cost breakdown of the event. (To be fair, I should have demanded this before we gave them the deposit, but I guess I was so excited that it made me a little naive.)

When I finally demanded the budget, it was nearly $12,000...for a wedding on a farm that has barely any experience hosting weddings. And that only included the food and the venue...not the band, photographer, cake, tent, dress, etc. When we cancelled, only 3 weeks after giving them our deposit, they basically made up excuses why they couldn't pay us and ignored us until we took them to court and ended up with a ruling in our favor...3 days before the wedding.

My advice? Don't plan you're wedding here. They come off at first as really nice, laid back hippies, but I don't think they ever planned on paying us back if we hadn't taken them to court. A total wedding nightmare, a mediocre location, and two business people that have no idea what they are doing. I hope they don't do this to anyone again, and that's the only reason I'm sharing this story.

7  Thank Depprulz603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SquamLake, Owner at Longhaul Farm at Squam Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Oh... How silly it has been not to get into Trip Advisor ....earlier to respond to this "love mail" from the past! We all so understand that there are always two sides to every story! Sadly this young couple was excited to reserve a date and then.... begin talking details after the fact. No one really understands what the expense side of a private gig is until they start to take a look at the lay out of all items rented and extra details they wish to add on... Due to the fact that we are a Farm we have found many folks are really feeling the cost should be cheap and inexpensive. We offer great food from local sources and if... extras need to be rented as in tents, tables, chairs, linens and other assorted gear the price tag of course goes up along as the list of add ons grows. We have begun to realize we are really better fit for smaller type events when the extra tents and set up are not required. Unless people really understand that all those add ons cost $. As a side note it is so important to note that this young couple is not alone in this ordeal. We too as a small independent business striving to eek out an existence entertaining good people for their private events. (Heck.... I haven't ever been called a hippee !!! I kind of like that concept! ) They should not feel they were neglected deliberately. We plow and sand in the winter months and we began talking with them right in the middle of our busy snow season. Even though they were told that the deposit was non refundable and we made plans to return the deposit when the lean months were upon us! (A bad decision on our part) A gentlemen's agreement was made without visiting any judge .... and we are well on the other side of the adventure! We wish them both well and understand that they opted to hold their event at their own home to make it work with the budget that they had to work with! Every story has two sides...The key is to use each experience as a learning curve!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2012

There's no cooking in our cottage ('camp') on Saturday night anymore because everyone wants to go to Longhaul for Len and Lorri's fabulous BBQ. The ribs are ridiculously good, as is all the food. But the setting is well beyond 'ridiculously good'. Len's simple, gorgeous, post-and-beam pavilion makes it feel as if your cook-out has just gone 'five star'. It's elegant, actually. Elegance in the woods with the nicest people you can imagine and hosts that take their hospitality seriously.

3  Thank debtall289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2012

While driving in Holderness, NH we spotted a sign advertising a "Four Carrot dinner". Sounded interesting and we enjoy eating local foods-so we went and so glad we did!! The dinner was excellent-wonderful food-nice presentation and delightful hosts. The roast chicken was moist and tender, the veggies nicely prepared and the yummy dessert of raspberry shortcake topped off a real treat! Hope to try out their Sat evening bbq soon.

4  Thank ilikedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Wonderful market of local produce and other local products like cheese and ice cream and homemade baked goods. I like to shop there when we stay at the lake.

They also have a terrific weekend brunch and evening bbq in a outstanding farm setting that is worth its weight in gold. The food is all local and absolutely delicious.

2  Thank oyyveyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews