We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nancy and Mike are the best!!!!”
Review of The Puffin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Puffin
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nancy and Mike are the best!!!!”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

And so was the Rose suite. The Puffin has a great combination of Victorian flare with the modern amenities to make your stay comfortable. But the best part are the Innkeepers Nancy and Michael Duvall who did everything possible to make us and our children feel at home and to make our stay that much more enjoyable. Thanks Michael and Nancy. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTrojaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    19
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is our favorite place to stay when in Cape May. Jackson street is right in the center of everyrhing, and only a 3 minute walk to the shore. Michael and Nancy Duvall are excellent innkeepers. We stayed in the Holly suite but have stayed in all the others but the Terrace. Everything was clean, quiet, and minutes from everything. We walked the entire time we stayed, even though this year the weather was not as cooperative. We had a great time anyway. We just love having a kitchenette in the room and made several meals together. I would, and have, recommend this place to anyone. The Atlantic is great for fqlilies with young kids as there are plenty of rooms and pull out couches for them.

Room Tip: Choose the Atlantic suite for families as there are tons of rooms and beds. The Holly suite is grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimmyB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Nancy and Michael Duvall, the Innkeepers could not do enough for us during our stay. Also, this year beach passes were supplied that was very nice. Great location to both the beach and the restaurants in town.

Room Tip: Rose was a nice option for two couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank besprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We absolutely loved staying in the Holly Suite at The Puffin in Cape May! It is a perfect location, about 5 houses from the beach and the downtown. The suite was very clean and loved that it had a kitchenette. Perfect for a couple or small family. The Holly Suite has a bedroom with a bathroom (shower only) attached, a living room and kitchenette. There is also a rear door with access to a small deck and stairs down to the main level. Mike and Nancy, the innkeepers are so warm and friendly and made us feel right at home. They are both fantastic with children and clearly take pride in what they do. One afternoon they served tea and cookies, which were delicious and Nancy was so kind as to share the recipe. We really enjoyed sitting on the wrap-around porch and eating breakfast we purchased from a local coffee shop. It was also the perfect place to watch the horse and carriages go by. I would highly recommend both the Holly Suite and The Puffin!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbpjayhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The Puffin Holly Suite was the perfect place for our family to stay! Great accomodations from the cozy kitchenette (perfect for a few meals-in) and private bedroom. We have a 2 1/2 year old and she slept on the pull-out bed in the living room and was comfortable!
We really enjoyed the proximity to the beach (1/2 block) and to shopping (1/2 block). We walked everywhere and only moved our car (also parked on-site!) to venture up to Stone Harbor for a day. A great place for a small family to stay and we'd definitely come back again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psuhml001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This is a great place to stay, it is sooo close to everything, as soon as you step off the beautiful wrap around porch you can either go to your right (the beach)---it's not even 2 blocks it really is very close, or to your left and that will take you right to mall (boutiques) that may be a block or less, you just can't go wrong if you stay here, and the Innkeepers are WONDERFUL (Nancy and Mike)

Room Tip: we stayed in the Holly suite we loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arichey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANDOLPH NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Nancy and Mike were terrific Inn keepers - the Terrace Sweet is a must for a family,. or even for several couples. Location is prime in between the beach and the shops. Internet connection could be a bit faster, was very slow and at times would not show up as a location,. had to use my WiFi hot spot to connect...........otherwise the Inn was clean, porch was clean and would do it again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhYeahRandolphNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.0 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.0 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
1.3 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 km away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Puffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Puffin

Property: The Puffin
Address: 32 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1465
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Cape May
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into the Victorian Period at "The Puffin”, one of Cape May's most historic and distinctive Victorian properties located in the heart of Cape May’s Historic District. “The Puffin” is centrally located on historic Jackson Street, just a half block from the beach and only a few steps from the Washington Mall's fine shops and restaurants of Cape May. The Puffin Victorian suites has a unique architectural Dutch Colonial design. Relax on our wraparound veranda while reading a book, surfing the internet or enjoying your favorite beverage. Enjoy the historic ambiance, watching horse drawn carriages and trolley cars as they pass down Jackson Street. Whether you plan your journey sight-seeing, escape to the beach, shop, bike or relax, the Puffin is the perfect location for an exciting Cape May adventure. We are child and family friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing