We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn in need of TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The inn is in a gorgeous setting, sits above the village of Jackson. You can actually ski down to the village. The property is beautiful, rooms are clean, but needs some updating and maybe some help with the staff. The woman at the front desk is very gruff and unfriendly, did not see her simile once! Our bartender had the worst smokers cough, our waitress had to tell us her whole life story. Three elderly gentlemen sit in the dining room all day--are they the owners? Although this is a truly beautiful old historic inn, would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Great for young families.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

We try to stay at historic properties whenever we can, and the Eagle Mountain House was on our list the next time we visited the North Conway/Jackson area. So our recent stay on a Friday and Saturday in January was okay, but not stellar. The overall building is in good shape; owners and staff seem to be taking care of this 100 year old girl. But the number 1 issue that unfortunately cannot be solved is noise. With conference groups, and "active" types, and kids kids kids - it is impossible to spend any down time in your room without constant banging of doors, thumping of walls and floors, and everyone else's conversation like they are in your room with you. I had to hear the merits of some guy's long underwear while we were getting ready to go to dinner . . .(sigh). Really wish people would respect the age of this hotel, and "think" a little before treating it so hard, slamming doors and banging ski equipment against every wall. The general public is generally ignorant of the abuse they exact on places they stay.
On a previous visit, we enjoyed a drink in the cozy bar of the EMH, but this trip the conference group booking had taken over the bar, so we checked out the Shovel Handle Pub at the Whitney up and over the hill, and it was great; inviting barn turned tavern with live mellow music and fireplaces glowing.
So we are glad the Eagle Mountain House is still operating after all these years, but I think we'll seek quieter lodgings next winter.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nightonthetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My Fiancée and I spent the Nov. 26 weekend at the Eagle Mountain House and let me tell you it was undoubtedly one of the very best times we ever had. It was my fiancée’s birthday and I booked the “Fall in Love Again” package and according to her “it was the best gift I had ever given her”. And it seriously was too, everything was just so perfect: right from the reservation process which was very easy and the lady on the phone explained everything very nicely to me. What made it so nice was everything was just like what was explained while making the reservation. Also they were very adjusting as we needed little adjustments in the standard package which they were completely willing and happy to do. I booked about two weeks before and they upgraded us to a better room (with Mountain View) free of cost and before I even asked for it. Now to the visit, it started so wonderfully, the location in the quiet little village just next to the little stream river was breathtakingly beautiful. We were greeted by Greg and he was very cordial and explained everything very nicely to us. The room was very cozy and in accordance with the overall décor which was traditional old-school American and we just loved it (from the fire-places to the study to the ancient lift). The room was very clean and had everything we expected. The dinner was very nice with Erin (I hope I remember the name correctly) was very cheerful and made the experience all the better. The gaming, health and hot tub area was very nice, personal and clean. The next morning we had a complimentary breakfast which turned out to be a very pleasant surprise in terms of variety of options as well as quality of service and ambiance. Overall, this was a weekend which we both didn’t want to end and all thanks to Eagle Mountain House for making it such a special experience for us. Will be back very very soon!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maninder g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel over the Christmas holidays the staff are so friendly and helpful and could not do enough to make our stay fell like home from home. The hotel is full of history with charm and character.
The food both in the restaurant and in the tavern was excellent and good value. Rooms were clean and cosy with the creaky floor boards adding to it's charm.
We could not fault this hotel and it's loyal staff and will make a further visit from the UK this Christmas to this family friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Front of Hotel to get Mountain views but most of the rooms have views of the country side.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 358Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Always wanted to stay in this historic hotel, and the snowless January brought on a special that we couldn't pass up. Enough snow on the ground to make a pretty setting, but not enough to bring the crowds of skiers. Loaded with grace and charm, this grand old hotel was wonderful. The restaurant was elegant and the food was delightful, the Wednesday night buffet a great buy. true, This is not the place for someone who needs Jacuzzi tubs and marble vanities, but if you enjoy the special feeling of a historic hotel, you must visit this one.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Old style mansion-hotel, rich with history. Not fancy, but nice ambiance. Never seems very busy. There is a kids game room. No pool and hot tub is fair at best, with tiny locker room. No other standard amenities - but nice views and very authentic old new england inn. Huge wrap around porch with view of mountains. Excellent wireless access. No phones in rooms. Roaring fire in large lobby is cozy and welcoming. Rather expensive restaurant with average fare. Package deals offered this year were reasonable. Tiny bar (4 stools!) again - mostly about the ambiance, not the actual service. Golfers like it for good course attached. In the mountains in Jackson, kind of adds to the ambiance... entire place being sold and don't know what will happen in the future. We had an annual December trip with family for years but will no longer have access to owner's special pricing, so our tradition will most likely change.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front of hotel for mountain view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zacsmimi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Although a good price, we were not clearly informed that this was a basement room. Staff not at all polite.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not a basement room.
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.7 km away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
1.1 km away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
834 reviews
1.2 km away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
310 reviews
0.4 km away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
504 reviews
23.2 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Address: 179 Carter Notch Rd, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: $113 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional New England lodging in the heart of the White Mountains since 1879. This Historic Hotel of America, listed on the National Trust for Historic Preservation, was restored as a historic country inn in 1986. Family friendly and uncrowded. An all-season destination surrounded by the nearly 800,000 acre White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Hotel Jackson
Eagle Mountain House And Golf Club
Eagle Mountain Hotel
Eagle Mountain Resort
Eagle Mountain Jackson
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing