We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
165
75
20
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
75
20
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast rocking chairs no elevator across the street great location hotel owner first floor bed was comfortable nice balcony air condition king room clean hotel great view of the ocean walking distance beach hotel c unit every summer
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 278 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2017

My husband and I stayed at Avondale for 4th of July week, then again the first week of August. Everyone on Staff was so nice to us. All accommodations are very clean. The location is central, and convenient to many of the attractions of Cape May. We had two wonderful vacation weeks. Thanks very much to everyone at Avondale for your hospitality and your on-going dedication to superior customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

GREAT stay!! Called last minute and she happened to have a King Room for two nights. We were on 3rd floor (she was sure to ask if that was ok since there are no elevators). Great view with 2 Adirondack chairs where we'd sit with our continental breakfast. Room was plenty large for two of us and super clean with all the towels we could need, nice sized TV, mini fridge and huge window that looked out onto Beach Ave.
Read some reviews about limited breakfast. Disagree! Gorgeous (huge!) bakery donuts, bagels, bananas, 4 brand name cereals, oatmeal packets, coffee and juices. What more could you want?! Great!
Can't speak to the pool since we didn't use it, but the EASE of having the beach and entrance way at a light to cross RIGHT there at hotel - awesome!!! Could grab chairs and umbrella from car and be on beach in 5 min.
Every single staff member was so nice, from phone to in person. And, we got there a few hours before check in and were given a parking pass with no issues. That was very much appreciated!
Twice we have stayed at another cheaper hotel behind Congress Hall. We were happy there, but were so glad we couldn't get in and that we found Avondale. It is SO worth the few more dollars for all the reasons listed. And people who think it's expensive - it is the Jersey Shore and Cape May. Shop around. You'll find these prices comparable or lower to other places!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jldish22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

Very clean and conveniently located, the Avondale was the perfect spot for a girls weekend. The staff accommodated four on the balcony with extra seating, and the room was ample with two queens, a cozy chair, a large dresser and closet. Also there was mini frig with counter space (for bar) and table and chairs for board games!! All this with the beach right across the street. The downfall is NO elevator, but the view from the 3rd floor balcony make the stairs worth it!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank JMaliniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017

Our first time and we loved it! We WILL be back! The room and whole hotel is IMMACULATE. Rocking chairs in front of our room facing the beach! What a beautiful full moon we saw while there. Friendly, helpful staff. Continental breakfast with the best cream doughnut we've had in a long time! (Hey, what's a vacation for if not to go off diet for a few days! :-) So happy we could get in at the last minute. Walk across street to beach... one block to Convention Hall... about two blocks to the Washington Street Mall....walking distance to everything. Highly recommend. We are seniors and had no trouble with the stairs (no elevator...you could request a room on the first floor). Also... very quiet. A very pleasant stay... parking on site a plus!!!

Room Tip: Second floor (we had) has best view of beach!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2017

I found this location on Trip Advisor and the reviewers got this place right! So happy with our stay. Great location (across from the Convention Center). Right smack dab in the middle of many things, but quiet at night. Overall clean hotel. Friendly staff. Free light breakfast til 10am. Awesome pool - very clean (with a wading pool for the little ones). Ice machines that actually had ice. Off street parking. While spots were few at times, we always found one. Clean room with a nice balcony. And bless you for a hotel that finally preps the bathroom with more towels than the number of people staying in the room! Already mentally planning our 2018 stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JG717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews