We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Common Man Inn & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tea Rose Inn(Plymouth)
US$145
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Ashland)
US$86
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Oak Motel & Cottages(Holderness)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mill Falls at the Lake(Meredith)(Great Value!)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
235
94
15
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
94
15
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubgas fireplaceroom restaurantscreen dooritalian farmhousenew hampshiregreat barbreakfast cafeold millrock waterfallwedding weekendpet friendly roomtake advantageexceeded my expectationsshine cafeon site restaurantstandard room
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 356 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Common Man Inn is a very nice, rustic Inn. There is a bit too much going on in the lobby and on the walls for my taste but to each is own. The room was nice and comfortable. Good size, mattresses are showing some wear but the most disappointing aspect was the noise! Day, night, morning it didn't matter, there were dance classes for elephants going on above us the whole time we were there. Our room number was 225, so if you have a reservation, I highly suggest requesting a room far from 225. The Inn has no sound proofing at all, I am guessing it is the drop ceilings thru out. Sound travels above that type of ceiling. Needless to say, I went home and got some sleep there. So, I recommend the Spa, and the Inn, just request the room away from the dance classes for extremely large animals.

Room Tip: Stay far from 225, or any room with a level above it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

We are so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay in room 225; it is one of our most requested standard two queen bedded room. I apologize for the noise above, we do have some one on the front desk 24 hours, so please feel free to call and we will take of the situation.
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you in the futrue at the Inn, we promise a restful night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I went to the Common Man for a wedding and loved it! The room was a great size and very clean and comfortable. I loved the rustic vibe of the hotel and it made for a very beautiful fall wedding.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Inn & Spa.
Fall weddings are our favorite; the charm of the restored old mill and the rustic decor are the perfect back drop to a fall wedding at the Inn.
We hope you will visit us again in the near future and thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We have made several trips to The Common Man over the past few years. It has begun to feel like home. The rooms are interesting and cozy. Many have fireplaces and comfortable sofas and chairs. Beds are clean and comfortable, and rooms are quiet. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Two negatives would be the price is a little high, especially on weekends and it is time to upgrade to HD televisions. We always enjoy our visits to the Common Man. Take the time to look at the old local photos adorning the walls.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you for your review, it is such a compliment to be compared to 'home', this is what we strive for!
Weekends are a busy time for us; however we do offer some great specials mid week.
We are in the process of upgrading our televisions, so hopefully there will be a new one awaiting your next arrival!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2012

A really quaint place to stay. This hotel is a must stay if you are in the area. You definitely get a "warm and cozy" feeling while at this hotel. The lobby is like no other, quaint and rustic just don't seem to give justice to this place. Stayed in a large room with a gas fireplace that turned on as soon as I opened the door - nice touch! Was only there for a one night stay for business but look forward to going back. Nice bar and good food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steaks73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2012

Thank you for your review, 'warm & cozy', two of our favorite words!
We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We have stayed at this inn at least six times over the years and it's one of our favourite places to stay in the States. As far as I remember it is a converted mill and they have made a very good job of it. It is nice to stay somewhere with character rather than the usual run of the mill motels.

It is cosy with various comfortable places to sit with open fires. There's also draughts and other board games provided. The rooms are very nice and decorated in a country style.

We love the swimming pool which was a lovely temperature and the two hot tubs. While we were there we also had a facial back massage in the spa which was great.

We did not eat there although the menu looked good as we always go to the Italian Farmhouse which is under the same ownership., We did however have a drink in the lower level of the bar by a lovely open fire.

We always love seeing Fletcher (the resident cat) and were delighted that he is New Hampshire cat of the year! He really is a character and adds to the atmosphere of the inn.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2012

Thank you for your kind words.
It is so nice to read how you enjoyed all of the amenities that we provide at the Inn & Spa and that you were able to enjoy one of our restaurants.
Thank you for your kind words, Fletcher thanks you as well!
Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews