We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
262
38
5
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
38
5
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnellie leonthe cottagespierce cottagethe main housedog friendly placewonderful hostshome away from homeother guestsnew englandplace to staywhite mountainsb and bcommon roomgreat roomminute drivefull kitchencouple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 315 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights last week and really enjoyed the friendly and comfortable atmosphere the Spruce Moose provides. Nellie and Leon are terrific hosts with loads of great advice for things to do and they make fab breakfasts! Its no surprise people keep coming back and I hope we do someday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Had a two night stay at this amazing place. Nellie and Leon are great hosts and from the minute we walked in we felt right at home. The place has a real homely feel to it and the notice which says 'enter as stangers, leave as friends' was really appropriate. Guests share breakfast together with a differenct country breakfast freshly cooked everyday. We didnt want to leave and would love to return

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and I just spent another wonderful week at the Spruce Moose! (We have vacationed there so mant times I cannot begin to count!) This trip we rented one of the houses........ It was a joy to go into at the end of everyday and even more of a joy to wake up and enjoy a cup of coffee! Leon and Nelly are so attentive to the details and needs of those vacationing or who are away on business that you have all the comforts of home without any of the stress! Wonderful space.....large spacious open kitchen with a great sound system, a peaceful patio and porch and all with in walking distance to Cranmore Mountain and downtown. A huge bonus is the welcoming of your canine family!! I am already for another trip to the Spruce and we just got home yesterday!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Awfully friendly, Awfully homey, Awfully welcoming, Awfully charming, Awfully good breakfast, but mostly, it was awfully hard to leave.

I have to say, this is our 5th or 6th visit, but it was our first stay in the inn, we usually have the dogs so we’d take a cabin. We have used all three and they are all great. The inn is obviously bigger and if you like meeting people from who knows where, then go for it. If you prefer to be alone, take a cabin, or you can be very comfortable staying in your room. Either way, you’ll love your stay. It’s a short walk down the hill to the village, and a 2 min car ride to the outlets. Once you are back home, its quiet and peaceful.

It is spotless, has very well kept grounds, and the guest do not leave any doggie surprises in the grass.

Both the cabins and the inn are decorated with true New England Charm, and the innkeepers do their profession proud. If there ever were a couple made for this line of work, Leon and Nellie are it. If they do not love what they do, then they are the best actors I have ever met.

Now what to do next time, Inn or cabin? Where we go, is a forgone conclusion.

Spruce Moose, “THE BEST!!!!”, if will be awfully hard for anyone to find better.

Thanks again, and again, and again....!!

Joe and Bea
Brossard
Canada

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fensterderome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2011

What a gem of a Bed and Breakfast Inn. So much to say! This in is situated in an excellent location close to downtown. We went with our two boys and they loved it. We occupied two bedrooms that were very clean and tastefully decorated. The inn itself is so quaint... moose decorations abound! The innkeepers are so gracious. They made us feel like family. They were so attentive. I thought that I had lost my purse in town or somewhere in the inn, and they called around town - even the police. They also turned the place upside down to find it! Also, both mornings we were asked when we would like to have breakfast, and served a delicious and plentiful breakfast. Also charming were the three pooches that they have living there! I promise that you will love this inn as much as our family did! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All very nice, but the rooms downstairs in the inn are very romantic!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonasFrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews