We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$141
View deal
Expedia.comUS$141
Hotels.comUS$141
TravelocityUS$141
Hilton Garden InnUS$141
PricelineUS$141
Lol.travelUS$160
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,670)
Filter reviews
1,670 results
Traveller rating
1,004
446
98
62
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,004
446
98
62
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking great location front desk within walking distance great stay valet service street parking cookies per day pool and hot tub shops and restaurants would definitely stay here again downtown maine waterfront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,670 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2022 via mobile

Other than the location there was not much to be impressed about. Very worn out hotel with moderately clean rooms, dirty hallways, and most disappointing was the staff that seemed very uninterested is providing any kind of customer service but was rather haste in quoting policy and referred all questions to “the manager”. The same snooty female Gen Z agent at check-in and check-out and one grumpy old man in the morning. With all the other hotel options I would suggest giving the others a shot before you stay with this one.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 15, 2022 via mobile

Great location great staff, filthy and in need of serious updating.
Shower quite moldy, bedspread threadbare, I would not recommend for 400 a room , yikes.

We love Portsmouth we had a wonderful dinner and a nice walk a hotels a mess simply a mess simply a mess.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 5, 2022

Spent one night here on our recent trip to the east coast. The location is excellent with walking distance to the downtown area. Customer service was really lacking at check in; No recognition of Diamond service; no room upgrade. We were told we were getting points instead of $10 per day credit. Person checking us in had no idea what we were asking for. She had to go get someone else. The following morning we had breakfast in the restaurant and only received one $10 credit. When asked at check out was told only one person registered to the room. This was obviously changed at check in as I checked my original reservation and two people were registered. Breakfast was very expensive and just OK. Our server was not very attentive and acted bored to be working. No explanation whether we could help ourself to juice and make our own toast. No water offered at check in either. Valet parking is an absurd price as well. Valet atendant was less than friendly. Got out of the car and went immediately into the hotel. Never even bothered to ask if he could help load our bags. I would not stay here again for the price and lack of service. Room was OK. Bar was closed while we were there entire time. Property has potential, but needs some changes.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank chapmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Triin P, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2022

Thank you for your recent feedback. We thrive to give all our guests a great experience and we apologize for not been able to provide you with one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2022

Hotel location great, but rooms need definite work. The AC in both rooms we stayed in one was blowing warm air, the other one rattled beyond belief, and was quite obnoxious all night long. The refrigerator in one room was not even cold.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank chrismorse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Triin P, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2022

Thank you for your recent feedback. We thrive to give all our guests a great experience and we apologize for not been able to provide you with one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2022 via mobile

Congratulations!

Worst check in for me so far in 2022! Hilton followers here..

We are Diamond membera and I travel every week on business.

The snobbery given at check in was embarrassing towards my wife beyond compare.

Great location in an amazing city but the property management has obviously been put to lunch.

The valet service was the highlight and it was only fair.

Poor property management practices and the who cares attitude at the front desk is just for starters. The building has remnants not yet addressed since last winter.

Our bill was wrong and that met with our experience of our stay.

The bill for parking and breakfast was outrageous. Not worth it. Give value for your product.

In comparison, our stay here tonight in the Brigewater NJ Garden Inn property is quite the opposite experience in all aspects.

Be ready to be disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank gtrotter2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Triin P, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2022

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. As a teachable moment, we have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure to do better in the future. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever you travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews