We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Older Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Yankee Clipper Inn
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We checked in about 6:00 P.M. by a very nice staff with some apples, refreshments, and cookies available in the waiting area. We were assigned a room on the main floor of the back building. The room reminder us of a 50 year old motel and the furnishings reflect that. Though old, it is very clean and the mattress was much newer and quite comfortable. The included breakfast was adequate. As we were only staying overnight and moving on, it was adequate for us.

Room Tip: Back building is much quieter than the front building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JAMESknoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

I stayed here one night, Paid $69 & tax. I don't expect much at that rate and a free breakfast. The breakfast was just 2 eggs and toast and coffee. It was good ans that all I wanted that morning. The rooms was clean and comfortable. ( a little dated), but that what I expect for 69. The front desk help could improve.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rjmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This overpriced motel is not worth it. The staff at the front desk is never around. Guests are always looking for someone there and there's never anyone at the desk. The free breakfast is either a scam or just plain ridiculous. The line is out the door so you can't even get in without waiting a long time. We decided not to even bother with the line. They allow you eggs and toast on the menu, otherwise you have to pay for what you really want with a small deduction in price.
The king bed was really comfortable, and the room was nice although not big. No microwave probably because they want you to go to their restaurant. Do NOT stay here for the pool. It's not much bigger than a bathtub and is COLD. The hot tub wasn't too hot either and the floor is slippery. We will not be staying here again. Our balcony faced the highway and parking lot. Don't waste your time or money here when there are so many other places to stay.

Room Tip: Find a room at another motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Portia82104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We had a no smoking room that stunk like cigar smoke. I mean it was BAD. There was no sound buffer between our door and the hallway. And if you didn't manually lock the door you would get visitors. We had 2 attempts to open our door while there. The plumbing was ridiculously loud. So bad that you couldn't hear the TV if someone was in the shower...in our room or the one next or above us. The curtains offered little in privacy on the ground level. Caught me by surprise, but it was an easy fix. The only good from our experience was the nice lady who worked the front desk and the housekeepers who were always friendly. The Yankee Clipper Inn gets a C-. If they didn't offer a free breakfast, it'd get a D+. Such a waste too, because like I said, the staff were nice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

The room was ok and the beds were comfortable. Bathroom ceilings had water damage and a mess. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. I had seen in small writing that children may not be eligible for breakfast, so I was only expecting 2 free breakfasts at the Blueberry Muffin. Eggs and toast or $3.99 off your check was really an insult. I am up there often and just wanted to try a new place. I will stick to what I know.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pwebb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

When we arrived at the Yankee Clipper, we had high hopes. We didn't expect a 5 star hotel, just a nice bed and fulfilling breakfast with an indoor pool. We were disappointed on every single aspect. The hotel was built in the 70's and obviously hasn't been remodeled since, with what appears to be the same carpeting and bedding since it was built. Then came the news that the breakfast that we had hoped would fill my family of 4 up in the mornings, consisted of 2 eggs, toast & coffee.... for 2 of us. Apparently my kids don't need to eat this week. I was hoping for a nice buffet or big breakfast to start our day off right, but that was not to be. Then we headed to the pool. The indoor pool was small. I would not swim in there if there was any one else in there. My family of 4 was ok, but it was minimal and not anything like I had hoped for. All in all, it was a huge disappointment and point of frustration.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We selected the place for free breakfast, assuming we could grab and go. However free breakfast is two eggs today and coffee or $3 99 credit in their restaurant which was MOBBED! We ended up having to stop at McDonald's which was disappointing. Otherwise nice, clean place, with a very friendly staff.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank ncabral99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
2.2 km away
Forest Glen Inn
Forest Glen Inn
#16 of 25 in North Conway
94 reviews
0.8 km away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
5.1 km away
White Trellis Motel
White Trellis Motel
#24 of 25 in North Conway
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 25 in North Conway
714 reviews
5.3 km away
Clarendon Motel
Clarendon Motel
#21 of 25 in North Conway
84 reviews
0.3 km away
Junge's Motel
Junge's Motel
#18 of 25 in North Conway
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yankee Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yankee Clipper Inn

Address: 1769 White Mountain Hwy, PO Box 479, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5115
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Price Range: $109 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Yankee Clipper Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yankee Clipper is on the way to everything......At the center of it all. With 24 hour front desk staffing, our 68 comfortable rooms have cable TV, Wi-Fi, and refrigerators. King bedded rooms have gas fireplaces and Jacuzzi bathtubs. We offer dog friendly rooms. Relax in our hot tub or indoor pool (outside pool closed in the winter). Breakfast Special for 2 adults at our on-site Blueberry Muffin Restaurant open from 7:00am to 2:00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Yankee Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yankee Clipper Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing