We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$159
View deal
Hotels.comUS$159
Expedia.comUS$159
Orbitz.comUS$159
eDreamsUS$159
PricelineUS$159
CheapTicketsUS$159
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveller rating
333
259
142
61
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
333
259
142
61
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar across the street indoor pool continental breakfast hot tub game room housekeeping staff bit dated paugus bay family vacation lake ray sauna nh dock boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 872 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2020 via mobile

Margate is clean and comfortable, with poor customer service and awful WiFi and internet connections

The sad little “beach” is not a good place to swim. You can rent a kayak or jet ski, if that is your thing

Try a budget motel instead

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2020

Thanks for your review although parts of it may leave your readers a bit confused. We do not rent jet skis, and this year our kayak, canoe and paddleboard rentals are closed due to COVID precautions. We are happy that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable as that is always one of our primary goals. However we cannot agree on your opinion of our beach area. We have never heard the terms "sad" and "little" used to describe our beach, nor do we understand why quotations would be placed around the word "beach". Sandy shorefront next to a body of water is what defines a beach, and we have 500 feet of that, plus a beach bar! In fact, The Margate Resort is proud to offer the largest combination of private beachfront and lakeside green space compared to any other hotel resort in the Lakes Region. However, we could understand your disappointment if you were expecting our beach on Lake Winnipesaukee to be similar to a beach on the Atlantic Ocean like the ones on the NH Seacoast. In that case, there is quite a difference in size. We also provide a large roped off swim area with lighted buoys to prevent boats from entering the swim area. Unfortunately we are unable to determine what aspects of our customer service was lacking. We were able to identify this reviewer by his username and location, and the only reported issue was that he lost his credit card somewhere. Our staff was immediately notified and were on the lookout while working around the property. Our front desk representative went above and beyond to try and locate the missing card, even asking our beach manager who searched around the beach and beach bar, but the card was never located. As we have explained in our past responses, The Margate provides ample management and staff to assist our guests with any problems that may arise, but lost items are sometimes difficult to locate. We are sorry our beach did not meet your expectations and wish you well on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2020

We were somewhat disappointed with the Margate. It is located on the bay and had a nice outdoor space, but we found that it was completely monopolized by large family groups claiming chairs early in the morning and blocking anyone else's view of their child on the sand. Also, they offered a continental grab & go breakfast which was fine, but unless you went to the beach bar, there was no other option for food because of the virus. The room itself was big, clean and comfy. I would classify the Margate as a family vacation place...it was okay, but I wouldn't go back.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katt51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2020

Thank you for being our guest and posting a review of your stay. We are happy to hear you were able utilize the “Grab & Go” continental breakfast we recently implemented. We wanted to provide our guests with all the same food outlets that we’ve always offered, so we created this option as a substitute to the standard continental breakfast and hot buffet we had prior to the pandemic. We are also pleased to hear that your guest room was to your liking. We are definitely a family vacation resort. We always have been and our beach area is our main attraction, so we were surprised to read that it was the only negative impact on your stay. The Margate Resort is proud to offer the largest combination of private green space and beachfront anywhere in the Lakes Region. Countless large families from all over New England reserve multiple rooms at The Margate as their summer vacation spot and most of them know all the inside tricks. One of those tricks is getting to the beach area early to claim lounge chairs, pick a spot, and set up for the day. That being said, with 1000 feet of total lake frontage, and several large lawn areas adjacent to the beach, there is always space for more guests. However we understand that some other guests had negative impact on your stay and would advise anyone encountering a similar problem to seek out our beach manager who is on duty every day. The beach manager can provide extra lawn chairs and also help you find a good spot either on the main beach or one of the other two side beaches that most guests are usually unaware of. We are thankful you chose to stay with us and hope you give us another try if your travels bring you back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2020

Extremely disappointed.
Let me start by saying we are a VERY easy going family who are just happy to get away once in a while. My family of 5 booked a lake view room for a 3 night stay. When we arrived we were upset by the outdated room. It was very damp and musty with water stains on the ceiling. With that said, we gave it a chance and went down to the beach.

When arriving back to the room my 8 yr old daughter went to shower and noticed fecal matter all under the toilet. This was our first time in the bathroom in the room so this 100% was left from a previous guest. The bathroom should not only be cleaned and safe for guests to use, but this is a time of EXTREME precautions in which all rooms need to be sanitized from top to bottom.

We did not feel safe in this hotel. If we noticed that who knows what we weren’t seeing. During Co-vid cleanliness is the most important priority so we had to leave that night and book else where. We had to leave at 10pm with an 8, 6 and 2 yr old. Horrible!

It has been almost a week since and I never even heard a word from the hotel manager. No apology no anything. Horrible service, horrible management.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 914breannaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2020

We are very disappointed that we were unable to follow up with extra customer service on top of what was provided to these guests the night they were here, but the phone number on file is invalid and they won't respond to the emails we’ve sent. While the content of this review appears to be the ultimate in hotel nightmares, there is a lot of information missing. First, let's start with the customer service aspect of this. These guests reported an issue with their room at approximately 9:30pm, six hours after checking in at 3:30pm that day. Our manager quickly responded to the situation and asked to be allowed to investigate the problem; however the guests refused to allow him into the room. Anytime there is a complaint of this nature, management will go directly to the room to see exactly what the guest is seeing and experiencing. Because they didn’t want to allow us into their room, we took their word for it. Our manager offered to move the guests into a newly renovated room. He took the husband to see the room, which he thoroughly inspected and verified it was acceptable and even took pictures to show the rest of the family. However, the guests chose not to move to that room, and instead wanted to check out. Considering the severity of their claim, we checked the guests out of the hotel that night with a full refund, no penalty, and with sincere apologies from our manager on duty. This was all within a half hour of the issue being reported to us, with several levels of management involved by telephone. Investigating the matter and determining the validity of their claim was our next step. Our Operations Manager and Executive Housekeeper both checked the room the next day. Every part of the room was heavily used, both beds used, quite a bit of trash remaining, shower was used, wet towels, and some of the hotel towels appeared to have been used to clean up some wine or juice that may have spilled. For a six hour occupancy, it seemed on par with a room that had been occupied for many days. With all the effort our managers put in to try and confirm the guests claim, they couldn’t find the "stuff" that was supposedly on the bathroom floor. We knew what to look for, and we looked everywhere for it, even on the walls. Nothing was ever found. In fact, our investigation revealed that the previous occupants of the room had also spilled some sort of paint or nail polish and our Executive Housekeeper was heavily involved in cleaning that bathroom with bleach, solvents, and magic erasers right before these guests arrived. Although she is human, she is unlikely to miss something like this while cleaning a room, especially with the heightened awareness of our entire housekeeping department due to COVID. We attempted to call the guests a good half dozen times over the next several days, but the phone number we had on file only went to a recorded message that the number was out of service. These guests made their reservation online and this was the phone number provided by the guests. We also tried to e-mail the guests, but did not receive any response. So at that point, we just chalked this one up as something totally out of the ordinary, discussed with Housekeeping to be even more vigilant than they already are, and for everyone to continue to try their best. While we take any reported issue, especially of this magnitude, very seriously, with no additional information there isn't much more we can do. Was this all a big misunderstanding? Possibly. Maybe one of the children simply had an accident? Anything is possible. But without being able to speak with these guests we have to consider the claim that nobody in a family of five used the bathroom for six hours, their phone number doesn't work and they won't return e-mails, they wouldn't let us investigate the situation before they left, wouldn't accept a fresh newly renovated room in a different building, are now reporting we have terrible customer service, and we never could verify 100% the issue existed in the first place. Considering we responded quickly, provided options to rectify the situation, gave them a full refund with apologies that night, all while unable to corroborate anything, what more can we possibly do? We are not trying to say their claims or experience was untrue, but this is how our investigation has turned up and without being able to communicate further with the guests, we aren’t able to provide them with a better solution or even inform them of the extensive investigation we conducted after their departure. The Margate Resort is an accredited business with the Better Business Bureau, and maintains an A+ rating because of how we handle situations like this. These guests are always welcome to contact us to discuss any additional information we are unaware of or may have missed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2020

The Margate is in a good location. We booked a Lake view room and that it was we got. The room was a good size and it was supplied nicely with plenty of towels, toiletries, coffee pot with refrig. The rooms are in need of a complete makeover for the price they want for them. They are old and outdated. Carpeting was damp and musty, sliding glass doors are sealed up, air conditioners are old and loud, so listening to TV was a challenge and furniture and wall covering are old and outdated. I would not stay again for the price.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maple95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2020

We are very sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with the hotel room. However we always strive to make every guest’s experience enjoyable and one to remember. We have recently renovated three of our four buildings containing guest rooms and our lobby was renovated over the winter. We had plans to begin renovations in the lake front rooms this winter, but due to the devastating effects of COVID-19 on our summer season, we may be forced to delay this project. Perhaps one of the newly renovated units in our West Beach Building would have been a better option for you. We want our guests to know what they are getting when they choose The Margate Resort, so we have provided pictures and descriptions of the room types along with a property map on our website. Additionally, our rates are very competitive for the area and each year we make significant upgrades and renovations to the property and amenities adding value to your stay. We encourage all guests staying with us to bring anything they feel is unsatisfactory to our attention immediately. We are staffed 24 hours and always have a manager available to help resolve any problems that may occur, or to move a guest to one of our other 16 different room types that may better suit their expectations and price point. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the service and accommodations that we are capable of providing. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2020 via mobile

We checked in tonight for a weekend away. Our first time doing anything since the pandemic hit. We rented 2 adjoining rooms lakefront. Wow are we disappointed. I feel like I have stepped back to 1985. The rooms are so outdated. Peeling wallpaper, horrible carpet, fake marble look sinks and bath fitter type tubs. We paid over $350 per night per room for this. The towels are paper thin, the furniture is from my grandmothers house. I have no idea how they market this place as premier. The 2 redeeming qualities are the lake and that I can walk across the street to TJMaxx. For this price point I have stayed at actual 4 or 5 star resorts. The beach bar is right on the water but people were smoking in the dining area even though it is not allowed. Nobody asked them to stop. We had to move our seats. Run. Stay at a cheap motel on the lake. You will get more for your money.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank vacationplannerMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2020

We are very sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with the hotel room. We strive to make every guest’s experience enjoyable and one to remember. We have renovated three of our four buildings containing guest rooms and our lobby was renovated over the winter. We had plans to begin renovations in the lake front rooms this winter, but due to the devastating effects of COVID-19 on our summer season, we may be forced to delay this project. Perhaps one of the newly renovated units in our West Beach Building would have been a better option for you. We want our guests to know what they are getting when they choose The Margate Resort, so we have provided pictures and descriptions of the room types along with a property map on our website. Additionally, our rates are very competitive for the area and each year we make significant upgrades and renovations to the property and amenities adding value to your stay.
We encourage you to bring anything you feel unsatisfactory to our attention immediately. We are staffed 24 hours and always have a manager available to help resolve any problems that may occur. Based on your review, it sounds as though you are still a guest at the resort. Our Operations Manager, Kelsey, would love to speak to you regarding your room issues. Posting a review instead of requesting service doesn’t help solve the problem, but if you notify an employee, it gives us the opportunity to fix it, so that you can enjoy the rest of your visit!
The Gazebo Beach Bar is an outdoor venue, but smoking is not permitted in the dining area. We want to apologize if the guests were being discourteous. We understand your frustrations and will strongly monitor the area for guests breaking the smoking policy. The bar manager has been made aware and will work diligently to enforce this rule.
We want to apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews