We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Healthy Option!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of the local grocer

the local grocer
Ranked #30 of 93 Restaurants in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a health food store, cafe, deli and bakery. We specialize in organic, locally sourced, and creative breakfast and lunch food. We have something for the vegetarian, vegan, and conscious omnivore. We have an organic espresso/smoothie/juice bar in our cafe and offer many gluten free items both in our bakery and on our cafe menu (though we are not a gluten free facility). Our espresso bar uses locally roasted, organic, fair trade espresso and coffee, local milk and cream, and house made syrups. Our meats and cheeses are naturally and humanely raised, our eggs and local and organic, our bread is organic and house made, and our produce, nuts, seeds, and grains are 100% organic. We use recycled/recyclable to-go ware, and compost food waste at our own farm, Mountain Flower Farm, where we grow produce for our cafe and market in-season.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
169 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great Healthy Option!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We were in the area for a few days and have a child who has some very specific dietary needs. This place was like a mini Whole Foods. It carried not a ton of options for each product, but a little of everything. The prepared foods were excellent, particularly the desserts. If you require gluten-free foods, they certainly had plenty of prepared foods and items on the shelves that fit the bill. This place came recommended to us and I would certainly recommend it as well to the health conscious diner.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluebell98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    28
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cold Shoulder”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Came in looking for something (forget now) and got a very cold shoulder. Noone wanted to help out. Ended up leaving without getting help. Would have gotten some other things if I got some help.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTravels69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlijmen
Level Contributor
144 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“First health food site in North Conway - good stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We did not enjoy a whole meal here, but only bought some scones, energy chunks and smoothies for on the road.
But the smoothies are good, and totally healthy!
Spelt scones not bad either!

Worth recommending to those either visiting or living in North Conway.
Low-carb, paleo etc. Join the healthy people!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vsop-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place to have lunch or breakfast and grab some organic foods!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Nice, well stocked market for natural foods, organic stuff with the bonus of a cafe included! In an area that is all meat and not vege-friendly this was an oasis for us. The smoothies are great, the staff super friendly and the cafe food very tasty and creative. We sampled the tempeh reuben and the portobello panini, both were excellent, light but tasty! Highly recommend this place for anyone who wants "real food" in the area. Products in the store were a bit pricey, but it seemed to be the only place in the area with this type of product. We went back both days of our visit and will again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Menagerie-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
424 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great health food store with cafe & deli”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We were looking for health food option for our diner (we didn't feel like dining out).

We found this very nice health food store with many fresh fruits, vegetables, great deli & prepared meals...

We were delighted by their food and courteous customer service... A must!!!

Helpful?
Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the local grocer also viewed

North Conway, Conway
North Conway, Conway
 
North Conway, Conway
North Conway, Conway
 
North Conway, Conway
 

Been to the local grocer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing