We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
125
116
61
41
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
116
61
41
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub continental breakfast room was clean bagels off the highway indoor pool portsmouth area waffle maker third floor stayed here for one night convenient location close to downtown diner
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 390 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2018

The staff is very friendly and nice however that unfortunately does not make up for the hard as rocks beds, lumpy pillows and not so great housekeeping. It's now 4 days later and my back has not recovered. The continental breakfast was alright but the orange juice tasted watered down and my 7 year old wouldn't drink it and the cereal was on the stale side. The pool which we didn't get a chance to use but checked out was in a room with a very hot temperature that made it hard to breathe and the spa was out of order. Found hair in the tub and sink which is outside the bathroom. Couldn't leave the bathroom light on for a little night light as it was also connected to the fan which made to much noise even though there was a separate switch that did nothing. Other guest seemed to wake up around 4 am and was hard not to notice.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car you would get a better night sleep.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wisteria83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie C, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Thank you for your review, We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. Please always keep in mind there is someone at the desk 24 hours a day to help you with any issues that you may have during your stay. It is our #1 goal to make sure you always enjoy your stay here with us.
We do hope you will come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Best part was the sweet girl checking us in. Very outdated. I found hair and dust everywhere. A definite mold/musty scent to bathroom. Concerns that water damage was being covered up. Our bed spread had rust spots all over it. Shower was hot and that was nice. Even the elevator had hair stuck all over the signage.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Smittenkitten2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie C, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Thank you for your review, We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. Please always keep in mind there is someone at the desk 24 hours a day to help you with any issues that you may have during your stay. It is our #1 goal to make sure you always enjoy your stay here with us.
We do hope you will come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2018 via mobile

Booked a room here for a one-night birthday staycation, as we live close. Checked in, the staff was very friendly. However, once we got to our room, we were horrified. The room was basically in the basement, tucked off into the furthest corner of the building. Opened the door, the room was tiny and had a strange odor to it. The fridge was making a god-awful noise. All of this I was willing to overlook, until I sat on the bed. It sounded like a roll of plastic and felt like a sheet of plywood. Immediately booked a room somewhere else. Total length of stay: 20 minutes.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Seufert30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie C, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Thank you for your review, We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. Please always keep in mind there is someone at the desk 24 hours a day to help you with any issues that you may have during your stay. It is our #1 goal to make sure you always enjoy your stay here with us.
We do hope you will come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2018

I booked 3 rooms for the weekend of UNH graduation. Our stay was great! The staff was very accommodating.We enjoy the continental breakfast daily and used the pool and hottub. The rooms are on the small size, but we found them quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 16irishmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie C, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Thank you for your kind review and we do look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Portsmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2018

This room was clean, affordable and dog friendly. It seems they place families with pets on the lower level which was fine. It smelled clean and the rooms were clean. Well used property. We enjoyed using the pool. A very basic continental breakfast. Close to downtown and the highway.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VisitVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie C, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We'd like to let you know that we are not a pet friendly hotel any longer. We do however allow service dogs,We do hope you will come and visit us again on your next trip to Portsmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews