We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, absolutely perfect!”
Review of The Harrison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harrison
Ranked #3 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2017

This was a bit of a serendipitous find for us, our anniversary weekend coincided with both the NJ Teachers convention and the Jazz Festival so hotel space was in short supply but we were lucky enough to land here because someone else cancelled (their loss!) We have stayed in some nice places in Cape May but this is our new favorite.

The staff couldn't be nicer or more accommodating, the Inn is cozy and well kept, the breakfast and tea service was delicious and beautifully presented. We stayed in the spacious summer cottage, relaxed in front of the fireplace, and was surprised by the huge modern bathroom. The location is in walking distance to good restaurants and shopping and the beach.
We went off season so parking was not an issue just across the street. We didn't use the complimentary bikes because it was quite chilly and windy, but they were there if we were brave enough.

If relaxation is what you are after, this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lnkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017

We enjoyed our two nights at The Harrison. The inn is is the perfect location in Cape May. It is about a 2 minute walk from the beach and a 2 minute walk from Washington Street Mall with lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance. With that being said its a quiet peaceful place. Our room was beautiful, clean and large. The bathroom had a shower and tub as well. The staff were very accommodating and helped wherever they could. Overall, we had a great experience.

Room Tip: Presidenital Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

My husband and I enjoyed our anniversary at the Harrison for a long weekend! From the moment we arrived, we absolutely loved it! The ambiance was very romantic and we really enjoyed the morning/night fires with constant music playing! Our room was spacious and clean, the breakfasts were delicious (even had gluten/vegan options), and the afternoon tea was a nice treat. Also, it was in a very convenient location! We enjoyed short walks to downtown and many of Cape May's restaurants. In addition, the staff was very friendly and pleasant to be around. I recommend this B+B to anyone who is looking to get a way for a few days to a romantic little gem!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dioriobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful getaway at The Harrison to celebrate our anniversary. Our first visit to Cape May and I don't think we could have found a better place to stay. Loved our accommodations, location, and the welcoming staff. Breakfast was delicious each morning. Just a beautiful place to visit. Can't wait to go back!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank msbale14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Harrison in Oct-2017 for a weekend get away, we absolutely loved our stay. The room was recently renovated with a sharp finish and up to date appliances. The staff was extremely hospitable (not to mention the breakfast was delicious). The location is perfect and very accessible to the beach and rest of town. You would be a fool not to stay here if you have the option! We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor. There was NO noise at all, it was splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bschlesh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

We had an amazing stay. The Harrison is more than we had hoped for. Every detail was spot on! The location is ideal. A short walk to the beach in one direction and a short walk to local attractions and restaurants in the other. The staff was amazing!! Vicki checked us in and was our amazing inn keeper during our stay and Zhana was amazing each morning during breakfast! Our room was gorgeous and super clean! We didn’t want to leave! Thank you for an amazing experience!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Clean rooms with wonderful service and delightful breakfast! We will be back very soon! The accommodations were great! Always welcoming. We stayed at several other B&Bs in Cape May, but this is our favorite!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cravitz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
279 reviews
0.4 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,210 reviews
0.4 km away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 37 in Cape May
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,256 reviews
1.4 km away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
733 reviews
0.1 km away
The Queen Victoria
The Queen Victoria
#4 of 40 in Cape May
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrison

Address: 613 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $220 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrison 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to the newly renovated Inn, "The Harrison," formerly "The Summer Cottage Inn". We are delighted to invite you to stay with us where you will be surrounded by Victorian Elegance complimented by Contemporary Luxuries. Our rooms are appointed with luxurious bedding, elegant wall coverings, opulent lighting, and updated bathrooms with marble floors. The Harrison will allow you to relax and step back in time while enjoying modern conveniences. All of our rooms have their own private baths, are fully air conditioned, and include luxury toiletries by Beekman, in wall USB chargers, Bluetooth wireless speaker and alarm clock radios, in-room Iron and Ironing boards, LED flat screen TVs with Cable, free high speed internet and Wi-Fi, and come with access to our pantry for a late night tea or to store your restaurant leftovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Harrison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing