We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Get away”
Review of Hotel Alcott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alcott
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This is a nice place. The rooms are small but well stocked, very clean and quiet. The staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. The hotel is easily within walking distance of the Washington Street Mall area (shops and restaurants) and also in a great neighborhood for just strolling and looking at house and architecture. October visit so parking was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

We have been coming to Cape May for our 10 years. Every summer we try to find a new property. This time we happened upon a deal at the Hotel Alcott. It was a pleasant surprise. We were warmly welcomed at the front desk. The two women were extremely patient with all of my questions.

We loved the continental breakfast. You can choose to sit inside or outside. The wait staff were friendly and quick.

I liked that we could leave our belongings in the library on the day we checked out. We were able to stay at the beach all day on Sunday, collect our items from the hotel, change in the downstairs bathroom and be on our way.

I did think the harpist was a lovely evening touch. As you made your way downstairs, we were greeted by lovely music. Next time, we hope to eat at the restaurant.

If you like to end your evening by rocking on the front porch, you will have a wonderful opportunity to do so.

Room Tip: Please be aware there there are not any elevators. I saw mother's struggling to pull their baby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Netstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Hotel Alcott was an amazing place to stay. Walking distance to many restaurants, shops and beach. Very clean! I stayed here with my husband and my sister and brother in law and we were all quite pleased with the hospitality of the staff!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 456carlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed the quiet ambience of this historic hotel on the edge of the historic district. Staff was friendly and library was nice. Accommodations clean and comfortable . A nice walk from the restaurant with a great bar.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Disappointed no close parking lot, but had to find spot on side streets. First night hard to sleep with loud noises from multiple A/C units outside window
Moved to another room next night, but again had loud noises, this time from water pipes. Breakfast had bagels, muffins, cereal, coffee, juice, etc. But the banana-strawberry yogurt was dated use by 9/25/17 when we were there 9/30/17. The hotel itself is a beautiful place and close to beach/washington mall area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 791warrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

My wife and I went to the hotel Alcott for our 25th anniversary. It is a true Victorian hotel, 2nd oldest in Cape May. It’s like stepping back in time from the lobby to our room. The queen room is big enough for two. If not for the tv you think you went back 100 years. The room was beautiful and clean the bed very comfortable. Sandy the GM is a sweetheart and very helpful and the staff is friendly. There is a free continental breakfast everything offered was fresh, I suggest eating on the front porch. Yes there is no elevator but they did not have 100 years ago so no big deal. Parking may be 5 or 6 blocks away you’re going to walk everywhere any way again no big deal. The beach is 1 block away and the center of town is a short walk. We highly reckoned the hotel Alcott. Only one thing disappointed me for a 140 year old hotel they do not have ghost so sad.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

I had a horrible experience with this hotel. I had reservations for a sibling weekend and my mother became gravely ill and we needed to cancel. They would not refund our $600.00 and we asked if it were as possible to just give us another weekend and they refused. We asked to speak to a manager twice but the reservation agent said the manager was not available. It was a terrible time for my family and their lack of sympathy only made it worse. Shameful

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank franny1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,253 reviews
0.3 km away
Sea Crest Inn
Sea Crest Inn
#10 of 37 in Cape May
603 reviews
0.9 km away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#9 of 37 in Cape May
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 37 in Cape May
276 reviews
0.9 km away
The Chalfonte
The Chalfonte
#24 of 37 in Cape May
205 reviews
0.4 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcott

Address: 107 Grant St, Cape May, NJ 08204-5322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range: $186 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcott 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Cape May Victorian hotel. Steps from the ocean and town center. Complimentary continental breakfast daily. Egyptian cotton linens. Tile/granite private baths. Complimentary lending library. Complimentary afternoon refreshments daily in-season. Special mid-week rates. Off-site parking. Fine dining in-season. Available for weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alcott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcott Hotel Cape May
Alcott Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing