We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“thumbs down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dormer House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dormer House
Ranked #16 of 44 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
riverdale nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“thumbs down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

this was our first time staying there. when we first arrived we noticed a big hole in the screen door! not a good first impression. that was also the dining area. the owner's never introduced themselves to us. breakfast was not good at all. our room was lovely & afternoon refreshments were ok....it was the week of hurricane Irene. after 3 day's there we were told we had to evacuate & that they would refund our money for the days we had left....so we went home. to make a long story short the innkeepers never responded to our "several" messages that we left saying that we wanted our refund and to please call us...never did. finally they answered the phone after 2 weeks had gone by, said they would send us a check out the next day. ( we requested a check because we had paid our balance in cash when we got there), another 2 weeks went by and of course no one answered the phone or called us back on the messages we left. then we get our credit card bill in the mail & they had credited that instead of sending us a check like we asked, & again we called to complain about that and they never answered the phone. we did leave a very disgruntled message about what they did but they never responded.... needles to say we will never stay there again & def. not recommend this place to anyone. we've stayed in several B&B's in cape may and they have all been outstanding....except this one

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    49
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
126
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hazlet, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

This past weekend my husband and I along with sister and brothers with spouses had the pleasureable experience of staying at the Dormer House. Lillian and Dennis have a warm and approachable personality! Rooms were very neat and clean. Mattress was a little too soft but, everyone has there own opinion on that. Centrally located near shops and attractions. Afternoon tea was nice and breakfasts were very good. Plenty of parking either on the street or lot in the back of the house. We had a wonderful time with great memories by staying there. I am sure we will be back again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I have been traveling to Cape May for years with my family. We found the Dormer House online and decided to give it a try. From the moment we called to reserve, we had nothing but great customer service. When we arrived, we were greeted by several friendly employees, and were taken to our room by Lucille....the owner herself...who guided us through a house tour on the way. Our room was gorgeous....huge jacuzzi tub,flat screen T.V, comfortable bed, and it had been tastefully decorated. They served us a hot breakfast every day of our stay,as well as a tea time every afternoon with homemade goodies....Dennis and Lucille were great....we already booked for next year!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHARLESLEELEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakedapple, Owner at The Dormer House, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thanks for the nice review and taking the time to do so. Loved having you both and can't wait to see you next year. Lucille & Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

A great location to start your holiday weekend, on the first weekend of December. Try to make this your weekend because of the Christmas Parade (to be explained later).

It is very easy to find the Dormer House, with parking for about 10 cars in the back. Curb side parking is also available. Walking from the parking lot, you come to the "12 wide white stairs", which places you at the end of the dining room. Use this way to make your entrance. Just open the door, walk right in, make a right turn and walk into the Central Hall. Our eyes opened wide at the holiday display, that would greet us every day, and lead us to our room on the second floor.

We rented the Commodore John Jacoby Suite, which gave us plenty of space with a sofa sitting room, but also a nice private bathroom. A very nice bed, that gave us wonderful relief for the hours of shopping, the christmas parade, tours, and over 8 hours of solid sleep per day. My suggestion is to make your stay from Thursday night to Sunday morning, or longer. An early Thursday start in Cape May, allows you to pick up brochure's at the Cape May County Department of Tourism, and plan from there.

Physick Estate is one that you should visit, and then again visit at night time for the light show. The CHRISTMAS CANDLELIGHT HOUSE TOURS are available for Dec. 3rd, but you need to make reservations. You will be going to several bed and breakfast establishments for a look at their decorations from the inside to the outside.

A must shopping is at the Washington Street Mall, which is about 2 or so blocks from the Dormer house. It has that seashore atmosphere that we were looking for, and should be see from the daytime and also at night. Make sure you go down the alley way shops, which open after 11 a.m. We found some of the best specials in those areas, with that British backstreet feeling. Coffee, snacks, cakes and other edible morning things are available and quite good. Take note that the Washington Street mall in not only on Washington Street. There are shops on both alley sides.

While at the Dormer House, get some advice on places to eat. Many of the summer restaurants shut down for the winter. I did about 8 hours of research and phone calls to find this out, but I was well prepared. One place we really liked was the Bella Vida Garden Cafe, which is one of the restaurants on Broadway, that is open in the winter. Really good food, with nice side portions for the sides. If you like cheese steak sandwiches, take note that it is made differently down there. Since it had no sauce on it, I asked for a side of salsa, and used that for the sauce. It was a quick way to adapt, and give it a great taste. For some good pizza take out, we went to Brothers Pizza. Both of these places are less than 5 minutes from the Dormer House. Note - Brothers Pizza had a good take out business going while we ate there.

I believe the Christmas Parade is on Saturday night, at 5 p.m. There is a grassy island, that is a block long, located at the intersection of West Grant and Broadway streets.
We got there at 4:30 p.m. with our chairs, and waited for the show to start. Of special note, make sure that you wear very heavy clothing (snowmobile suit if you have it), heavy socks and insulated boots. It was cold in Cape May at that time, but maybe it will be different for you. A special note, I parked behind the Brothers Pizza place, so I could avoid the parade, and take the back way home to the Dormer House.

On another note, I also believe that the Parade and the CHRISTMAS CANDLELIGHT HOUSE TOURS are on the same night. You need to choose which one you might enjoy more.
We also took the horse and buggy ride on Friday night, and it was just enchanting. Our driver looked like and talked just like Jodie Foster. She gave an excellent explanation of all of the decorated bed and breakfast places that we passed by. Make sure that you have your camera with you, and have the rider take your photo of you on the carriage. It made a great Christmas Card for us.

Now, back to the Dormer House. Cookies and things, along with coffee and tea, were available to snack on. As we sat in the inviting living room, there was something unusual to see, whichever way you turned. Soft holiday music played, with all of the living room's colors and decorations. There is a festive feeling as you talk with the other guests, who were staying for the weekend. Occasionally, you catch yourself looking at the Christmas tree in the Central Hall. Enough said, but for you to see.

For morning breakfast, we enjoyed the smells as we came down the stairs. We found the dining room quite cozy, with glass windows all around you, as we went for our drink of choice and some cake. Dennis and Lucille will greet you at every chance they have, to make you feel at home with warm smiles and personal enjoying conversations.

It was a once in a lifetime 3 days for us, one that we will never forget. With the 3 day weekend, we didn't feel rushed around and feeling that we missed something. The saturation of the warm feelings and holiday spirit will carry you all of the way home. We found ourselves talking all of the way home, which was a good two and a half hours.

May you all have the best of the same that we enjoyed.
Jerry and Barbara

Room Tip: Plan ahead for your activities. Reservations for the B&B tour is a must., and check ahead for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryandBarb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My best friend and I were going to cape may for vacation initially because a beach house had been lent to us by a family friend for the week...the house was not kept up well and in some serious disrepair when we arrived, so we quickly searched for B&B's to stay in that same night through the week. Most places didn't have a full availability until we called the Dormer House. They offered us a great rate (because we booked very last minute) and the room was all ready for us- because we were already in Cape May, they let us look at the room in person before we booked. They were vacation savers! It worked out well, they let us change rooms once (again, due to last minute booking). Lucille and Dennis, the innkeepers were so accommodating and would help answer any questions we had. They gave great suggestions for restaurants, and we had a wonderful time thanks to their hospitality. The breakfasts were outstanding- perfect portions that left you feeling full of energy and ready for a day on the beach! Afternoon tea was a wonderful way to relax and talk to some of the other people staying there. Dennis even told us about a great less crowded spot on the beach we could go to, and it was fantastic. I would highly recommend them, they are such a wonderful Bed and Breakfast!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meggs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakedapple, Owner at The Dormer House, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you so much for picking The Dormer House. You both were a true delight. Glad you had a great time. Hope to see you again!
Lucille and Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Dormer House for our anniversary. We have been looking forward to this trip for a long time and definitely were NOT DISAPPOINTED. The owners, Lucille and Dennis, were very friendly and accommodating. They even sat and talked with us on the beautiful front porch for awhile during tea time (which was filled with freshly baked treats that Lucille bakes herself!)
Our room was exquisite. It was very clean and the decor was inviting and romantic. The bed was extremely comfortable. The whirlpool tub for two added that extra special touch. Towels were conveniently changed every day.
Breakfast, which Dennis cooks himself, was delicious. Every day was something different. Some B&B's just put out muffins and stuff but The Dormer House goes that extra mile and serves a wonderful, hot meal. I also enjoyed the private tables for two on the glass enclosed sun porch, where breakfast was served.
The location was perfect. It was right in the center of town, conveniently located close to the Washington Street mall and the beach.
If you are looking for a B&B that is extra special, stay at the Dormer House. You wont be disappointed. We will, without a doubt, be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauradelphia722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

A very nice B&B built around 1899. The homemade breakfasts made each morning were so delicious that it made you look forward to having breakfast the next day! The Inn Keepers were very hospitable, making you feel as though you WERE at home. The Dormer Suite was very comfortable and spacious. Only a 5 minute walk to the beach and less than 5 minutes to shopping and restaurants. Perfectly situated. Off street parking made it easy to come and go as you please. The only drawback: the web site said that we'd have a refrig IN the room -- that wasn't the case. There was a "communal" refrig in the hallway (but was full most of the time). Nevertheless, I'd stay here again in a minute!

Room Tip: The Dormer Suite (3rd floor) was away from the noise of people on the varanda. Large Bathroom with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Postman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakedapple, Owner at The Dormer House, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
So glad you enjoyed our food. We take a lot of pride in making sure everyone does. I'm Italian and love to bake. Thank's again. Lucille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.5 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.7 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#8 of 44 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.0 km away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 44 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 km away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 44 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dormer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dormer House

Property: The Dormer House
Address: 800 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2310
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Dormer House Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing