We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Peaceful and a bit strenuous!

Wanted to hike and so crossed the street from The Fells and headed up into trails, following signs... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Ellen V
,
NYC
Well worth a wander.

We visited on spec and were pleased we did. 10 dollars to get in. Several lovely walks. A house... read more

Reviewed August 18, 2018
Bernie L
,
Twyford, England, United Kingdom
Read all 8 reviews
  
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
2
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic estate john hay lake sunapee geology sculptures woods trail
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2018

We visited on spec and were pleased we did.

10 dollars to get in. Several lovely walks. A house that’s worth looking round, includes a painting exhibition, and lovely gardens with sculptures.

We did the longer walks, of which the yellow marked one is a lovely walk through the woods and around the lake.

A lovely way to spend a few hours.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

If you are close to Newberry, Lake Sunapee or Newport News Hampshire you should stop by the John Hay Summer Home and Gardens called THE FELLS. This lovely property was established in 1891 by John Milton Hay who had been a private secretary to Abraham Lincoln. All ages can enjoy the house and grounds. Learn more about history with a house tour, ecology and horticulture with a garden tour, art (sculpture in garden and paintings in house), walk trails, enjoy a self-guided Poetry Walk. My favorite was the large rock garden on the side of a hill with stone pathways leading down to a pond. Lovely!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2017

We have been to the John Hay Refuge many times, but this is my first review. If you want to "stop and smell the roses" then The fels shoreline. Bring your canoe ashore and walk the grounds.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank OutdoorSteveNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2016

This is a really nice estate that preserves the charm of the house and surrounding land, back tot he days John Hay owned and lived there.
The house has been meticulously cared for, the surrounding grounds are beautiful with gardens native to the area and almost always in bloom during the growing seasons.
They offer tours and special events for both young and old, and there are loads of trails through out the estate to wander and check out the native flora and fauna.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Bryant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2016

We enjoyed this site as well. John Hay was (I believe) an assistant to Abe Lincoln. the grounds and home are beautiful. I would recomend going there when the flowers are blooming.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews