We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (873)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveller rating
333
260
142
61
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
333
260
142
61
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar across the street indoor pool continental breakfast hot tub game room housekeeping staff bit dated paugus bay family vacation lake ray sauna nh dock boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 873 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2020

Once again it was another awesome long weekend at The Margate Resort. We spent 4 days/3 nights on their beautiful property overlooking Paugus Bay. The grounds are kept superb, Michael does a fantastic job on the beach, while the Beach Bar staff is running crazy making sure that all the guests needs are taken care of. A tip of the hat to Ray who makes sure that everything is running smoothly, while constantly checking with the guest. Its a great place to to sit back and relax and just "CHILL" as they say. The accomodations over at the INN side looked great, they were recently done over. Great job by Kyle and his staff, looking forward to my next getaway at THE MARGATE

Room tip: Lakeview is the best.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincentz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2020

Thank you for posting such an exceptional review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your recent visit. It is great to hear you were able to find the perfect spot to rest and relax down by the water. We want to thank you for recognizing some of our hardest working employees. We are very grateful to have them and your review validates their efforts make a positive impact on our guests. We are so happy you made it to The Margate this year, and can’t wait to have you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2020

We stayed three nights at the Margate. It was very nice. The swimming area is great. There are beach chairs available, and yes people do put their towels on them early, that’s just how it goes. There are shady areas on the lawn to relax as well. The sunsets were nice to watch. The food at the beach bar/deck was decent to good. Servers were friendly but could use a little more training. Coconut shrimp and nachos were great. The bar needs to be kept cleaner, lots of flies. One night they had an outside movie and served complimentary popcorn and snow cones. We stayed in a lake view room. I was disappointed the sliding glass doors didn’t open. The room was clean and yes a bit dated but it seems the entire area is. If you needed something from house keeping you simply gave them a call and they were there immediately. There is an indoor and outdoor pool, along with a nice outdoor fireplace but due to the current pandemic they were not open. Usually they serve a continental breakfast but again were unable to at this time so you could order breakfast items the night before on line and pick it up inside the main building the next morning. Inside there was another fireplace a restaurant and bar which were closed due to the current situation. There is a dock for boats or I saw people anchor their boats overnight to the left of the swimming area. Non guests also anchor their boats there during the day and hang out. Overall it was a great stay and I would definitely go back!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2020

Thank you very much for this outstanding and well balanced review that not only touches on numerous aspects of your experience, but also offers criticism in a constructive and helpful way. We can't find anything inaccurate about this review, and we are always working to improve the resort so we appreciate all of the observations you have made. So in this response I suppose we will touch upon a few of the planned improvements we have coming up. Having already completed our Inn and West building renovations along with the main lobby, courtyard fireplace area, beach bar, and several other areas, the Lakefront building guest rooms are next and will be completed in stages. You mentioned that the sliding glass doors no longer open, and that is correct. We did this for a half dozen very good standalone reasons that are unrelated to each other, and most likely the upper floors of that building will remain that way. However we do have a new room type planned for the bottom floor of the Lake building. I don't want to reveal too much here, but in the coming years, the beach level rooms of the Lake building will be the accommodations of choice for guests who want to be able to fully experience the beach side atmosphere. Thank you for also mentioning the new amenity we just started this summer. Movie night is set up outside near our beach area and so far it has been a big hit. Due to the closure of our indoor amenities because of COVID, we wanted to offer something outside at night for family fun. And our guests keep asking for more and more movie nights. So I think this will become a permanent summer offering even when things get back to normal. Thank you again for a great review and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2020 via mobile

Margate is clean and comfortable, with poor customer service and awful WiFi and internet connections

The sad little “beach” is not a good place to swim. You can rent a kayak or jet ski, if that is your thing

Try a budget motel instead

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2020

Thanks for your review although parts of it may leave your readers a bit confused. We do not rent jet skis, and this year our kayak, canoe and paddleboard rentals are closed due to COVID precautions. We are happy that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable as that is always one of our primary goals. However we cannot agree on your opinion of our beach area. We have never heard the terms "sad" and "little" used to describe our beach, nor do we understand why quotations would be placed around the word "beach". Sandy shorefront next to a body of water is what defines a beach, and we have 500 feet of that, plus a beach bar! In fact, The Margate Resort is proud to offer the largest combination of private beachfront and lakeside green space compared to any other hotel resort in the Lakes Region. However, we could understand your disappointment if you were expecting our beach on Lake Winnipesaukee to be similar to a beach on the Atlantic Ocean like the ones on the NH Seacoast. In that case, there is quite a difference in size. We also provide a large roped off swim area with lighted buoys to prevent boats from entering the swim area. Unfortunately we are unable to determine what aspects of our customer service was lacking. We were able to identify this reviewer by his username and location, and the only reported issue was that he lost his credit card somewhere. Our staff was immediately notified and were on the lookout while working around the property. Our front desk representative went above and beyond to try and locate the missing card, even asking our beach manager who searched around the beach and beach bar, but the card was never located. As we have explained in our past responses, The Margate provides ample management and staff to assist our guests with any problems that may arise, but lost items are sometimes difficult to locate. We are sorry our beach did not meet your expectations and wish you well on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2020

We were somewhat disappointed with the Margate. It is located on the bay and had a nice outdoor space, but we found that it was completely monopolized by large family groups claiming chairs early in the morning and blocking anyone else's view of their child on the sand. Also, they offered a continental grab & go breakfast which was fine, but unless you went to the beach bar, there was no other option for food because of the virus. The room itself was big, clean and comfy. I would classify the Margate as a family vacation place...it was okay, but I wouldn't go back.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katt51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2020

Thank you for being our guest and posting a review of your stay. We are happy to hear you were able utilize the “Grab & Go” continental breakfast we recently implemented. We wanted to provide our guests with all the same food outlets that we’ve always offered, so we created this option as a substitute to the standard continental breakfast and hot buffet we had prior to the pandemic. We are also pleased to hear that your guest room was to your liking. We are definitely a family vacation resort. We always have been and our beach area is our main attraction, so we were surprised to read that it was the only negative impact on your stay. The Margate Resort is proud to offer the largest combination of private green space and beachfront anywhere in the Lakes Region. Countless large families from all over New England reserve multiple rooms at The Margate as their summer vacation spot and most of them know all the inside tricks. One of those tricks is getting to the beach area early to claim lounge chairs, pick a spot, and set up for the day. That being said, with 1000 feet of total lake frontage, and several large lawn areas adjacent to the beach, there is always space for more guests. However we understand that some other guests had negative impact on your stay and would advise anyone encountering a similar problem to seek out our beach manager who is on duty every day. The beach manager can provide extra lawn chairs and also help you find a good spot either on the main beach or one of the other two side beaches that most guests are usually unaware of. We are thankful you chose to stay with us and hope you give us another try if your travels bring you back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2020

Extremely disappointed.
Let me start by saying we are a VERY easy going family who are just happy to get away once in a while. My family of 5 booked a lake view room for a 3 night stay. When we arrived we were upset by the outdated room. It was very damp and musty with water stains on the ceiling. With that said, we gave it a chance and went down to the beach.

When arriving back to the room my 8 yr old daughter went to shower and noticed fecal matter all under the toilet. This was our first time in the bathroom in the room so this 100% was left from a previous guest. The bathroom should not only be cleaned and safe for guests to use, but this is a time of EXTREME precautions in which all rooms need to be sanitized from top to bottom.

We did not feel safe in this hotel. If we noticed that who knows what we weren’t seeing. During Co-vid cleanliness is the most important priority so we had to leave that night and book else where. We had to leave at 10pm with an 8, 6 and 2 yr old. Horrible!

It has been almost a week since and I never even heard a word from the hotel manager. No apology no anything. Horrible service, horrible management.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 914breannaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2020

We are very disappointed that we were unable to follow up with extra customer service on top of what was provided to these guests the night they were here, but the phone number on file is invalid and they won't respond to the emails we’ve sent. While the content of this review appears to be the ultimate in hotel nightmares, there is a lot of information missing. First, let's start with the customer service aspect of this. These guests reported an issue with their room at approximately 9:30pm, six hours after checking in at 3:30pm that day. Our manager quickly responded to the situation and asked to be allowed to investigate the problem; however the guests refused to allow him into the room. Anytime there is a complaint of this nature, management will go directly to the room to see exactly what the guest is seeing and experiencing. Because they didn’t want to allow us into their room, we took their word for it. Our manager offered to move the guests into a newly renovated room. He took the husband to see the room, which he thoroughly inspected and verified it was acceptable and even took pictures to show the rest of the family. However, the guests chose not to move to that room, and instead wanted to check out. Considering the severity of their claim, we checked the guests out of the hotel that night with a full refund, no penalty, and with sincere apologies from our manager on duty. This was all within a half hour of the issue being reported to us, with several levels of management involved by telephone. Investigating the matter and determining the validity of their claim was our next step. Our Operations Manager and Executive Housekeeper both checked the room the next day. Every part of the room was heavily used, both beds used, quite a bit of trash remaining, shower was used, wet towels, and some of the hotel towels appeared to have been used to clean up some wine or juice that may have spilled. For a six hour occupancy, it seemed on par with a room that had been occupied for many days. With all the effort our managers put in to try and confirm the guests claim, they couldn’t find the "stuff" that was supposedly on the bathroom floor. We knew what to look for, and we looked everywhere for it, even on the walls. Nothing was ever found. In fact, our investigation revealed that the previous occupants of the room had also spilled some sort of paint or nail polish and our Executive Housekeeper was heavily involved in cleaning that bathroom with bleach, solvents, and magic erasers right before these guests arrived. Although she is human, she is unlikely to miss something like this while cleaning a room, especially with the heightened awareness of our entire housekeeping department due to COVID. We attempted to call the guests a good half dozen times over the next several days, but the phone number we had on file only went to a recorded message that the number was out of service. These guests made their reservation online and this was the phone number provided by the guests. We also tried to e-mail the guests, but did not receive any response. So at that point, we just chalked this one up as something totally out of the ordinary, discussed with Housekeeping to be even more vigilant than they already are, and for everyone to continue to try their best. While we take any reported issue, especially of this magnitude, very seriously, with no additional information there isn't much more we can do. Was this all a big misunderstanding? Possibly. Maybe one of the children simply had an accident? Anything is possible. But without being able to speak with these guests we have to consider the claim that nobody in a family of five used the bathroom for six hours, their phone number doesn't work and they won't return e-mails, they wouldn't let us investigate the situation before they left, wouldn't accept a fresh newly renovated room in a different building, are now reporting we have terrible customer service, and we never could verify 100% the issue existed in the first place. Considering we responded quickly, provided options to rectify the situation, gave them a full refund with apologies that night, all while unable to corroborate anything, what more can we possibly do? We are not trying to say their claims or experience was untrue, but this is how our investigation has turned up and without being able to communicate further with the guests, we aren’t able to provide them with a better solution or even inform them of the extensive investigation we conducted after their departure. The Margate Resort is an accredited business with the Better Business Bureau, and maintains an A+ rating because of how we handle situations like this. These guests are always welcome to contact us to discuss any additional information we are unaware of or may have missed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews