We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding at the B&B!”
Review of The Harrison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Harrison
Ranked #2 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin Park, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Wedding at the B&B!”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We chose the Summer Cottage Inn last winter after touring a number of B&B's. We were married November 5th in front of the fireplace at the B&B and it was a great experience. We rented out the B&B for both families and it made for a nice and relaxed wedding for a few close family and freinds. We had the food catered locally and had dinner at the Merion Inn. We will both return for our anniversary and other weekends. Jean was a great host and took excellent care of us all. Mathew was great as well and made sure we had everything we needed to be comfortable. This was a great choice for a wedding and we both recommend it highly and appreciate the care of the staff in making the day great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    24
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
220
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa Park, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Our trip to Cape May was a getaway for relaxation on 10/14 - 10/16. The eight of us have been friends for many years and just wanted to have an adult get-together that would be inexpensive and relatively close to Long Island. The Summer Cottage Inn is a quaint Victorian built around 1867. Amazing to think about the history of this area. The Inn is managed by Jean, a person of endless energy and warm personality. She also cooks the included breakfasts and puts out the afternoon tea. The Inn's rooms are varied in size and decorating, but all are immaculately kept and very comfortable. The bedding is very firm. Jean will tell of some ghostly goings on at the Inn over the years, but we did not witness any ourselves! The homemade breakfasts were fine, the afternoon tea (and coffee) service was a nice break in our day, and Jean is a wonderful host. The price for our weekend was very reasonable, especially considering the location is 1 1/2 blocks from the beach, and close to many restaurants and other area interests. Summer prices may be higher, but other Inns are much more expensive. All in all, we had a terrific weekend, and recommend this Inn to others.

Room Tip: Room photos and descriptions on their website are very accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tonymedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Such a lovely place - elegant, spacious rooms. Inviting & relaxing porch - very tasty breakfast!
Close to beach and shopping & dining.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kitkatSouthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We (2 couples) arrived in Cape May late afternoon on a Friday in late June. Hadn't intended staying here as I hadn't made reservations and we thought all the decent places would be booked out or would require a 2 night booking over the weekend.
Lucked onto this Summer Cottage Inn who had 2 vacancies at an extremely reasonable price and loved it!
Very romantic Victorian house. We were given one huge room and one reasonable size one, both clean with big comfy beds & ensuite bathrooms. The hostess was friendly and helpful. We loved the access to a fridge and wine glasses, crockery/cutlery etc - we bought a whole bunch of food at a local supermarket and had a lovely meal on the wide veranda over looking the small but very attractive, lush garden. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and you could have it in the lovely formal dining room or out on the veranda.
The B&B is extremely well located - a few blocks from the beach and the central shopping/restaurant area.
We were on the 3rd floor and it was a bit of a hike up the stairs with bags, but we needed the exercise so this wasn't an issue for us, but might be for others, so would pay to find out where rooms are located if you are making a booking.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chockake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This B&B only gets better with time, The Innkeeper and Owner Donna has done a magnificent job with keeping the interior, exterior and grounds in A1 condition!! The breakfast was wonderful and different every day [we stayed 4 days in the Wicker Room]. Donna's Staff was very friendly and accomidating. With being 1 block from the beach, shopping and dining this place is a definate hit!! One must visit the Sea Shanty for the most satisfying and tasty seafood [reasonably priced too]. Been coming here since 2004 and will definately be back. Paul & Linda

Room Tip: Call way in advance for reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigyukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

This was our first Bed & Breakfast experience, and one we certainly will repeat. The Inn was lovely with beautiful Victorian decor and an inviting front porch. We stayed in the Wicker Garden room which had a private entrance at the back of the Inn through the garden. The room was small but very clean and nice. We couldn't, unfortunately, sit out on its little porch because of the mosquitoes. Breakfast was good and afternoon tea delicious. It was wonderfully relaxing to rock and read on the front porch with tea and cake. The only drawback was the lack of on-site parking. We had to find parking several blocks away and probably wouldn't stay here during the summer season for that reason. All in all, though, it was a delightful spot for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaggieDoodleOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I stayed at the summer cottage inn about a year ago and I really enjoyed my stay. The inn keeper at the time was extremely friendly and helpful in giving us information about the town. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the rooms were comfortable and clean. I would definitely recommend the summer cottage inn to others! :)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmescal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.6 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
692 reviews
0.4 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
0.2 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,313 reviews
1.1 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
0.7 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrison

Property: The Harrison
Address: 613 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrison 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to the newly renovated Inn, "The Harrison," formerly "The Summer Cottage Inn". We are delighted to invite you to stay with us where you will be surrounded by Victorian Elegance complimented by Contemporary Luxuries. Our rooms are appointed with luxurious bedding, elegant wall coverings, opulent lighting, and updated bathrooms with marble floors. The Harrison will allow you to relax and step back in time while enjoying modern conveniences. All of our rooms have their own private baths, are fully air conditioned, and include luxury toiletries by Beekman, in wall USB chargers, Bluetooth wireless speaker and alarm clock radios, in-room Iron and Ironing boards, LED flat screen TVs with Cable, free high speed internet and Wi-Fi, and come with access to our pantry for a late night tea or to store your restaurant leftovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Harrison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing