We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting family ...”
Review of Gingerbread House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gingerbread House
Ranked #8 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like visiting family ...”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stepping back in time in perfectly restored and meticulously kept home, we enjoyed some extremely hard to come by family time thanks to Joan and Fred. Always engaging and thoughtful, Joan and Fred made us feel welcomed as soon as we arrived. Our days started with full well balanced breakfasts, visually pleasing and equally delicious. After eating enough for an entire day, we enjoyed refreshing sea air, pleasant surf and relaxing strolls in the beauty of Cape May. Enjoying a drink, a book or some ipad time on the downstairs or upstairs porch, relaxation was impossible to avoid. On behalf of my wife, children (ages 11 and 13) and my mother-in law (age 80), we feel blessed to have such a special place cared for by such wonderful people to go to in order to get away and be together. Thank you Joan and Fred and we will see you in 2012 and every year after.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    35
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
101
261
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The Gingerbread House has been lovingly restored personally by Fred and Joan the owners.
The attention to detail is overwhelming in every aspect of this Bed and Breakfast. Joan made us feel welcome and comfortable from our first conversation and this warmth followed through to their very personal good byes at the front door. The location is great . Within walking distance of EVERYTHING. Our room was charming and most importantly comfortable with every amenity available. If you couldn't find it, just ask and it was provided.We will most certainly be back. Loved it !!
Bob and Virginia
Fairfax, Virginia

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garnerville, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Fred and Joan are two excellent inn keepers. Their warmth and welcoming is exceptional. Was a great place to visit and the location is tops. The inn is beautifully decorated and definitely reflects their personalities. Thanks for a great two nights.
Sheila C

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I hesitate to write how special a place it was for fear others will find it. Just a block from the beach located in one of the most beautifully restored Victorian houses in Cape May, the Gingerbread house was the perfect place to spend my birthday. Joan's breakfast was divine every morning, and I am still trying to make her peaches. Fread was just adorable. They made us feel welcome and at home. We loved little Penny the sweetest cat on the porch. The place was spotless and we were looking for the little elves that must dust and shine every piece furniture. I will be back, I loved it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the balcony, it was perfect, of course the traffic on the street (horses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend at the Gingerbread House. Joan and Fred couldn't have been more accommodating to their guests. The breakfasts were delicious!!! Our room was so lovely and comfortable. My husband and I look forward to another "get-away" at the Gingerbread House.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginger f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, pa
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I took my sister for a overnight excursion to Cape May for her 50th birthday as she had never been before. When looking through all of the B&B's that are in Cape May, the Gingerbread House stood out because of it's proximity to town and the beach. We weren't disappointed... Joan & Fred were very welcoming and their "home" was lovely! We stayed in the "suite" which was well worth it as the deck was an excellent place to sit and unwind after our full day of excursions. Joan & Fred were helpful and friendly and we would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The suite with the large deck was amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We had originally scheduled our mini-vacation in August. However, Hurrican Irene forced the evacuation of Cape May. Joan was very accommodating in re-booking our weekend for the end of September. She met us at the door with a wealth of knowledge on what to do in Cape May. The B&B is very clean, impeccably decorated and the hosts are very gracious. I especially liked the jars of rasberry cookies, always available to guests!! The B&B is perfectly located near the ocean and with walking distance of the heart of Cape May. We'd highly recommend a stay at the Gingerbread House.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmt03-15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
1.0 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.1 km away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.4 km away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#4 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread House

Property: Gingerbread House
Address: 28 Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2408
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously and elegantly restored 1869 Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn situated in the historical district and 1/2 block to beach. Period antiques, original watercolors, classical music, Fred's photographs and exquisite woodwork combine with friendly service and attention to detail. Delightful breezes and the sounds of the sea create a comfortable setting amidst the wonderful furnishing of a golden age. Breakfast, fireplace, private baths and guest veranda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gingerbread House Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing