We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The entire meal and dining experience bordered on perfection.”

Murphy's Steakhouse
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Pittsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Murphy's Steakhouse in Pittsburg, NH is fine dining in a casual, comfortable and rustic setting. Rustic appeal, cozy fireplace, wonderful views of 1st Connecticut Lake and fantastic food all make a very memorable experience. During the summer/fall months enjoy outdoor dining on the patio with a wood burning fire to add to the ambiance. Our menu features wonderful steaks, seafood, duck, and pasta. Join us at our Chefs Table! A special offering to guests who want a truly memorable dining experience! Chefs will prepare a four course customized dinner for you and your guests and will be table side before each course to explain ingredients and preparation. We'd love to help you with your next function, family event or celebration.
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The entire meal and dining experience bordered on perfection.”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My wife and I dined at Murphy's Steakhouse on the evening of 12/8/2011. We both had the strip steak and both steaks were perfectly medium rare just as ordered. The steaks were tender, juicy and just plain delicious. The potato dishes we ordered with our meals were excellent and the vegtables were perectly al dante. The service was excellent; attentive but not at all intrusive. The atmosphere also was very nice. We will definately dine there again the next time we are in Pittsburg, NH.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearTree91, Manager at Murphy's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Hello and Thank You for your kind review of Murphy's Steakhouse! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience and that your meals were delicious! Please stop in again to see us when your visiting Pittsburg, NH. Thank you for taking the time to review Murphy's and enjoy your winter! Best to you, Chantal Carney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    13
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Overall Meal”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Excellent meal in Pittsburg after a long day in the cold. Service was excellent and the steak was excellent in this quaint location. If I am ever in the area again I will definitely go back. This place gets busy to make a reservation.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scubascott1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearTree91, Manager at Murphy's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Hello and Thank you! We are so glad that you came and gave Murphy's Steakhouse a try and that you were happy with your meal and service! We hope to see you again soon! Best to you in 2012! Chantal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious!!!”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My fiance and I have chosen Bear Tree to host our upcoming wedding in July. Naturally tasting the food and making sure it is great is very important to us. We made reservations through Chantal and was greeted at the door by the owner, Georgie. She was very friendly and seemed really excited we were visiting! Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and happened to be the bar manager. We requested certain beverages be available at our wedding and he was great. We then proceeded to order, we had the cajun bites for our appetizer and they were cooked amazingly! We then ordered, I had the petite filet mignon with dirty mashed and my fiance had steak tenderloin also with mashed. I honestly have not had a meal that good in years! Both our steaks were perfectly cooked and the sides were delicious!

We are in the North Country at least once a month and would highly recommend Murphy's Steakhouse for anyone! Portions are great, service is wonderful, and the atmosphere was very homey! Additionally, we are VERY happy we have chosen Bear Tree for our wedding and cannot wait for that day!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearTree91, Manager at Murphy's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Murphy's Steakhouse! We are thrilled to be helping you with your upcoming wedding this summer and look forward to meeting the rest of your families! Enjoy the winter and the planning process! Chantal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is a quality dining experience, both food and ambience, that one might not expect in a wilderness area!”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Everything about being at Murphy's was great from the personal welcome as we arrived, to the creative cuisine and attentive service, to the very restful and pleasant surroundings, topped off by helpful hiking suggestions from the hostess who loves northern New Hampshire too. This is THE place we will return to when we go back again! (We have tried several restaurants in the region.)

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chengelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Stopped in to Murphy's one night after looking for Moose. No reservation and alot of cars so hoped they could get us in. They did, without a problem. We had a very nice waitress that treated us wonderfully. The hostess (possibly the owner) came and visited with us. Love the fact that they have smaller portions available. It was late and we weren't ravenous. I had the petite filet with roasted red potatoes and veggies and it was excellent and the perfect size! My husband had the baked haddock and enjoyed some of their apple crisp for dessert. Loved his meal as well. This place is what true hospitality is all about. They couldn't do enough to make us feel comfortable and the foot was nothing short of mouthwateringly delicious! Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murphy's Steakhouse also viewed

Pittsburg, White Mountains
Pittsburg, White Mountains
 
Pittsburg, White Mountains
Pittsburg, White Mountains
 

Been to Murphy's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing