We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits all the right notes”
Review of Inn at Ellis River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Ellis River
Ranked #1 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed recently at the Inn while doing some skiing in the region. We are return visitors, finding the Inn a nice compromise between a full service establishment and a small B&B. The owners are convivial without being in your face (which in some B&Bs can be annoying if you really want to be on your own).
Quiet, comfortable lodgings are the order of the day. Convenient to the hubbub of North Conway of that's your thing. More convenient to Mount Washington attractions. Breakfasts are excellent. The establishment is over ten years old at this point and may require some upgrades in the long term, but is still in very good shape.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoff66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

My husband and I loved this place. Great views and rooms! Service was outstanding and so was the food. We would love to come back to this place year after year!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlanta1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed at the Inn for 4 nights, Feb 28, 2012. Inn keepers very pleasant,and helpful.
Room clean and comfortable. Sitting rooms with fireplaces great place to relax after a long day of cross country sking
Breakfast was a feast especially liked baked scones cookies and breads. Convenient location, near many restraurants and ski facilities

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobo1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My spouse and I stayed in the Franconia Falls room. It was a pleasant, simple and quiet room. It has a private entry (though it is a sliding glass door entry so you cannot leave without locking it.)

We did have an issue with a propane smell from the fireplace. After speaking with a member of the staff we were moved to Bridal Veil Falls. The fireplace was fixed promptly and we were able to sleep in our original room the next night without an issue. I certainly appreciate Christine’s hospitality. She apologized for the night before and reassured us that things would be OK and made right. I understand that she does not make the big decisions but she really connects with the guests and her reassurance made everything MUCH better for us. My conversation with the staff member the night before left me a bit upset but Christine treated us as highly respected guests and it is only because of HER reassurance and attention that made us overlook the mishap.

I highly recommend a stay at Inn at Ellis River. I am mostly impressed with their immaculate housekeeping, the public rooms and guest rooms were spotless. Their breakfast was EXCELLENT: 2 options to pick from along with bacon and homemade granola, so delicious!
The fireplace in the main lobby was very relaxing and cozy: a wonderful ambiance. I enjoyed the game room & pub as well: very nice for pool, card games and checkers. I can see this being an even more enjoyable room to gather if traveling as a group.

Thank you for an enjoyable stay and I thank Christine in particular for making our stay a nice one!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and apologize that you experienced an odor of propane when you lighted the gas fireplace in your room. There had been no odor when the room was checked prior to your arrival, and unfortunately it was not possible to have a repair person come so late at night. Fortunately we could move you to a similar room immediately across the hall for the remainder of the night, and we tried to apologize for the inconvenience by reducing your bill. Our service person arrived early in the morning to check the fireplace and we were happy that we could move you back to the room you had originally booked right after you had finished your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our breakfasts and the inn’s amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Returned again this year for our annual ski/snowshoe get away. We found this wonderful retreat last year and couldn't wait to return. This Inn is just a walk away from the Jackson Cross Country Ski Center. The Inn is also close to excellent restuarants.

We really enjoy our stay at this Inn. The Innkeepers/owners(Frank & Lynn) couldn't be more welcoming. The Inn bedrooms are all large and the Inn also has several rooms on the main floor for relaxing including a room with a hot tub, a room with comfortable chairs for reading and puzzle making. They also have a lounge with a bar, pool table, fireplace, dart board, games, etc.

I look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raisinbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The problem is when my expectations are unrealistic....
TI@ER was a nice spot, but after reading nothing but 5-star reviews, I expected the best thing sliced bread,
It was fine, We booked a night in Paradise Falls room. It was comfy, warm and clean. The jacuzzi in the bathroom was a nice touch. A small sitting room added some comfort.
The staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was OK, but a 5-star rating, in my book anyway, means something above all others.
This wasn't.
The downside, It really isn't in that scenic a spot. Driveway is next to gas station, just off the road. Wifi didn't work often, problems with the router. Expensive,

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newzmanpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you for your comments. We wish that the room you really wanted, Pearl Cascade, had been available, because we think you would have enjoyed it, but unfortunately it was booked for the night of your stay. We do strive to be the best thing next to the sliced bread that comes from our favorite artisan bakery, and we regret we were not able to meet all your expectations. We apologize that we were having some difficulty with the free WiFi we provide for guests, which sometimes can be a challenge with a rural provider and century old building. We try our best to show accurately the surroundings of the inn on our website. The inn is located next to the river at the end of a 300 foot driveway which begins by the gas station. The surroundings are a village context, so other buildings are visible from the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We spent a weekend at the Inn at Ellis River. It is a very "romantic" inn, with lots of pillows and flowers and cute note for couples, which is not my style, but they do a lovely job of it, and if this is your taste, you will absolutely love it. That said, the inn-keepers - and everyone who works there - were so friendly and warm, and the place is so spotlessly clean (which is my first criteria in a place to stay) and well-kept, that I would certainly return. It's also a very nice size, small enough to not be impersonal, but big enough that it is an inn, not a little B&B. The food is very good, there is good tea and coffee available at any time. And it is nice and warm, even when the outside temp is around 0! Rooms are not big, but certainly not the smallest for an older inn, and there are many nice public areas, too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We know that guests preferences differ, and appreciate your generous review even though the inn did not offer the style of decor you most enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.8 km away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
871 reviews
1.1 km away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.1 km away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0.9 km away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 11 in Jackson
591 reviews
1.2 km away
Carter Notch Inn
Carter Notch Inn
#3 of 11 in Jackson
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Ellis River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ellis River

Address: 17 Harriman Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range: $193 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Ellis River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the quaint town of Jackson, the Inn at Ellis River offers elegant, country lodging for you in the NH White Mountains. Whether celebrating a special occasion or looking for the perfect vacation getaway, our Inn offers ideal accommodations. We offer standard rooms and suites, most with fireplaces, many with Jacuzzis and balconies, some with direct views of the Ellis River. Each room has a view of the pool or the picturesque mountains near the inn. Enjoy the nearby waterfalls, trout streams and hiking trails to Mt. Washington. In the winter enjoy many cross country and alpine ski opportunities in the immediate and nearby ski locations. Voted "Best Bed & Breakfast" in The Conway Daily Sun's "100 Best of 2017 Mount Washington Valley". Reserve today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Inn at Ellis River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Ellis River Hotel Jackson
Inn At Ellis River Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing