We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (878)
Filter reviews
878 results
Traveller rating
335
262
142
62
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
335
262
142
62
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar across the street indoor pool continental breakfast hot tub game room housekeeping staff bit dated paugus bay family vacation lake ray sauna nh dock boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 878 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2020

Now let me start by saying that the COVID-19 era that we all are living in will undoubtedly alter how resorts have to do business. Granted. With that being said, as a guest I expect certain amenities to be present at the place we're staying at regardless of the current Pandemic situation or any other situation.

Simple things like having a shower that does not back up every time you use it or having old garbage left in the dresser drawers AND under the furniture in the room is completely unacceptable and should never happen. If anything, you'd think that the housekeeping staff would make the rooms EXTRA clean and sanitized in the COVID era we are in! Other simple things (although it may be Policy for them) like expecting all the occupants of the room to only use 1 roll of toilet paper for the 6 days they're there is preposterous! Use some common sense. You ask how many people are staying there, right? Common sense should count for something! Why should I have to go through the hassle of having to ask for additional toiletries for my room? Really?! Annoying. The WiFi coverage was terrible. Very little bandwidth available and I could barely get online. Mostly all the amenities were shut down because of COVID. No indoor pool, sauna, exercise room, restaurant, game room, etc... Speaking of food, the only open thing was the Tiki Bar on the beach but the prices were jacked up! Unbelievable. No paddleboards or Kayaks or canoes or anything like that available at the beach area, either.

Financially, it would've been nice if they offered some sort of a discount or a voucher for a free night to guests who stayed with them since the majority of the resort was not open for you to use. I still paid the full price, though! I understand that because of COVID you can't do certain things. I get it. But offer something back to those of us who still chose to stay with you. We could've chosen to stay home and not give you our hard-earned money or go somewhere else and then where would you be? Probably seeking a loan from the government to carry you through this time.

I've stayed here several times and quite honestly, I would be inclined to stay somewhere else in this area next time. Sorry, Margate.... you have some work to do.

Room tip: Stay away from the beachfront rooms. Very loud at night.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rad9496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2020

First, let me apologize that The Margate fell short of your expectations. We never want a guest to stay in a room with a clogged drain, but this is not an uncommon occurrence in hotels. We do our best to eliminate these troubles with preventative care, but it sounds as though we missed that issue in your room. Trash being left behind in a room is unacceptable and we want to apologize for that happening to you. Whether it is left in a drawer or under furniture, we do not approve of this and it is not our standard nor should be any hotel’s standard. As with any complaint, we wish that it was registered with management during your stay so we could investigate the issue, determine who was responsible for the mistake, and take corrective action.
We understand you believe it is preposterous that the bathroom is stocked with one extra roll of toilet paper. As you mentioned in your review, it is our policy to leave one additional roll along with the roll that is currently on the fixture. We have never refused to provide guests with extra toiletries for their room when requested. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day and is fully stocked in the event you need extra supplies in the middle of the night. The American Hotel and Lodging Association (AHLA) conducted a survey that revealed 86% of travelers nationwide are looking for hotels that are currently suspending automatic daily stay-over services to help alleviate the potential of COVID contamination through human interaction. The Margate has been following that effort since reopening from COVID shutdown. All we ask of our guests is to participate in that effort by dialing “0” to reach the front desk to schedule your stay-over services if desired.
Over the past several months The Margate team has put in enormous efforts to ensure the safety and well being of our guests during this time. We have been following the AHLA’s Safe Stay guidelines in a nationwide effort to help combat the spread of COVID-19. Along with following these guidelines, increasing our housekeeping protocols and enforcing new COVID related policies with employees, we had to make the difficult decision to keep the "congregate" amenities closed throughout the summer to maintain the highest level of safety for our guests.
We understand there have been a lot of new changes with this pandemic that are out of the realm of normalcy for all of us and we feel badly that it has negatively impacted your experience. We appreciate you staying with us and are very sorry to lose your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2020

Once again it was another awesome long weekend at The Margate Resort. We spent 4 days/3 nights on their beautiful property overlooking Paugus Bay. The grounds are kept superb, Michael does a fantastic job on the beach, while the Beach Bar staff is running crazy making sure that all the guests needs are taken care of. A tip of the hat to Ray who makes sure that everything is running smoothly, while constantly checking with the guest. Its a great place to to sit back and relax and just "CHILL" as they say. The accomodations over at the INN side looked great, they were recently done over. Great job by Kyle and his staff, looking forward to my next getaway at THE MARGATE

Room tip: Lakeview is the best.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincentz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2020

Thank you for posting such an exceptional review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your recent visit. It is great to hear you were able to find the perfect spot to rest and relax down by the water. We want to thank you for recognizing some of our hardest working employees. We are very grateful to have them and your review validates their efforts make a positive impact on our guests. We are so happy you made it to The Margate this year, and can’t wait to have you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2020

We stayed three nights at the Margate. It was very nice. The swimming area is great. There are beach chairs available, and yes people do put their towels on them early, that’s just how it goes. There are shady areas on the lawn to relax as well. The sunsets were nice to watch. The food at the beach bar/deck was decent to good. Servers were friendly but could use a little more training. Coconut shrimp and nachos were great. The bar needs to be kept cleaner, lots of flies. One night they had an outside movie and served complimentary popcorn and snow cones. We stayed in a lake view room. I was disappointed the sliding glass doors didn’t open. The room was clean and yes a bit dated but it seems the entire area is. If you needed something from house keeping you simply gave them a call and they were there immediately. There is an indoor and outdoor pool, along with a nice outdoor fireplace but due to the current pandemic they were not open. Usually they serve a continental breakfast but again were unable to at this time so you could order breakfast items the night before on line and pick it up inside the main building the next morning. Inside there was another fireplace a restaurant and bar which were closed due to the current situation. There is a dock for boats or I saw people anchor their boats overnight to the left of the swimming area. Non guests also anchor their boats there during the day and hang out. Overall it was a great stay and I would definitely go back!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2020

Thank you very much for this outstanding and well balanced review that not only touches on numerous aspects of your experience, but also offers criticism in a constructive and helpful way. We can't find anything inaccurate about this review, and we are always working to improve the resort so we appreciate all of the observations you have made. So in this response I suppose we will touch upon a few of the planned improvements we have coming up. Having already completed our Inn and West building renovations along with the main lobby, courtyard fireplace area, beach bar, and several other areas, the Lakefront building guest rooms are next and will be completed in stages. You mentioned that the sliding glass doors no longer open, and that is correct. We did this for a half dozen very good standalone reasons that are unrelated to each other, and most likely the upper floors of that building will remain that way. However we do have a new room type planned for the bottom floor of the Lake building. I don't want to reveal too much here, but in the coming years, the beach level rooms of the Lake building will be the accommodations of choice for guests who want to be able to fully experience the beach side atmosphere. Thank you for also mentioning the new amenity we just started this summer. Movie night is set up outside near our beach area and so far it has been a big hit. Due to the closure of our indoor amenities because of COVID, we wanted to offer something outside at night for family fun. And our guests keep asking for more and more movie nights. So I think this will become a permanent summer offering even when things get back to normal. Thank you again for a great review and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2020 via mobile

Margate is clean and comfortable, with poor customer service and awful WiFi and internet connections

The sad little “beach” is not a good place to swim. You can rent a kayak or jet ski, if that is your thing

Try a budget motel instead

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2020

Thanks for your review although parts of it may leave your readers a bit confused. We do not rent jet skis, and this year our kayak, canoe and paddleboard rentals are closed due to COVID precautions. We are happy that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable as that is always one of our primary goals. However we cannot agree on your opinion of our beach area. We have never heard the terms "sad" and "little" used to describe our beach, nor do we understand why quotations would be placed around the word "beach". Sandy shorefront next to a body of water is what defines a beach, and we have 500 feet of that, plus a beach bar! In fact, The Margate Resort is proud to offer the largest combination of private beachfront and lakeside green space compared to any other hotel resort in the Lakes Region. However, we could understand your disappointment if you were expecting our beach on Lake Winnipesaukee to be similar to a beach on the Atlantic Ocean like the ones on the NH Seacoast. In that case, there is quite a difference in size. We also provide a large roped off swim area with lighted buoys to prevent boats from entering the swim area. Unfortunately we are unable to determine what aspects of our customer service was lacking. We were able to identify this reviewer by his username and location, and the only reported issue was that he lost his credit card somewhere. Our staff was immediately notified and were on the lookout while working around the property. Our front desk representative went above and beyond to try and locate the missing card, even asking our beach manager who searched around the beach and beach bar, but the card was never located. As we have explained in our past responses, The Margate provides ample management and staff to assist our guests with any problems that may arise, but lost items are sometimes difficult to locate. We are sorry our beach did not meet your expectations and wish you well on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2020

We were somewhat disappointed with the Margate. It is located on the bay and had a nice outdoor space, but we found that it was completely monopolized by large family groups claiming chairs early in the morning and blocking anyone else's view of their child on the sand. Also, they offered a continental grab & go breakfast which was fine, but unless you went to the beach bar, there was no other option for food because of the virus. The room itself was big, clean and comfy. I would classify the Margate as a family vacation place...it was okay, but I wouldn't go back.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katt51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2020

Thank you for being our guest and posting a review of your stay. We are happy to hear you were able utilize the “Grab & Go” continental breakfast we recently implemented. We wanted to provide our guests with all the same food outlets that we’ve always offered, so we created this option as a substitute to the standard continental breakfast and hot buffet we had prior to the pandemic. We are also pleased to hear that your guest room was to your liking. We are definitely a family vacation resort. We always have been and our beach area is our main attraction, so we were surprised to read that it was the only negative impact on your stay. The Margate Resort is proud to offer the largest combination of private green space and beachfront anywhere in the Lakes Region. Countless large families from all over New England reserve multiple rooms at The Margate as their summer vacation spot and most of them know all the inside tricks. One of those tricks is getting to the beach area early to claim lounge chairs, pick a spot, and set up for the day. That being said, with 1000 feet of total lake frontage, and several large lawn areas adjacent to the beach, there is always space for more guests. However we understand that some other guests had negative impact on your stay and would advise anyone encountering a similar problem to seek out our beach manager who is on duty every day. The beach manager can provide extra lawn chairs and also help you find a good spot either on the main beach or one of the other two side beaches that most guests are usually unaware of. We are thankful you chose to stay with us and hope you give us another try if your travels bring you back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews