We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot, cute amenities, service somewhat lacking for the price.”
Review of The Naswa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Naswa Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We were very pleased when we arrived. Being just around the corner for Weirs Beach, but just far enough to allow a mostly quiet stay. Check-in was quick and painless. We opted to stay in one if their cottages. While this cottage was not directly on the water, it was a very close convenient walk to the beach. They have a corse sand beach.. Not huge, but large enough. They provide many lounge chairs, kayaks and paddle boats and no charge. You are however required to sign a liability waiver to use the water craft. You are required to step down about a foot into the lake. The beach does not grade into the water.
They also offer complimentary boat rides around Governors Island on the weekends which is a great perk. Limited Space means sign up early!
There is a beach bar and grill that is very popular and pulls boaters in from all over the lake. Eating which your feet in the sand, or having a drink sitting on you chair, IN the water is not to be missed. The salads are large, fresh ad delicious.

The cottage was a little dated, but full of charm. With a kitchenette including a fridge, we saved some money preparing food in the cottage. There was even a flat screen on the wall with cable. We only saw housekeeping once in three days and all they did was change trash and towels.


Fir $250 a night, I was surprised There is no complimentary coffee.

There is no designated smoking area on the beach.

There is no adults only beach area.

Overall a decent place, but they may b nicer available for the money if you stay a little further away from the strip.

Room Tip: Shoot for the cottages that are on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeisureDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

This was our 2nd time staying at the Naswa. We enjoyed our stay last year so wanted to go again this year. Its a great place to get away and relax for a few days. We stayed in the queen view rooms in the Inn across the street and they are very spacious and quiet. Each room has a balcony on th front with a view of the lake. We went to the Nazbar the first day and met our friends and their two kids there. The kids can play in the lake while you enjoy a drink or food. Drinks are slightly overpriced and very weak, but their goal is not to get anyone too drunk, so if you drink, bring your own liquor and drink in your room.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and its a short walk to Weirs Beach, but unfortunately the beach was closed due to bacteria. People swam anyways but we didnt take the chance. We went somewhere closeby to swim.
I'd recommend the Naswa for families and and mature couples who just want a couple or a few nights to get away for a decent price.

Room Tip: Top floor a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Other than one year (2004) (the year my dad passed away:( ) myself, my husband, my 3 sisters, my mom my dad and allot of our friends and other family members (incl. our K9 family) have stayed at the NASWA! I would truly recommend this place to everyone! Wonderful!!! Staff, clean rooms, (and we have stayed in the cottages, efficiency sweet, motel, accross the street , everywere you go prices grow, but I think it is worth every penny! There is a reason why my entire family still returns and will continue to return, year after year!
Thank you NASWA!

Room Tip: mostly all rooms have amazing waterfront view! My preference is the efficiency sweet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harley1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Ugh!!! What's up with this place?!?! Dirty old rooms, over-priced food and drinks, LOUD music at the supposed "beach" - tiny strip of land packed to the gills with chairs and roudy people - and angry, snappy servers, desk staff, and management. THe lady who was supposedly in charge kept glaring at my husband because he said something to the waitress about waiting for our food for 45 minutes, then she brought the food herself to our table and hissed when she put it down.

We will NEVER go back again and neither should anyone else. Horrible experience.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
6  Thank KittyB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We needed a place to stay for just one night and The Naswa was very polite since making the intitial phone call. We did not have to have a two night minimum and the room and view were great. The price was perfect but I do think the prices increase in the month of July. My husband and I went without the kids and enjoyed the staff at the beach bar but we will definitely come back with the kids to enjoy. Thanks to the entire friendly, helpful staff at the Naswa!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannabrdly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I have to agree with the review below...it really seems like the Naswa is more about making money than truly satisfying its customers. Whether in the restaurant upstairs or the bar on (what the owners mislabel a) "beach," there are two many rules and so much dissatisfaction. NO free refills on soda. NO shots. NO shooters. NO doubles. "NO you cannot get onion rings with your turkey wrap, NO you can not get french fries either." NO you cannot smoke at this table. NO you cannot feed the ducks. NO drinks on the docks. NO table chairs in the water. NO you cannot have that on the rocks. NO your granddaughter cannot drink out of the tropical cup.

The service was ok, our waitress apologized for not being allowed to give us want we wanted. Things took a little while to get to the table, which can be frustrating in the sun. And nearly everything on the menu seemed extremely overpriced. $13 for three shrimp. $10 for seven wings. $ 8 for six mozzarella sticks. My burger came with a tiny amount of undercooked fries and my husbands fish and chips was smaller than expected and cold inside.

The worst part was returning to our over-priced room with a "beautiful view" of a Marina....awesome. When they say "cozy" they mean exceptionally small. And like another individual wrote below...everything seems outdated.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank detroitmcneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naswa, Manager at The Naswa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2011

To “Disappointed”

We are sorry that you do not agree with or like the NH State Liquor Commission Laws. One drink per person is the NH State Law not the “Naswa Rule”. You are right; we do not serve shots, shooters or doubles for the well being of our guests. It is clearly stated on our drink menu and on signs posted all along the bar, grill and in front of the ladies and men’s room. This gives everyone an opportunity to see our house policies and choose not to stay if they find them unacceptable. Liquor can never be taken out of a bar in NH i.e. “on the docks”. We have 140 feet of tents that have become non-smoking sections because people asked for them. You can certainly smoke on the rest of the beach and the docks.
NH State law also says you cannot feed the ducks. Yes, we know it sounds silly but if you do the ducks go poo poo in the lake and people end up in the emergency room with a terrible, painful scurvy all over their body. There is a medical term for this but on Lake Winnipesaukee it is referred to as “duck itch”. Since we are a family resort we try hard not to have the children end up in the hospital with this terrible malady.
As for all of your food issues, we sell baskets of onion rings and fries. The wraps come with Pasta Salad, Burgers with fries. Everything doesn’t come with everything. The tropical cups are for alcoholic drinks only. It would set off an alarm if the server had given your granddaughter a drink in one of those cups, this again is to ensure the safety of our guests and their children.
We pride ourselves on running a business that cares about the safety and well being of others for the last 76 years. We are not a wild party place and we realize we may not fit into everyone’s idea of a good time. We truly are so sorry that you were “disappointed” with every aspect of The NASWA. We would invite you back to experience The NASWA on us but unfortunately we know we could never do anything to make you happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We had a great time at the Naswa during motorcycle week! the rooms were clean and neat and the service was good and the food was great! The atmosphere was fun although there were some people at the bar who were rowdy -- but they were flagged and then asked to leave so they quit being annoying. Anyway... we all decided to try to get back there again before the end of the season.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
19.3 km away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
335 reviews
3.8 km away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
770 reviews
1.4 km away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#1 of 5 in Weirs Beach
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
1.0 km away
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
#2 of 5 in Weirs Beach
205 reviews
1.0 km away
Lazy E Motor Inn
Lazy E Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Weirs Beach
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naswa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naswa Resort

Address: 1086 Weirs Blvd, Laconia, NH 03246-1625
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laconia
Price Range: $101 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Naswa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service Waterfront Resort w/ Hotel Rooms, Studio Suites & Cottages. Family run resort for over 75 years. Located in Paugus Bay on Lake Winnipesaukee. 1000ft of beach frontage w/ dock space and swimming areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Naswa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naswa Hotel Laconia
Naswa Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing