We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
109
64
23
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
64
23
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain edgeliving roomoff seasongas fireplaceschool vacationfull kitchenexercise roomhousekeeping staffthe entire staffnew hampshiredentavernmtsunapeepedicureprivacyshuttle
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 222 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Found this resort through a Groupon deal and bought the 2 night package for my girlfriends birthday gift. We made the trek up on a Friday morning/afternoon and stayed through Sunday morning.

We found the staff very helpful and accommodating from helping to get the fire place working to giving recommendations on where to eat (besides the tavern and restaurant that are part of the resort.) The area is absolutely beautiful and I would love to head back there during the winter for ski season.

We hit up the General Store right after check-in. It's right on the property and has most everything you need. We picked up breakfast supplies and wine. There is plenty available and cost isn't bad but for a longer stay you might want to run to a full grocery store.

Dinner the first night was spent at the tavern. The food was good and it wasn't overly crowded. The service was excellent and I was happy to enjoy a Jack and Coke that actually had Jack that I could taste while being in a glass that held enough drink so that I wouldn't need to buy 5 to get a mild buzz. Cost was excellent, but then being from NY most everywhere else is cheaper when it comes to dining out. Of course we did burn through our $75 credit from Groupon.

We spent our Saturday morning making breakfast (battling the supplied in room electric griddle) while making some "add water" pancakes and then went up to the mountain lodge to hike to the summit. The hike was highly enjoyable and the weather was fantastic. There was still a bit of snow from the weekend earlier but the trail was manageable. We never made the summit as we had an appointment at the spa we wanted to be back for.

The spa was fantastic. The "couples" massage is a bit misleading as you are in separate rooms. I've never been to a spa for a massage before, let alone a couples massage, but I figured it would at least be a shared experience. I left the spa massage drunk so I'll say it was a good experience. I can't speak anymore on the massage itself but the staff was friendly, and comfortable to be around (made this nervous guy feel at ease). If we go back again we will certainly visit the as well. We didn't get to enjoy the pool hot tubs or sauna.

Our groupon deal had us in a 1 bedroom with den. This room appears to sleep 6 with the 2 pull out couches. The rooms were clean, has a kitchen stocked with ample cooking tools and the fireplace was a fantastic treat as the night got chilly. I'd expect an HDTV in at least the living space for the cost of these rooms per night. We found ourselves cozied up on the couch each night watching DVDs with our wine. I'd expect that for a longer stay with more people this space would be just fine. There are no doors separating the 2 additional pull out sofas so privacy might be an issue there.

Staying with a group for a weekend would be ideal for the price point. I think we'll definitely find ourselves back here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spatak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We visited Mountain Edge this past weekend, and had a fabulous time. it happened to coincide with the crazy early season snow storm!
The staff is warm and welcoming from the check in staff, to bartenders, wait staff,
to the General Manager. We arrived at 2:00pm, and were given our room right away even though check in wasn't until 4:00pm. Our room was an end/corner unit. It was spacious, comfortable and nicely appointed. It had a large, full kitchen, living room with tv/dvd player and balcony,den with desk and couch, large clean bathroom, bedroom with plenty of drawer space, a king sized comfortable bed and gorgeous mountain views. There was even a welcoming basket of juice, crackers and cheese, and other snack items waiting for us. The tavern was warm and inviting. Bartender Tom was right on with cold drinks, and Chef Paul makes the best pulled pork nachos around. You have to try them. Jim the General Manager was on hand to welcome us--very friendly and helfpul about things to do in the area, etc. The pool and hot tub was great, we were in the outdoor jacuzzi when the snow started to fall. It was really beautiful. Check out Digby's across the street, and say hi to Rochelle the bartender. Everyone was super friendly, we will be back for sure. This time with the whole family.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank southshore13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We visited this resort based on a coupon offer for two nights and resort dollars and we were not familiar with this property previously. We stayed mid-week and the resort was lightly occupied. The rooms and interior design are very well done and the quality of the room in terms of appointments and materials is impressive. The layout of the room we were in was well though out and made effective use of the space. Music is played in the hallways which is a nice touch but does bleed into a room a bit at night. This might bother a light sleeper.

The Spa area was inviting but the gym was surprisingly and disappointingly small for a resort. This situation would give me pause when deciding to return. There is a room off the lobby that is used for activities such as Yoga.

The staff was friendly upon arrival but overdid it a bit to the point that it felt strained. The warm welcome was nice but more important is how helpful the staff is. We were unable to get personal recommendations on restaurants in the area due to the newness of the staff (we were handed a book of menus which wasn't that helpful). We also had a situation where each night at around 4am we got a wake up call (which we did not request). We reported this the first morning after this happened and the staff claimed nothing was set. However, it happened again the next night and again the staff seemed unable to determine the cause.

A more troubling "rough edge" was the hotel running out of propane. My wife unfortunately found this out when showering. Clearly someone fell asleep at the wheel for this to happen. There was no warning (given the small number of guests it should have been easy to warn us of the situation) nor any notification of the status. It took a number of hours to get everything in order and the only explicit indication of progress was a large propane truck filling the parking lot with diesel fumes while refilling the tanks. The staff seemed totally flummoxed by this situation. Finally there were times during the evening when the front desk was unmanned.

Bottom line: great potential, excellent location, novice staff -- this resort has a ways to go to match the service level of many other attractive resorts in the northern New England area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CollegeParentsMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We visited Mountain's Edge mid-week earlier in the month on the recommendation of some co-workers and we had a wonderful time. The resort is really lovely. The lobby is quite impressive and the rooms (we stayed in one of the lofts) are really nice. While I was conerned that the rooms might be noisy from the previous posters complaints about the road...the resort is on a road...which was not all that busy but it is also set quite far back from the road. We didn't notice any noise from the road, even when we were on our deck or out on the hammocks in the front of the hotel. we also didn't notice any noise from the hallways or from other rooms. We used the pools and visited the spa for a massage. we didn't have any trouble getting an appointment. the service was great and the prices were reasonable. The only trouble we had in our room was when one of the remotes did not work and the front desk brought us a new one right away. the front desk was also really helpful on tips of things to do in the area. We went hiking and swimming at the state park right near the resort. It was really a beautiful area. I'd recommend the hotel for couples or for families. We ate in both of the restaurants and the food was good at both locations. I'm pretty sure we'll be back for another visit or two this winter. We ski but have not tried Mt. Sunapee before---it is just up the road from the hotel so it would be the perfect spot for us once the snow flies. I look forward to our return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We went for a two night stay for our 20th anniversary (Aug 31- Sept 1, 2011). We arrived early, 2:30 with a check-in time of 4:00. No problem. The lovely girl at reception checked and our room was ready so we were checked in. While this was going on the manager happened by and we received a warm greeting from him. Both girls at reception were very friendly and welcoming. All in all we had a great stay and would go back again. The whole area is beautiful and a two hour dinner cruise on Lake Sunapee was excellent (recommended by the hotel staff). Room was spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Jake608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews