We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Bogus Charge - Crazy !!!”
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritage Inn
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Hotel is below average at best. Good location though. We stayed 2 night October 7-9 and have been coming to Cape May for 15 years around this same time. We usually stay in a B & B, but figure to save some money this time around. What a mistake this was. A couple days ago we received a bill & were charged on my credit card $ 100 for damages to the microwave. We did not use the microwave or have any knowledge of anything about the microwave. We called immediately when we received the bill, but no-one returned our call. We just called again with absolutely no satisfaction or pleasantry. Frankly, she was rude and would not give us her name. She told us to call back Tuesday (2 days) because "Gwen" was not there. Again when we asked for her name, she hung up on us. So..... a summery of the Inn would be.....Average visually, musty smell, crabby older woman at front desk, rude phone service and THIEVES !!!. Obviously we would never go here again and now I have to contact my attorney for a $100 bogus charge for a "damaged microwave" that we did not touch. We are (to say the least) very unhappy customers.

Room Tip: Take pictures of everything in the room before you check out to prove you did not break anything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KKE11Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueDallas, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

The charge for the broken microwave is the least of what should have been charged considering the condition of the room once the guest vacated. Not only was the microwave broken, the door was completely off and the glass tray inside the microwave was shattered. Additionally, the tile floor was cracked where the appliance obvioulsly fell. I would say that all things considered, the guests got away cheap. And just as a note, we took a picture of the damaged room as well for documemtation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife and I just came back from a three day trip to the Heritage inn. We have been going to Cape May for around 26 years and this was our first stay at the Heritage. We found it to be clean the rooms were good size and a decent view of the ocean and the staff very friendly and helpful! For the money we paid it was well worth it! We will go again!

Room Tip: Third floor to see ocean....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Back again for the second time this year. This time for the Victorian Weekend and again a wonderful stay at the Heritage Inn. The rooms were clean, everything worked in the room (lights, fridge, microwave, hair dryer, shower, A/C, etc.). We always stay on the third floor deluxe rooms with a king bed. You can not beat the location. We used the roof top patio area every night for a little wine and also for breakfast coffee. The view of the ocean and surrounding city are great. We have never had a bad stay in all the years we have been coming here. We know them, they know us. It works out great. We'll keep coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandDPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Came to Cape May for a quick get away for one night and was able to get a room on the first floor of the Heritage. Would have preferred the 2nd but it was not available. Upon arrival the room was very musty but I opened the windows which seemed to help. The bedroom was a nice size with 2 full beds, a desk and small table. The furniture was old and definitely needed updating. The motel room did have a nice vanity area which included a small refrigerator and sink...great for drying your hair or putting on makeup. The bathroom was very old, with mold on the tiles and scuffed up door. The best part was the bed!!! We went to bed and I looked over at my husband and he was about 6 inches lower than me :) Its funny now but not then. The bed didn't fit in the frame. We woke up with horrible back aches. This room definitely needed a new bed!!! Oh well...we had a great time in Cape May though!!!!! :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Heritage the weekend of September 16, 2011. We picked it because of the great location close to everything, and the price $170/night. On entering the room were disappointed with the musty smell, the small old tv but more shocking were the bathroom and towels. The towels were dingy, wrinkled and ripped!! Yes they had holes and tattered edges. The bathroom door did not close all the way and there was molding missing in the bathroom. There were dozens of little fruit flys in the room. When I brought the towels down to manager, she laughed and said they come from the linen service that way and the housekeepers must not have noticed the holes(size of a baseball). The ocean view was obscured by scaffolding and construction. The pool was a cement hole in the ground with water. No type of decking, landscape, chairs, nothing. It was embarrasing to be seen going into such a seedy looking place.
Another couple, our friends, were staying at the Capri. They were not able to get reservations at the Heritage...Lucky them. The Capri a couple of short blocks away, and only $140/night had a beautiful pool area, with lounges, grills, shuffleboard, lovely hanging plants and beautiful landscape. There was a restaurant bar accross the street that served breakfast and also a liquor/beer store. Next year we will stay at the Capri.

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We have been vacationing in Cape May every year for the past 30+ years and have always stayed at the Heritage Inn. The rooms are always clean and Barbara, Gwen and "the boys" are always very nice & accomodating. The inn has a great location where we can park the car & pretty much walk anywhere we want to go. We have always booked a room on the second floor, but now that they have added a third floor, we have moved up! The rooms are bright & spacious and, in a word, "cozy" plus you can really enjoy the view of the ocean right across the street. We usually vacation in June or September when it is less crowded. It can get a little noisy during peak season from the arcade across the street, but it is not unbearable.Our last visit was in September, 2011 and we are already looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: The third floor offers the best views, plus being newer, offers microwaves and hair dryers. End room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landma1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

On the whole, a good hotel. Great location take away the construction and strikers (striking as the town hired non union workers...totally uncool. Best rooms are on 3rd floor, facing south, and even those facing east (but soon will have convention center blocking much of view). Rooms 22-28 have great views as you see the sea in front of you, facing south east. Through room 33, again on 3rd floor, do have some sea views, but obstructed. Good location, with restaurants for breakfast and lunch near by, within 3 minutes on foot. A small variety shop there, as well, for small items like cups, soda..etc..and newspapers from Philly/NY. Across street is a small boardwalk with a famous fudge shop and taffy shop that also sells and sort of souvenir you can think of. Some issues of hotel; no bathmats (not being picky but is slippery and dangerous. I mentioned this to owner/manager, Gwen, especially as there were many elderly people. I gave my parents an extra towel and told them to wet it and put it on tub floor. It worked but rubber mat would be better). Needs some paint here and there. An extra pillow. BRIGHTER LIGHTS. Bulbs are so dim and we had to move things around in order for my parents to read. For the price ($279.00 for half the stay and then off season prices kicked in, about $159.00, and was only hotel doing it). Kitchen alcove, with microwave, sink, fridge and counter top, are convenient. Bathroom is fine, perfect if it had the bathmat and maybe some hand towels. Rooms were clean. Not disable friendly as there is no elevator and stairs are steep (but if my parents could do both sets of stairs, most anyone can, my parents being about 84, mom with new hip and dad with some equilibrium issues..normal elderly issues). That means that anyone who can't do stairs, if there is a wheelchair or for whatever reason, they must stay on 1st floor, no view at all, except for pool. Sad. Owner/manager is accommodating and friendly. Also, only one handicapped spot, which was always taken by a non authorized car. Main parking in behind hotel. We would stay there again if some of the above issues were addressed. TV channels are good, (no premium but interesting assortment of 'other'). Not a 'singles' hotel. Oh, adjoining rooms would be cool, as if I went to parents room,had to walk outside and vice versa. Spent much room on wrap around balcony and most people, friendly though some, loud as well, very loud.

Room Tip: South and South East facing rooms on 3rd floor. South facing are better. No elevator, though and sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarmadasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.4 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,346 reviews
0.9 km away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#2 of 37 in Cape May
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
736 reviews
0.1 km away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
432 reviews
0.2 km away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#18 of 37 in Cape May
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Address: 721 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2457
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $156 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing