We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oliver Lodge on Beautiful Lake Winnepasaukee Meredith NH”
Review of Oliver Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oliver Lodge
Londonderry, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oliver Lodge on Beautiful Lake Winnepasaukee Meredith NH”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Oliver Lodge on Beautiful Lake Winnepasaukee Meredith NH .

This is a great place to take your family anytime of the year we have been going here on vacation for years.
Quiet, relaxing and a very unique historical place. I would recommend this place to anyone. All the houses at Oliver Lodge are so cozy. I have stayed in all of the houses at one time or another the North Wing, South Wing, Court House, The Ice House, The Main Lodge and ESPECIALLY THE A FRAME ON THE SMALL ISLAND, ACROSS THE LAKE NEXT TO THE LODGE. A boat ride to get there.

The lake front views are gorgeous. I plan on taking my family back again this year. We always meet new people and make nice friends and see them again, when we are out on the grounds or near the boat dock.

Also this is a great place to meet with your family, for family reunions and Holidays. We did that every other year for the past couple of years and our relatives are still talking about how they would love to get together at Oliver Lodge again. Maybe I will see you there.


Cheryl

Room Tip: All the houses at Oliver Lodge are so cozy. I have stayed in all of the houses at one time or anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherdi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We held our wedding reception here for 80 guests (it was packed and I wouldn't recommend any more people than this) and everyone raved about the place, including us. It has a vintage charm to the place that is very fitting with the location. We held our wedding ceremony outside on the lake, and moved indoors to the great room for our reception. Pictures were perfect (October timeframe) and I can't say enough about the place. It's not a high end kind of hotel, but is charming in every regard. A truly unique experience that was absolutely perfect for us. In fact, we rented the whole place out for the weekend and had over 40 people staying with us. We provided breakfast in the mornings, using their kitchen for cooking. Excellent place!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank foodie39291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We are spending our last evening at Oliver Lodge, and are sorry to be leaving tomorrow. I have no idea why the other two posters did not enjoy their stay, but we loved our week here.

This is informal living, but as comfy as could be, and Lydia, the assistant director, could not have been more helpful. She responded immediately to every request, and even offered to lend her own sunglasses after my daughter lost hers.

I was here with my husband and daughter and daughter-in-law with their families, including four children from 9 months to 7 1/2 years old. We rented the North Wing, which was perfect for our group. Each family had a different section of the house. It is located right on the lake, and we were lucky enough to hear loons on the lake one morning.

Unfortunately, we had terrible weather for the first part of the week but once it cleared up, we spent most of the day on glorious Lake Winnipesaukee. There is a terrific slow-sloping sandy beach, perfect for the kids. We all swam many times out to the little island with the A frame and the buoy. There are two kayaks to use, as well as a rowboat and kickboards.

We made most of our meals in the well-equipped kitchen, and went out to eat once at a fabulous restaurant, Kevin's Cafe, in Center Harbor. Delicious, fresh seafood. We all recommend it highly.

We enjoyed walking through the shops in Meredith, and riding the Go Karts and visiting Weir's Beach. I would return in an instant!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gmaofphj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

As the previous reviewer said, Oliver Lodge was really unclean with out-dated and worn out furnishings. The owners took 2 days to respond to a smoke detector that beeped incessantly for lack of a battery. The website advertises a sauna which is really a long-neglected room repurposed as a closet in the boat house and does not function at all. The entire week our whole group felt scheeved (sp?) out by the spider webs, chipmunks and dirty upholstery in the main gathering area. For the expense, one expects adequate toilet paper, paper towels and decent towels (not the same quality you get at an old Motel 8).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationingMOMCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We have just ret'd from a week stay at Oliver Lodge. When we arrived we found the Main Lodge to be very dirty. The floors were covered with dead bugs, crumbs and the corners of the room as well as the window sills were covered in spider webs. The rugs had not been vacuumed, the light fixtures had webs all over them, the sofas were stained and also very dirty. The bedrooms..windows that did not open, missing screens and webs all over the sill. We had made a trip last Oct to view the accomodations. The owner assured us that the lodge would be clean. . The rental fee was $6,600. plus Linen fee and NH tax..totaling $7362. For this amount I expected my family to have a "clean" place to sleep and eat. We asked the owners to please view the Lodge, which they never did. They did send in a cleaning woman. She vacuumed for about 45 minutes, in the bedrooms as we requested. I am used to "lake" living, but this was completely out of control. The webs actually held the furniture to the walls. Those cute little Chipmunks lived with us and ate our food. The ower offered us mouse traps. The view and the Lake made our vacation. It is for this reason that I am rating "Okay".
It is a shame that this beautiful building on the cove is so neglected.

Helpful?
6 Thank bobsmobCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
5.5 km away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
359 reviews
5.2 km away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
19.2 km away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
139 reviews
10.6 km away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
713 reviews
6.2 km away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver Lodge

Property: Oliver Lodge
Address: 92 Powers Rd, Meredith, NH 03253-7021
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Meredith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oliver Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oliver Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing