We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5-Star Dining Experience on a Beautiful Lake in New Hampshire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Ranked #1 of 6 New London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We've now dined at the Inn at Pleasant Lake three times and can't believe we live locally and have just discovered it. Imagine this: you gather for cocktails in a lovely living room with fireplace and then at 7:00 the Chef comes out to tell you all about the meal he has prepared for you that evening. There's always an amuse bouche, soup, salad, palate cleanser, entree and dessert. All but the entrees are the same. You are offered a choice of one of two entrees. It's the mystery of it all that makes it so much fun! The food is amazing, the chef is charming and down to earth, and all of the people we've met there are so like-minded and enjoyable. It is one of the most relaxing dining experiences we've ever had. You should try it, too!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolinaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

This charming B&B in New London, NH was an excellent place to stay. The dinner was of four-star, gourmet restaurant quality, a real treat and a bargain. Beautifully furnished common room with spectacular view over the lake and mountains. Highly recommended. -- Michael Lindgren, New York City.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Inn at Pleasant Lake. We enjoyed fall in New Hampshire reflected in the beautiful Pleasant Lake and the pond adjacent to the Inn. Our room was clean, pretty and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious - an interesting poached egg with tomato coulis along with the traditional buffet of fruit, yogurt and muffins. We particularly enjoyed walking along the beach seeing the fall leaves in the water and on the sand.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 and would not recommend it. The sound coming up the stairs was a bit loud at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelUnLocked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The warm welcome was matched by the rest of our experience at this delightful Inn by a beautiful lake. A small but lovely room with a view of the lake lifted our spirits after a very wet drive from Vermont and the choice to opt for the excellent evening meal was a good decision. Highly recommend as a place to stay and to eat.

Room Tip: Opt for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This Inn has a wonderful setting just across from a beautiful lake. However, even when the weather prevented us from enjoying the free canoe/boat hire this Inn was still a great place to stay. We booked one of the cheaper rooms on the 2nd floor of the Inn and it was a good room for the price. It was clean, very well furnished and with a very comfortable bed, however air-con or a ceiling fan would have been a welcome addition-the windows only opened a small amount (a safety feature I assume) and even on a rainy fall night the room got stuffy quite quickly. The common rooms of the inn were lovely-plenty of comfy sofas and very peaceful and cosy. The afternoon tea was a pleasant surprise-lovely cheeses with cake and cookies-although it might have been nice, given this inn's emphasis on food and the areas wealth of produce, if the cheese would have been local, or labelled as such.
Breakfast was good; a nice selection of fruit and muffins etc, with an excellent hot main.

We reserved a place at dinner on the first night of our stay and we weren't disappointed. The food was great-almost on a par with some of the michelin-starred restaurants we have eaten at in the UK and we enjoyed a fabulous, well-priced wine. The staff were friendly and attentive. However, although some people may appreciate the talk given by Brian the chef about the food we are about to eat, we found it a little over the top; the food is good enough to speak for itself.

New London itself has a few nice shops and other restaurants but it's main draw has got the be the great coutryside around-we climbed Mt Kearsage from the Winslow State Park and it was a great way to spend a morning, even if the clouds prevented us from enjoying what must be a spectacular view.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I have been to this Inn several times and have always been amazed at the chef's outstanding dinners - truly a treat and he gives a little talk beforehand about the meal he has created which really whets your appetite! We swam in the lake across the street which was clean and refreshing and we enjoyed cocktails and coffee on the Inn's sublime new outdoor patio equipped with lovely lights and music. Our room on the top floor had the most comfortable bed and charming, very clean bathroom. You'll find your cares definitely melting away here. I can't say enough about this delightful place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anglotripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yankee4now, Owner at Inn at Pleasant Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the inn. We are so happy that you have enjoyed all of your stays. Our new outdoor patio has been a big hit this summer and we love that you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to hosting you again sometime. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The Inn at Pleasant Lake is an immaculately kept property in a quiet and lovely location. We visited mid-week for an anniversary celebration and found care and attention to detail evident in all aspects of the Inn—from the common rooms downstairs, to the bedrooms to the dining rooms and the lovely new patio. Only the exercise room was a bit lacking. However, being able to walk down to the lake and go canoeing made up for that. The highlight of our stay was the outstanding dinner—a truly memorable experience with beautifully prepared and presented top-quality food. It was special to have the entire meal presented by the chef before being seated in the dining room. The meal was nicely paced and the chef visited each table at the end of the evening. Dinner at the Inn is not to be missed!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
12.9 km away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
146 reviews
12.7 km away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
8.1 km away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Rosewood Country Inn
Rosewood Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Bradford
137 reviews
13.0 km away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
30.3 km away
Colby Hill Inn
Colby Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in Henniker
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Pleasant Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pleasant Lake

Address: 853 Pleasant St, PO Box 1030, New London, NH 03257-5582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > New London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New London
Price Range: $211 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Pleasant Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Pleasant Lake is a historic ten room country inn overlooking Pleasant Lake and Mount Kearsarge in New London, NH. Guests of the inn enjoy afternoon tea and a full breakfast included with their stay. A five course prix fixe dinner is available Wednesday-Sunday by reservation at our restaurant led by Executive Chef Bryan Leary. Gourmet Brunch is available Sundays at 11:30. Seasonal To Go Lunch Menu available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Pleasant Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Pleasant Lake Hotel New London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing