We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't get buch better”
Review of Inn at Ellis River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Ellis River
Ranked #1 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2007

My wife and I went here for our second wedding anniversary. We got engaged in Jackson in 2004 (that time we stayed at the Snow Flake Inn). This was a great B&B. The breakfast was out of this world. The location is also great, it's across the street from a great Irish bar called the Shannon Door (great late night pizza and live music). We stumbled home from there every night. For our anniversary diner we went to the Mountain Washington Hotel & Resort. If you want a meal to remember for a life time then this is the place to go. It's fine dinning so you have to dress accordingly. The whole place brought us back 100 years to a time of ritz and glamour. It's a short drive down 302 from the Inn. Other good places to eat are the Wildcat Tavern and the 1876 house in North Conway. Try to stay out of the Conway area as much as possible, there is a lot of traffic.

While at the Inn we went to Mt. Washington and hiked a bit. Ask for the Inn's trail mix, its out of this world. We'll be back to the Inn on our semi-annual return trip in 2009.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AWandering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Ellis River
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2007

My husband and I stayed here for the first two nights of our second honeymoon. It was perfect! This inn is next to a river with a great view of mountains. We stayed in the Paradise Falls room. It was great. The jacuzzi tub was very relaxing and the view from the balcony was wonderful. The daily breakfast was delicious. Lyn, Frank and Christine were wonderful hosts. Our stay was wonderful and very romantic and could not have been better. We will definately go back here again. I only wish we lived closer so we could visit more frequently.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rosesandlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

This place was really nice. Our room was at the back of the inn, had a nice balcony with a view of the river, it was nice to sit on and listen to the water flow. Really relaxing place. very comfy bed, really friendly folks running the place.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kellscottkait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

We have stayed at the inn twice and both times were wonderful. Our first stay was for our honeymoon and the room (Sparkling Cascade, separate from the main building) was very well appointed complete with fireplace and jacuzzi. The bed provided some of the most comfortable nights sleep we have ever had. The honeymoon package was also a nice touch with chocolate covered strawbeeries and champagne delivered to our room, and a full picnic lunch that we were able to take with us on a hike to see some of the local waterfalls in and around Jackson.

Our second stay was just as nice. We came in the winter for some cross-country skiing at the local nordic center in Jackson and the nordic center at Great Glen Trails (both fantastic skiing). We stayed in one of the rooms in the main building (Crystal Cascade). Again, our stay was very enjoyable and Lyn and Frank went the extra mile to make us feel welcome.

As many people have mentioned, the food is exceptional (my wife's favorite is the Rum Raisin French Toast). Each morning there are fresh muffins or coffee cake or other sweet breads and plenty of afternoon snacks to have with coffee or tea. The hot cider we had in the winter was the perfect end to a day of cross country skiing.

We love staying in the Inn at Ellis River and plan to return whenever we can.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DanielAllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2007

We recently stayed at The Inn At Ellis River in Jackson, New Hampshire. What a wonderful surprise! We have stayed at many B and B's over the years, with Inn At Thorn Hill and Captain Lord Mansion as our favorites. This Inn is definitely in our top five. Christine, Lynn, and Frank were gracious hosts. The inn is immaculate. We stayed in the Glen Falls room. It boasted a queen size bed and fireplace. The little details were very obvious. The towels were the softest we had ever felt and the sheets were a very high thread count. Breakfasts were to die for. Hot muffins, wonderful omelets, superb french toast, and all the fixings. The property is tucked away from the main road and very, very romantic. BRAVO to the hosts! We will return this winter.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hjk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2007

Lyn and Frank are gracious hosts who want to pamper their guests. I mentioned that I like fruit at breakfast when we arrived, so Lyn had a bowl of a wonderful combination of finely cut fresh fruit for me every morning. Then there was the muffin, scone, and bread selection, followed by a choice of two hot, creative entrees.Oh, the hot coffee! Lyn had the recipe for the oatmeal muffins waiting for me as we checked out. There are so many things to do in the Jackson area so we never had the time to swim in the lovely pool. We walked "the loop" every morning before breakfast. Lyn and Frank have so many ideas ready for local excursions. Catherine and Lurene, who assist Lyn and Frank, are warm, cheerful, and very helpful. The area near Jackson is beautiful. We hiked and on Saturday, we went to the Jackson farmer's market, where folks had different artisan creations as well as produce. The shops are interesting, and there are good restaurants, including the best pizza across the street from the Inn at Ellis River.
We enjoyed a suite with a fireplace and jacuzzi. The room was magically clean when we returned after activities. Afternoon tea and coffee are available, and the cookies are yummy!
I imagine that winter in Jackson is wonderful for many activities, and one can return to the special charm and cozy warmth of the Inn at Ellis River.
ENJOY!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Exciting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.1 km away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.8 km away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
833 reviews
0.1 km away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0.9 km away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 11 in Jackson
587 reviews
23.3 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Ellis River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ellis River

Address: 17 Harriman Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range: $185 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Ellis River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the quaint town of Jackson, the Inn at Ellis River offers elegant, country lodging for you in the NH White Mountains. Whether celebrating a special occasion or looking for the perfect vacation getaway, our Inn offers ideal accommodations. We offer standard rooms and suites, most with fireplaces, many with Jacuzzis and balconies, some with direct views of the Ellis River. Each room has a view of the pool or the picturesque mountains near the inn. Enjoy the nearby waterfalls, trout streams and hiking trails to Mt. Washington. In the winter enjoy many cross country and alpine ski opportunities in the immediate and nearby ski locations. Voted "Best Bed & Breakfast" in The Conway Daily Sun's "100 Best of 2017 Mount Washington Valley". Reserve today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Ellis River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Ellis River Hotel Jackson
Inn At Ellis River Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing