We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "get away from it all" Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree MA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great "get away from it all" Resort”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Mountain View twice in the last 6 months. Both visits we couldn't have been happier. The location is amazing, with views of New Hampshire mountain range - quiet - and relaxing. the staff was friendly and helpful at all times. The resort has much to offer for families as well as - a movie theatre - game room and outdoor activities too. The rooms were clean and well furnished- right down to the lotions and soaps supplied in the room..... My Earth products - eco friendly and not to forget the best body lotion I have ever tried....( I wish they sold the products in the gift shop). You can't go wrong with this great mountain get away.....

Ruth Pendleton
Braintree MA

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rap44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Ruth,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and the amenities we offer. We can't wait to welcome you back in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    479
    152
    92
    64
See reviews for
789
785
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Just returning from a weekend away at the Mountain View Grand Resort with my family. Wow, what a fantastic place. We had found this place through a google search of places to stay near Bretton Woods and had never even heard of the resort before, so we really weren't sure what to expect. What a pleasant surprise this place turned out to be. The hotel is beautiful, with the feel of an impeccably refurbished historic Inn. The rooms were so clean and nice, the vast grounds and panoramic mountain views just breathtaking, the restaurant food delicious, and the service top notch. They even have a great spa on the top floor of the hotel. The best part for us was the plethora of things to do with our children, ages 5 and 8. They have an activity center with fun and appealing activities scheduled hourly (soccer, football, smores at the campfire, bingo, etc). There is a farm on the property where the kids could pet the goats, touch noses with the llamas, collect eggs from the chicken coop, and take horse back rides. There is an indoor pool (and outdoor pool in the summer), movie theater, game room, sitting rooms with board games, hiking trails, horse-drawn carriage rides. Our kids didn't want to leave. We will definitely be back. What a find!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAA2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. The number of amenities our resort offers is vast and it sounds like you were able to take advantage of most of them. We are glad your stay with us was such an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Spent two nights and the Mountain View and was impressed with the quality renovations, great service, meals and spectacular views. Staying at a hotel like the Grand gives the guest a sense of what it was like to be a vacation traveler at the turn of the century.
Worth the drive!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing. We appreciate your kind remarks and we look forward to welcoming you to the resort again in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Another wonderful experience at the Mountain View Grand. We recently spent four days at the MVG with our six year old and enjoyed everything from horse rides and gathering chicken eggs to spa services and drinks on the vast porch overlooking the Presidentials and the Franconia Notch range.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My family and I spent the weekend at the Mountain View Grand and absolutely loved it. Though there was no snow, Ms. Baker, Jeff and Rachel of the children's activity center helped us keep the kids outside and having fun. The views from the common rooms were spectacular. And the service! Everyone was so gracious and warm! It made for a perfect weekend. There was so much to do without the manic vibe of a larger resort. We're definitely coming back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaMaria6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Anna Maria,

Thank you for taking time to review. Your kind words about Ms. Baker, Jeff and Rachel have been passed on. We look forward to your future visit.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Just enjoyed attending a banquet event here - and must say the food was great --- but the service even better! Many times, business banquets seem hurried and sterile - but very gracious servers, leisurely passed (and hot) hors d'oeuvres, and the setting were really the stars of the night.
Would recommend to anyone looking for a banquet/event destination - other reviews can speak to the accomodations and wedding packages.
[By the way, the 'cleanliness' score is only due to my husband's report of the adjacent men's room]

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClergyChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review. The Mountain View Grand offers business and group banquet services for many different types of events. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

From the moment we saw it ,until we left , we completely enjoyed our stay . The staff was great and our room was clean and beautiful. The views are beautiful in all directions. Will definitely return and my even plan our wedding here !

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bt196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Your kind words about our staff and accommodations have been passed on. We look forward to welcoming you to the resort, and are grateful you are considering us for your wedding .

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
20.0 km away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
735 reviews
19.3 km away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
285 reviews
15.8 km away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
205 reviews
19.7 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,471 reviews
13.8 km away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, New Hampshire - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing