We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Good Room, Great Breaskfast”
Review of The Wentworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wentworth
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Clean and tidy with a good breaskfast. A little dated but adds to the character of the hotel and building. Good location for what there is to do around jackson in the evening. Hotel bar had no atmosphere (could do with some music as everyone was whispering) but the staff were friendly

We went for a walk up the road for food at the Thompson House eatery (fantastic) and then popped accross the road to the Shanon door pub and a live band was playing ,which was good and they do some crazy offer on pizza after 9pm but cant remember the details.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebAndNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Thank you for your review of The Wentworth. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and also the Thompson House and the Shannon Door which are both great locations in Jackson and are part of what makes Jackson a great village to visit. In regards to our lounge, it really is not the hot spot of Jackson midweek - although on weekends we do have a good crowd in there as we do have live piano both Friday and Saturday evenings. Thank you again for your review and we hope that if you are back in this area again we will be able to welcome you once again to The Wentworth.
Sincerely, Ellie Koeppel. Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
There are newer reviews for The Wentworth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

We have stayed 3 times in the last year and a half, including Thanksgiving Day ~ and have had an extremely wonderful time, each time. We love it! Being an Aries, I am very selective in everything that surrounds my life and have only praise for The Wentworth. History, Ambiance, Pristine accommodations and wonderful, delicious, creative cuisine. The staff is friendly, but has a perfect mix of professionalism and always knowledgeable. The owners are just lovely people and they know how to present their Country Inn. You can tell they love to be there, too!

We have stayed in many country inns and B & B's and there have been some really nice ones - but always come with a trade-off. Not here - this has it all.

Room Tip: Depends upon what you are looking for - This place is lovely through and through.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzeQ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Thank you so much for your loyalty to our hotel and for this review which will be shared with all of our staff so that they may be recognized for their efforts. We love what we do and just want to make The Wentworth better each day. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely, Ellie Koeppel, Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Top quality food; ambiance; and service. Suite, with a great jacuzzi and three in-room televisions (including one in the bathroom above the jacuzzi) was spacious and decadent! Get their package with dinner and breakfast. You won't be sorry! MLF, Holderness, NH

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelReine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at The Wentworth. It is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely, Ellie Koeppel, Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My husband and I recently celebrated our 11th Wedding Anniversary in Jackson, NH and had a wonderful experience while staying at the Wentworth Inn. This very elegant but country inn was just what we needed. It was private, romantic and very peaceful. We stayed in room 409 Arden Suites. With our own outdoor hot tub we really didn't leave the room much. The bed was comfortable and with the fireplace just in front of us it was so romantic. We purchase the package weekend, which included dinner and breakfast! The breakfast was very good with a continental buffett and cook to order breakfast from the menu. Now the 5 course dinner was truly amazing the chef is outstanding!!! From the beef,duck,lamb to the seafood everything was fantastic!! We had the Chocolate bomb for dessert and it was the "Bomb"!!! I would recommend the Wentworth Inn to anyone looking to get away from the kids or to celebrate something special!! We will def. go back. There were some children there but I'm not sure I would take my kids there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannern34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Wentworth at least one weekend a year for the past 20 years. And have never had a disappointment. The food is always fresh and delicious with an interesting special at every breakfast and dinner. The chocolate bomb for desert it is a treat for chocolate lovers . The staff is very attentive and well informed of events and things to do in the area i.e. cross country skiing , snowshoeing, hiking, fairs,etc they make excellent and accurate recommendations. The inn is kept immaculately clean and the owner Fritz is always around making sure everyone's stay is the best that it can be. We have introduced the Wentworth to many friends and family and none have been disappointed they have made the Wentworth a regular visiting destination during any of the 4 seasons.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramponip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you so much for everything, your review, your loyalty to our hotel and for your recommendation of our hotel to your friends and family. Fritz and I and our entire staff look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely, Ellie Koeppel. Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We spent three nights in the main inn. The room, which had been recently renovated, while small was nice. We have visited the inn before but stayed in one of the suites. While I prefer the suite and the suite amenities, particularly the hot tub, I enjoyed staying in the main inn. The bed was comfy and the room rate was very reasonable. We enjoyed a full breakfast in the inn's dining room each morning and had dinner one evening. Great menu, great food and the staff is friendly and very kind. Some great restaurants nearby and within walking distance....try Thompson's, you won't be disappointed. For a casual meal, try the Red Parka, a short car ride away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you so much for your nice review of The Wentworth and I was pleased to read that while you normally stay in our deluxe suites you enjoyed your stay in our main inn also. We have just completed a renovation in the main inn rooms with new carpet, bedding and updated bathrooms so it is rewarding to read that our efforts are appreciated. I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining with us and also appreciate the mention of two of our favorite local restaurants. The Thompson House is a gem and the Red Parker is a local favorite with great music and pub food.
Again, thank you very much for your feedback and I hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes, Ellie Koeppel. Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the beautiful Wentworth Inn in Jackson, New Hampshire.
Our week included the fantastic New Year celebrations which was enjoyed by all in our group.
We have visited the Wentworth on a number of occasions but this was by far our favourite.
To all those employed at the Wentworth thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.
It was a great place to celebrate New Year with our good friends from the UK and Canada

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southerner2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

I appreciate so much your nice review and your many visits to The Wentworth. This New Years Eve celebration was a great success, we had a new band which really livened things up and for us it was a great compliment to see all of our guests enjoying themselves and ringing in the New Year in style. Your kind words will be shared with all of our staff so that they may be recognized for their efforts. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Sincerely, Ellie Koeppel, Owner and Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.6 km away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.6 km away
Lodge at Jackson Village
13.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
23.9 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,610 reviews
1.1 km away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wentworth

Address: 1 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box M, Jackson, NH 03846-4208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: $166 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wentworth 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the majestic White Mountains of Jackson, New Hampshire, The Wentworth is a charming, 50-room inn within close proximity to cross country skiing, a stunning golf course and an abundance of year-round, outdoor activities. Surrounded by the beauty of nature, this picturesque inn in Jackson, NH, enjoys a unique position among New Hampshire hotels. Our idyllic setting provides a temporary escape from life’s everyday stresses and allows guests the freedom to reconnect, rediscover, and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wentworth Hotel Jackson
The Wentworth Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing