We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place with lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Even before our arrival, we called and met Megan on the phone. She warmly assured us that our room would be available, despite our later than expected arrival. When we met her, she did not alter that evaluation. Her customer service skills are perfect. We met Steven in the morning and he was helpful and kind as we checked out.

Our area included two bedrooms that were adjoining and which shared a bathroom with a door to each bedroom. It was more room than we needed but would be perfect for a family.

The bed was very comfortable and we had a great night's rest. In the morning we had make-your-own waffles with many toppings available. There was also fresh fruit in addition to the hard boiled eggs and cereals.

This is truly a lovely place and I am so glad we found it here on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: We had room 117 and it actually had two adjoining bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yoohoo614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

On our travels, unless we're staying at a luxurious resort, we choose an overnight motel or hotel for location, quiet, comfort, cleanliness and value. Port Inn in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, checked all the boxes. Located at 505 U.S. Highway 1 Bypass, convenient to the John Paul Jones and Rundlet-May houses, the 56-room establishment is a great place to rest and relax during your visit to historic Portsmouth. We chose a King Room with a king-sized bed and 32-inch flat screen HDTV, a spacious room, comfortable, clean, quiet, well-appointed. Add a friendly and helpful staff, an excellent complimentary continental breakfast and dry cleaning and laundry service (always a welcome bonus for travelers who are on the road for three or four weeks). Not to mention a good value. Everything you want to see is within walking distance or a short drive. After dinner, you can sit in the terrace garden, smell the salty ocean air and jot down notes for your TripAdvisor reviews. Oh, my wife reminds me that she loves the Starbucks coffee in the room. We definitely made a good choice.

Room Tip: At Port Inn, it's all about comfort and cleanliness and quiet and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here a few nights as well traversed New England on our annual vacation. The Port Inn is a small, quaint, quiet place to relax at the end of your day. They welcomed us and made sure our small dog felt at home with dog treats and a dog bowl. Coffee, breakfast each morning was always welcomed. Just great place to stay if your in the Portsmouth, NH area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank marlinda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

I have stayed in Ascend Boutique hotels in various states and have never been disappointed. True to form, I was not disappointed.

First off, I enjoyed the convenience of parking in front of my room. I felt the area is safe enough to stay in a ground floor room. No problems at all. (Would I stay in a ground floor room in Dallas?? NO!)

The rooms are large enough to hold a queen size bed or two doubles. The queen bed is very comfortable and made with quality linens. The room has a nice flat screen television with a good assortment of channels.

The bathroom is nicely renovated with marble on the counters and which also surrounds the shower. The bathroom was spotless and was equipped with shampoo, conditioner and lotion. The linens are a nice, thick quality.

There is a coffee maker with Starbuck's coffee and assorted tea bags. The refrigerator and microwave are always handy.

The Port Inn offers a continental breakfast buffet in the small reception lobby. There is a computer and printer available for guests, also.

There is a nice, small pool area in a nicely landscaped area on the backside of the property.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CtYankee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Alexa was a very very big help and an excellent receptionist! She was fast polite and very courteous. Also helped me fix a couple of things for my membership showed me how to use the Trip Advisor app!! She is an excellent receptionist and deserves to be compensated for her well mannered and courteous personality! Great asset to your business...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Nice place to stay. Clean and convenient location to the beach. Steven the GM was very helpful and knowledgeable of the site seeing locations. Definitely coming back next year. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. The pets were quiet! Continental breakfast was fresh and delicious.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dpearson907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Great to drive-up to your room with exterior access, and enjoyed the outdoor pool that is heated and open until 10pm during high season reservations. Friendly staff that boosted my car the next morning after leaving the interior lights on all night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool view, or go for the large suite, second floor for 6 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Frequent-flyers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.6 km away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
525 reviews
1.9 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
2.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 505 US Highway 1 Byp, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4175 (Formerly Port Inn Portsmouth)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: C$123 - C$245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing