We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Food, Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of May Kelly's Cottage Restaurant and Pub

May Kelly's Cottage Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #1 of 93 Restaurants in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We visited on a Thursday night where they have a 2 for $26 special. This includes 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and 2 desserts. The food was excellent. The potato cakes with horseradish sauce were excellent. The service was a little slow, but they were busy. The atmosphere was fun and reminded me of a recent trip to Ireland.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    253
    78
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A super meal in a cool place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This restaurant is so cool....it's like you are in someone's house with all the neat decorations and wall hangings. It is so cozy and wonderfully decorated. They have a bar in the middle, where sometimes entertainment plays. The seating is plentiful. The menu features down home comfort food. Everything is delicious - you can't go wrong with this restaurant. It is casual so don't bother dressing up. The service is wonderful. This restaurant is located on the west side of White Mountain Highway in North Conway, not far from Stonehurst Manor and Delano's. I highly recommend this place - I agree with all of the other positive reviews below. When in North Conway - Ma Kelly's is the place to go!!! Great for couples, groups and families.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beau S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor,Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I ate here tonight, and it was so delicious! On Thursday's there's a deal where, for $26, two people can choose a small appetizer each, an entree, and a small dessert. You can't beat that!

We both had the Irish potato cake appetizer which was yummy. For our meals, he had a glazed pork chop dish and I had broccoli and cheese stuffed chicken breasts. My husband said it was great, ate every bite, and, for a minute, I thought he was going to lick his plate! Mine was equally delicious! My only regret is that I couldn't finish it all, especially knowing dessert was coming.

For dessert he had the Bailey's cheesecake, and I had the apple cranberry crisp. Again, both were worthy of a plate-licking and had we been at home, we might have actually done it! LOL

If you are coming to North Conway, this is a MUST-DO!! You won't regret it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vzteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good - but not our favourite!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We went here on our last night, as we had tried the two previously Monday's when they are closed!
I had Meatloaf, OH had Irish Mixed Grill, both meals were fine, but I wouldn't really recommend them. On the table next to us a Lady had ordered Curry and that looked and smelt divine! The also had some wonderful sounding salads on the menu.
Portions were extremely generous, prices very reasonable and it's a really nice atmosphere. We may have just picked the wrong menu items.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Pub to drink a rainy day away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Service is great, atmosphere is like the ILA we all miss. Great pints and traditional Irish fare. If you day isn't living up to expectations, pull in and stay a while.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed May Kelly's Cottage Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 
North Conway, Conway
 

Been to May Kelly's Cottage Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing